We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brixham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing break”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

i just got home from south bay today and had am amazing time there are great facility's and great family entertainment !!!! i had a bronze caravan which was one of the lowest of the low but it was still comfortable and very warm and i went in mid-Autumn !!! it has some amazing surroundings and the town center wasn't that far away !!! overall my favorite was the entertainment with the foxy club which is a mascot show with the mascots freddy,trixie,kenny,cheffy and paxo is a great kids show kids of my age (9) and other age groups. then you have bingo and family fun time which is a lot like the foxy club but is better for the whole family !!! then you also have the cabaret which is fun and then late night disco !!! the stripeys (staff) really friendly in my holiday i got to dance with a stripey called John !!! the other stripeys are called Ben (entertainment manager) and vanessa !!! in the end i had an amazing holiday !!!!!!!! :D

Room Tip: some rooms in the double rooms in the caravans are rather small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nia-and-jones2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    174
    78
    32
    51
See reviews for
381
102
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a lovely two weeks holiday from the 22nd September. The weather was very kind to us as the rest of the country was very wet. Proof that the sun always shines in the southwest. This was our second visit to southbay and the staff are extremely helpful and the entertainment is very good, as is the food at chefs corner. The heated swimming pool, is take my word for it heated, just like a sauna. The only dissapointment was our caravan ( poppy silver) was a little bit shabby in places. We were told that the owners had recently had all the seats recovered, but it could have done with new carpets and a deep clean as there was some evidance of dampness. I know that they do get a lot of use with people in them all the time and the helpful lady from the house keeping team did her best to clean the inside of our wardrobe where the damp was showing. Thats enough of the moan, we have been customers of Mr. Fowler's for some years now, and we do enjoy our holidays. Brixham is lovely, plus what the whole of Torbay has to offer as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and our housekeeping team will be especially delighted to read your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at South Bay and all I can say is the whole experience was fantastic. My husband and I stayed with our son and daughter in law with their two children - 4 and 9 months. The Gold star caravan certainly lived up to its name - very spacious two toilets, three bedrooms and a lovely sitting and dining area. Our caravan was right next to reception, which was not a problem - in fact very convenient. We used the swimming pool - which was very warm and also visited Brixham harbour on Saturday and spent a wonderful day at Goodrington on Sunday - which brought back lovely childhood memories for me, and have now made new memories for my children . We went to the club house for an hour in the evenings, where Jessica (4) had a lovely time dancing - and on Sat night we won the Bingo ! Fabulous traditional English holiday . Thank you .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 546N0rma_H546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a bronze caravan for a short weekend break. Even for the lowest choice of caravans it was very nice, only fault I would say was it would of been nice to have a small heater in the bedrooms as it was cold on a night time. The lady in reception was very helpful.
The clubhouse was a bit dated but then I was not interested in the colour scheme just the beer lol. Kids were happy with the pool and the entertainment and we will be going back next year for another short break.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp8625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments, especially the housekeeping and entertainments teams, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We always go for the cheapest option as we bring our dog, so do not expect the most luxurious of accommodation and, after reading some of the reviews, wondered what to expect, although I usually take reviews with a pinch of salt especially when they are mixed. We've just returned from a short break and felt I must write to say how very pleased we were with our Primula Bronze caravan. It was absolutely lovely. After a long drive, it was very welcoming and cosy - we never expected it to be centrally heated, so that was a pleasant surprise (didn't need the hot water bottles we'd brought with us!). Yes, there were a few slight cosmetic faults but they didn't bother me in the slightest - I'm well aware that these caravans are hired out to many people throughout the year so there's bound to be a little wear & tear. The caravan was very clean and was in a lovely quiet spot on the edge of the park in H field, just what we prefer (we didn't use the entertainment facilities so it wasn't a problem being a little way away). I loved how the caravans were spaced in a nice landscaped area rather than in bare regimented rows like in some parks. This is the second John Fowler site we have stayed in and can honestly say that we have been very pleased with both. I only wish you would expand to other areas of the country - we like to vary our holiday locations & there's only so many times we can holiday in the south west, lovely as it is!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

i have been meaning to do this review for a while,i visited south bay last year have clicked on november but actually stayed in july . i had said i was staying alone with my dog so could i be put with people around me,i traveled by train and arrived early i rang and asked if it was ok to check in i was told it was fine,when i got there i was helped with my case to my chalet ,which im going to be so honest after reading some of the reviews,it was so lovely it was spotless clean ,the bedrooms where really lovely lamps by beds comfy bed.the lounge was so cosy at nite ,the bathroom was amazing full size bath with shower all sparkling clean.i really was so pleased with my chalet ,coming away along needed to feel save i didnt have to worry plastic windows so locked well.really really lovely dog friendly site.the staff were so nice and helpful.thank u all have already told lot of my friends if u go to brixham stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRACEY w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it. You may be a little late with your thoughts but they are nonetheless welcome.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After our disastrous stay in the John Fowler Sight ,St Ives were not looking forward to our 4 night stay in the site at Brixham. Have to say that we were delighted with our accommadation. The Mobile caravan which was privatly owned but let out via Jonh Fowler was superb so clean and warm with a larg cooker which We have never come across in a mobile home before. We are not a couple that would use a site swimming pool so afraid that I cant review on that and only used the club house once for a drink. But when we return to Brixham will most certainly return to this holiday park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skippy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.9 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
560 reviews
4.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
486 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
876 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Bay Holiday Park

Property: South Bay Holiday Park
Address: St Mary's Road, Brixham, England (Formerly John Fowler South Bay Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Brixham
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
John Fowler South Bay Holiday Park Hotel Brixham
South Bay Holiday Park Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing