We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Day”
Review of Brixham Harbour

Brixham Harbour
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
west country
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Day”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Lovely place to visit with it's quaint little gift shops and lovely walk around the harbour

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovely070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,159
    528
    91
    16
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Devon
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Lovely, simple seaside town with no frills. A walk along the long breakwater is a must in the summer, but best visited when the wind isn't blowing too strong as the sea can be very wild. Parking can be tricky - use the pay band display by the breakwater.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank CM666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

great walks, pleanty of choices of good food, right on the doorstep of small town of shops and businesses. everything there you could wish for.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank marlouWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No Tourist Bureau/mercenary parking/incorrect signage”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had the misfortune of following incorrect council signage to the local tourist office in the harbor area, attempting to book accommodation at a local venue. We parked in a metered area and then went looking for the tourist office, even calling in at the local council, only to find the tourist office had closed many months earlier. On getting back to our hired car, we were stung for a 80 pound fine as going to the various locations took unnecessary time. I walked back to the council office - closed! I then rang and sent a letter to council, but to no avail . No concessions for misdirected overseas travellers.

What was really disappointing is my wife's family comes from Brixham and instead of spending more time there and enjoying this beautiful part of the world, we hightailed out of there absolutely disgusted.

Torbay Council, has a responsibility to display correct signage just as I have to meeting time limits on parking.

What a great way to welcome visitors to the region- sorry we wont be back and have warned all family members considering travelling to the vicinity.

Take care with accommodation booking and parking in this mercenary council area.

Frustrated Visitor.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ryankjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean working harbour”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

quaint harbour was spotless and had a very safe feel and friendly atmosphere

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neill x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brixham Harbour also viewed

 
Brixham, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Brixham Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing