We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly attentive owners, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #14 of 25 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly attentive owners, great location”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

3 of us spent two nights here, occupying a twin and single room. The rooms are well furnished well equipped and are spotlessly clean and comfortable. Well stocked tea tray but it would've been nice to have 2 hot chocolates in the twin room. I am sure if we'd asked we would've got an extra one but we wouldn't have disturbed anyone at that late hour. Bed linen is very soft and luxurious, some nice touches e.g. mint chocs and a mini fridge if you want it and yes....even a corkscrew and wine glasses! There is a good selection of fruit, cereals and cooked items for breakfast and the tea/coffee and toast will just keep coming if you want it. The house is conveniently located for walking into Brixham and the walk back uphill will work off some of the excess calories you'll consume during your stay. We are already planning to return next year, a good indication of our satisfaction.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ymb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your fantastic review , pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and that you plan too return. There is so much to see and do.

We will put two hot chocolates in the twin from now on , and hope to see you next year.

Regards Paul and Rita....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
98
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed in the single room in Woodlands Guest House for dour nights and was blown away with the quality of service and the wonderful cleanliness and comfort of the room. It was cleaned and left in tip top condition every day. Breakfast was filling and delicious - there were a range of options you could select from the night before. The owners were kind, friendly and very helpful indeed. Cannot fault my stay. Would recommend it to anyone! Oh and the gardens as you walk up to the property are lush. It is in the middle of town so you have access to everything. It's a win-win situation.

Room Tip: My room was number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Martina
Thank you so much for your review and great comments .We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Woodlands and that the wedding went well and the weather behaved.

Regards Paul and Rita.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked Woodlands based on previous guests' recommendations. I dont know where these guests have previously stayed but the word "excellent" is not what I would have used. Firstly the "car park at rear" was a dirt track at an angle akin to a cliff face! The room, yes was clean, but tiny with nowhere for cases and just about room to walk round the bed! The shower room was remeniscent of a hospital! We had booked a "large double" - if that was a large double then what size is a "small double". we rather suspect our large double was given to an earlier check in which is most unfair! th breakfast had to be selected the night before? with a time slot of 8.30 - 9 am?! We had chosen a continental breakfast which consisted of 2 hard croissants, a couple of slices of processsed cheddar and breaded ham straight from the packet! where were the continental cheeses and jams? my breakfast consisted of pale scrambled eggs on a thin muffin with two very thin strips of salmon, all sauces including butter and marmite were in dreadul little packets, motorway service style! the yoghurt, considering the county of Devon is famous for its milk products, were bottom of the range, from a well known wholesale cash and carry chain, containg synthetic fruit (when found!). Brixham is lovely. Woodlands was not!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
HI Penny
We were sorry to hear that your experience at Woodlands was not to your liking. The room you reserved was the room you were accommodated in. All our rooms in Woodlands vary in size and shape as this is a 125 year old Victorian house.
You said nothing on your departure when asked " we hope you enjoyed your stay".
Most of our reviews are very good and we are normally thanked for our hospitality, cleanliness and food.
We obviously cannot please everybody.

Regards Paul and Rita...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

A last minute booking for an overnight stay. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Thank you to the hosts for making our stay so pleasurable. The views from the breakfast room were amazing. It was great that the festival was on in Brixham.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi Liz
Thank you so much for your great comments. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Woodlands and the festival.
Hope to see you again.

Regards Paul and Rita....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We booked this last minute as our Daughter and her Fiance were staying in Brixham for a week and we wanted to spend a couple of days with them. We took our much loved labrador with us and were accommodated in the garden chalet. The chalet was very comfortable with all the facilities you needed. Bed was comfortable and nice to have the courtyard for the dog to amble around in without worrying about other guests. Breakfast was very nice and served in a pleasant, clean dining room. We spent most of our short time out in the day and was fortunate enough to have fantastic weather. The courtyard was great to sit outside in the sun and enjoy a glass of wine. We will undoubtedly return to Brixham in the future and would stay at Woodlands again. I would also recommend this Hotel to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Garden Chalet excellent for those wishing to take their faithful friend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidfreetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for the nice review . and that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us at Woodlands.

Regards Paul and Rita....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I was surprised to find this guest house with vacancies on the busy Pirate Festival weekend but was glad I did. The room was a small double but very comfortable and the hosts welcoming. And with only a 5 minute walk to the town it is perfectly located.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ed0977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thanks very much for the review and nice comments , perhaps next time we could other you a larger room with a view.

Regards Paul and Rita....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilehurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We've just returned from a lovely stay at the Woodlands Guest House. It is a beautiful place to stay and Paul and Rita have thought of everything for their guests. The view from room 4 which is at the front and on the first floor was stunning.We sat in the bay window at different times of the day just watching the boats bobbing about in the harbour. Our room was large and had a 4 poster bed which was so comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic, lovely and hot and plenty to choose from. We couldn't hear any traffic and barely heard the sea gulls as we were away from the main part of the town which was perfect. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Room 4 on the first floor at the front had a fantastic view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Sue and Derek
Thanks for the great review and comments , pleased that you really enjoyed your stay so much
with us.
Regards Paul and Rita...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.3 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#5 of 25 in Brixham
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: Parkham Road, Brixham TQ5 9BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing