We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #13 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and myself stopped at The Woodlands the weekend of the Grand National and happened to pick the best weekend of the year and a lovely, quiet and very friendy B & B. The room was immaculate and well decorated. Paul made sure we knew where everything was and was on hand to give advice on pubs, clubs, restaurants and boat trips. The full english breakfast was great (the second morning we had smiley faces on our plates - what a lovely touch). We love Brixham and would definitely stay at The Woodlands again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments,so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Brixham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 151 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our third stay at woodlands. We have always found the hospitality of Paul excellent, he always shows interest in his customers and is knowledgable of the area so happy to recommend places to visit. The accommodation is alway spotlessly clean, with bedding and towels smelling lovely and fresh and pure white. Breakfast choice excellent with a wide range to accommodate everyone, and kippers for breakfast Mmmmm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments,its always a pleasure to see guests return .We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you next time

Regards Paul and Rita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days over the Easter weekend. Paul was very friendly and helpful. Very clean guest house and nicely decorated room even though a bit on the small size. Fantastic view of the harbour from our room.
Nice little touch to a lovely breakfast was an Easter egg under our mugs! Only thing I would point out is that Woodlands is in a very hilly area and when walking back from town there is a very steep hill back to the guest house.
Great place to stay and only 5 min walk to town.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leeloulou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritpoppau, Manager at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.The rooms in our old Victorian Guest house all vary in size and shape,prehaps next time we could offer you the larger seaview room.

Regards Paul and Rita....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good location near the harbour. On a hill, good views. Friendly owners. Great advert for what a B&B should be. Breakfast was great, your typical full english. Room 6 had a 4-poster and great view. Bathroom was a bit small

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msumner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the Woodlands , and found it to be the cleanist place I have stayed in for some time. Apart from that they were very helpful, friendly , with lovely breakfast . All the little touches in the room to help with being away were great. Nothing forgotton.
I will definately stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked our stay at Woodlands as we were attending a 50th birthday celebration in Brixham. We could not have picked a better place to stay at. Paul and Rita make you very welcome in their lovely home. Our bedroom had the four poster bed and had views over the harbour and it was so nice to sit and look at the view whilst taking tea and biscuits. We will recommend you to all our friends, thank you Paul and Rita.

Room Tip: Room 4 has the four poster and harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkSueFromWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the friendly welcome to the excellent accommodation and breakfast our stay at the Woodland Guest House was 5 Stars all the way. The little touches, mini fridge, bootle of water, wind glasses and corkscrew show the thought that has been put in Paul and his wife in making your stay memorable. The public areas in particluar are very well appointed and a great place at the end of a day out to sit with a cup of tea or something stronger. The choice at breakfast was First Class from the fresh fruit to the scrambled eggs and salmon. Paul was most helpful with a good knowledge of the loacl area and suggests as to what best to do on a wet day and where to eat and drink of an evening. Having looked at the front room on the first floor it would be one that we will try to book in the future as the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: First floor at the front has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nottm_Goodlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.3 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Melville Guest House
0.3 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#4 of 26 in Brixham
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fair Winds Guest House
Fair Winds Guest House
#5 of 26 in Brixham
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#6 of 26 in Brixham
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Address: Parkham Road, Brixham TQ5 9BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: $91 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing