We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #12 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have just returned from another fabulous two night break at The Woodlands Guest House, Paul and Rita are as always the most welcoming of hosts and immediately make you feel comfortable and at home.
The guest house is beautifully presented, the atmosphere warm and friendly and I can't recommend this place highly enough, everything here is done to make your stay as perfect as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragdoll000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Woodlands Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

We first stayed at Woodlands in 2005 when we were looking for somewhere dog-friendly. We liked it so much we returned the following 4 years with friends. We no longer have a dog, which means we can have one of the front bedrooms, with stunning views over the town and bay. The rooms are all spotless with tasteful decor updated regularly. There are many extras, including a mini-fridge for wine or beer with glasses and bottle opener provided. The breakfasts are well cooked and Paul and Rita are very friendly and helpful. There is plenty to do in Brixham, from coastal walks to fishing trips, good restaurants and pubs, some of which have live music in the evening. We've just returned from our 6th visit and will definitely be taking another weekend break there.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a 4-poster bed and large bay window
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

we stayed at woodlands a few weeks ago and had a wonderful time , the room was lovely and the breakfast was the best we have had ! We were made to feel welcome by Paul and would recommend our friends to stay, we will stay with them the next time we are in Brixham

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydays013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in February 2011 and what a treat this guest house was. The hosts Paul & Rita welcomed us with a cup of tea and helped us with our cases. The room was beautfully decorated with a four poster bed and had stunning views of the harbour. The Welcome tray was, well , most welcome, with posh biscuits and, what other hotels and guest houses lack , plenty of Tea bags and milk. The bed was extremly comfortable and the most puffiest quilt we have ever encountered. The Full English breakfast did excatly what it said and left you Full , it was delicious and piping hot. The location was very handy , short stroll to the harbour, Last word on the hosts, They were friendly but not "in your face" and if required would give you plenty of tips to enjoy Brixham , they even managed to arrange nice weather in February for us, OK perhaps that was not down to them but who knows?

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Visit about 2 times a year to Brixham.Woodlands is a great place very well located for the town of Brixham.Also it has good secure parkng. a very homely feel to the Guest House. rooms very good and spacious with excelent views over the bay

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brixham058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The rooms were very clean and decorated to a high standard .With great views to the harbour.Great choice of breakfasts didnt need lunch. Honist don't go any where elsen't
it is well worth the short walk up the hill you can then truly admire the stunning views of a stunning Brixham. Big thank you Paul & Rita for a great stay don't ever change you are a credit to your trade.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowgoose4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Have stayed in The Woodlands several times over the last couple of years in the Main House and also the Garden Chalet...have today returned from a fabulously relaxing weeks stay...Paul and Rita are wonderful hosts, nothing is to much trouble, 'even down to me asking for Mushrooms with each choice of Breakfast that day'
There is a most welcoming friendly atmosphere at all times, the rooms are excellently clean and tidy with a very healthy hospitality tray replenished each day and the Breakfast is most enjoyable, the location is quiet and it has good parking.
Paul is a mine of information and Rita is a culinary genius, we will be booking again next year and would recommend The Woodlands as a must stay in Devon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragdoll000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.3 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#7 of 26 in Brixham
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Melville Guest House
0.4 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#4 of 26 in Brixham
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fair Winds Guest House
Fair Winds Guest House
#6 of 26 in Brixham
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Address: Parkham Road, Brixham TQ5 9BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: $89 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing