We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #9 of 25 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb B&B”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A real gem of a B&B in beautiful Brixham. We spent a lovely few days exploring Brixham and the surrounding area and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Marc and Sylwia's beautiful home. I can't find fault with anything. We had the king size room (No 1) and were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious each morning and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.
We will definitely be returning at some point in the not too distant future !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchyFeet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
107
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent 2 nights at Anchorage B & B in Brixham. Met all our expectations and more - Sylwia and Marc are excellent hosts who go the extra mile to make a visit memorable. On arrival we were offered tea/coffee in the secluded garden once we had unpacked and had use of the garden for the rest of the stay. Breakfast Specials (pre-ordered) on offer are often not on the menu in 4 star hotels and traditional breakfast is cooked fresh to order. The room we had was spacious and light with a large double bed. Brixham quayside is a straightforward 15 minute walk away or there is a bus stop 20 metres from the house with buses every 10 minutes or so. There is an added bonus with car paking on site. Would have no hesitation on visiting again but you will need to book well in advance because of the reputation of Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A superb B&B to spend a few days enjoying the delights of Brixham and the surrounding area. Mark and Sylwia are the perfect hosts very helpful and friendly.
We had the twin bedroom downstairs, it was lovely with everything supplied for a very comfy stay.The breakfast was beautifully cooked with plenty of choice,loved the specials board something different from other B&Bs.
A delightful garden to sit in with a cup of tea or a glass of wine finishes off everything to perfection.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Anchorage guest house to our friends and family and will stay here again on our next visit to Brixham.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Mark & Sylwia very welcoming (even got a cup of tea in the lovely garden when we arrived). Room spotless (cleaned daily) and well equipped with plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits,hair dryer, toiletries, lots of clean towels plus can use iron/ironing board. Beds v comfy and shower v good.
Breakfast excellent & tasty with plenty of choice including specials which places this B & B above others! Plenty of parking outside guest house, plus bus stop right outside to take you into town or venture further afield. Location is only a 10 minute stroll into Brixham where you can take a boat to Torquay for £2 return fare! Nothing too much trouble for the hosts and can use their garden & dining room throughout the day. Would definately recommend and would return again A+

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

marc and sylwia were very welcoming and friendly. The room was spotlessly-clean, spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast menu was exceptional, and the food cooked to a high standard especially the specials board which i worked my way down to try it all. The garden was beautiful and we used it reguarly to relax. The location was perfect as it was only 10 mins walk to the harbour .Overall review of the Anchorage guesthouse was fantastic and it was our 1st time in Brixham together and we will deffinately be returning and we know where we shall stay THE ANCHORAGE. thank you marc and sylwia

Room Tip: we chose a room at the front of the guest house which was nice and cool and easy access for us,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisrheavens1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you want a home-from-home experience in a spotlessly-clean, friendly and welcoming guest house, this is the place to stay. The owners, Marc and Sylwia were attentive and helpful; the room was not big but was perfectly equipped and the bed was as comfortable and fresh as you could find anywhere. Excellent breakfast in a really friendly environment. The location is great - short, 10-minute walk into the town - car parking good and a superb garden to enjoy.

If you want a great stay in Brixham, this should be your choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markc58561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed over the weekend of 29th and 30th June. Lovely room, very spacious and comfortable with nice decorations. The breakfast was great also and the owners were very friendly and helpful throughout. Would definitely recommend - we were in a room at the very front of the property next to the road but it still felt quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sercreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.9 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbour View
Harbour View
#12 of 25 in Brixham
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#5 of 25 in Brixham
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Guest House

Property: Anchorage Guest House
Address: 170 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming 4 star family run guest house located conveniently on New Road Brixham. We are close to all amenities including Brixham’s shops, restaurants, port, coastal paths, and Churston Golf Course. We have ample parking for all guests and a landscaped garden which guests are encouraged to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anchorage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Guest House Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing