We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-dooper stay with the friendliest of hosts!”
Review of Brixham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brixham House
Ranked #14 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super-dooper stay with the friendliest of hosts!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a weekend booked at Brixham House as a Christmas present and were pleasantly surprised by this charming, homely B&B. The owners couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming, and we had the joy of meeting their dog, Chip. Our room was cosy and had all the amenities one would expect to find in a modern Hotel. It was refreshing to be presented with a Breakfast Menu from which we had a great choice - everything from pancakes and fresh fruit to a traditional full English. We went for Egg and Bacon baps both mornings which was utterly delicious. Another pleasant surprise was the inclusion of an 'honesty bar' which we made use of the first evening.

All in all we had a fantastic weekend, made special by the lovely couple (and Chip!) who looked after us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmiSibbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    22
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
108
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smethwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a gift, we were given a weekend away in Brixham House- and what a gift it was!

Brixham house is a lovely place to stay- very comfortable, clean and homely! It's situated just a short 10-minute walk away from Brixham town and is located just beside a bus stop- giving you access on to the Number 12, leading you towns further afield (i.e. Paignton and Torquay).

The owners were extremely helpful and welcoming; they were able to give us loads of advice from what to do throughout the day, to where to eat.

Huge thumbs up for their breakfasts (you order from a wide range of foods including full English breakfasts to beans on toast; cereals and fruits are also available).

I would most definitely recommend this hotel to those planning on staying in Brixham!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaniHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here on a bargain break - owners too familiar. Pet dog in the dining area/lounge area. Our bedroom was on the front of the building with an extremely busy road - we couldn't sleep.

Not enough hanging space, shower tiny, no coat hangers - I could go on. Awful

Room Tip: dont sleep on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights b and b (internet offer). Absolutely first class, very welcoming,very clean,quiet and comfortable,The best breakfast ever.Comfortable bed . Ample free parking.
Convenient for town centre,just a ten minute walk away but if you dont fancy walking there is an excellent bus service.

Room Tip: We were in room number six,quite small but very comfortable.On top floor so no good for you if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here on the occasion of our ruby wedding. It was excellent! The room was warm and cosy with an amazingly comfortable bed. No noise to disturb our slumbers. Breakfast was plentiful and good and cooked to taste. The free fast WiFi was an added bonus. Mark and Debra made us most welcome.
We didn't need to bother with the car for local sightseeing. Although a 15 minute walk to the sea, this was not a problem and the walk home was just right after dining in Brixham.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldBlindPew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This B&B is owned and run by a lovely, friendly couple. The breakfast was outstanding - in fact they've even won a "breakfast award" for it, which is proudly pinned up on the entrance hall. Although it's on the main road, we weren't disturbed by noise at all, even though we had a room on the front.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bournemouthbabe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have been staying at this B&B every time we've come to South Devon for 4 years now & Mark & Deborah have never rested on their well-earned laurels. Already experienced in running such a business, they've simply got better & better at Brixham House. Homely building, fresh, well-kept rooms, outstanding breakfasts, excellent local knowledge. They set the bar high when they took over & we were impressed then, it didn't need to get any better. It has & they deserve the great success they've achieved. We're going back ASAP.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWinsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.7 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#8 of 26 in Brixham
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#4 of 26 in Brixham
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trefoil Guest House
Trefoil Guest House
#9 of 26 in Brixham
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fair Winds Guest House
Fair Winds Guest House
#6 of 26 in Brixham
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brixham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brixham House

Property: Brixham House
Address: 130 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England (Formerly Lamorna Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brixham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brixham House Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing