We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Williams Arms

Williams Arms
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
south wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Five of us visited on Easter Sunday, we all had the carvery , choice of beef, turkey & pork and more veg than I can remember. we all thoroughly enjoyed it and returned during the week when it was equally as good. Cant wait to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carrieSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    142
    47
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nor very welcoming and service slow,
For first timers it is nice to be welcomed and everything explained. Very basic, vegetables were not cooked to my standard. We found the atmosphere disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daphne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic food time and time again”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Often go to the williams arms never disappoints normally have good off the menu large portions and can never finish. Never wait to long my only issue the child's menu for £7.95 is a little pricey would expect a drink or pudding included.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beckiew1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great carvery!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Came here on Easter Monday and it was packed; even though we had to wait for our table it was only a ten minute wait.

Carvery was varied and plentiful with three choices of meat and a vegetarian option too.

Very decent for 9.95!

Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny dorset
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“SUNDAY CARVERY.. YUM YUM!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Visited this lovely pub on a busy sunday.. The bar was packed, so was relieved to be seated on time, for the 2nd sitting. There were 10 of us, and 6 had the carvery, which was impressive and consisted of a selection of 3 different meats..(Beef, Turkey and Pork) this week, roast potatoes Yorkshire puds, cauliflower cheese, and probably 7 or more different vegetables..as well as gravy..Thumbs up for the carvery!! one of our party had Scampi Chips and Peas, which he enjoyed, one had Chicken Gougons chips and peas, which he also enjoyed.
My dad and I zeroed in on the Lamb Shank which is under the signature dishes..
it came on a bed of tasty fluffy mash potato, with a lovely red wine sauce, and pickled red cabbage.. It was beautiful, and fell off the bone, The only slight niggle I had was that I think it would be even better to put slightly less pickled red cabbage in the dish, and add a couple of other vegetables, such as broccoli , carrots.etc. just so there was a bit more variety.

The staff here were very friendly and efficient.. would definitely return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelcake71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Williams Arms also viewed

 

Been to Williams Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing