We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Staff”
Review of The George inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George inn
Ranked #11 of 41 Braunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location, in the centre of Braunton, is excellent, for both business and tourism. The Hotel has a welcoming, friendly atmosphere, in particular one feels quite comfortable relaxing in both the Dining and Bar areas, even when sitting on one's own.
The breakfast is particularly good and generous, although we had to request more fruit/juice/yogurt on the Buffet each morning. The Restaurant specialises in Thai food, good flavour but small portions.
Because the Hotel is very old, room size is quite limited in the Bedrooms. The Owners have done their best with Decor, including the novel way in which the towels are folded to resemble an elephant.
When funds permit replacing the television screens with Flatscreens would make an appreciable difference to the space in the Bedrooms. Likewise our Showerroom would have benefitted from some upgrading.
The Staff were very helpful and a great source of local knowledge, from the Bedrooms to the Bar top marks to them.
There is no street parking but the Management has an arrangement with the Owner/s of The Car Park diagonally across the road from the Hotel and they validate the parking ticket for you so no fee is charged to you.
We would definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: Normally when you book a twin, the room is larger but here it is not so. Avoid Room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Hi, I have stayed here on quite a few occasions usually mid week for just the one night . The staff have always been helpful and polite . The George is a pub with 6 rooms up stairs and a Tia restaurant attached down. I've eaten twice in hotel and on both occasions enjoyed my meal ,the bar is well stocked real ales and the more traditional beer and largers . I really enjoyed breakfast you order from the menu the waiter also serves you hot drinks. I like a early start so have missed breakfasts a few times the staff have always had a pack up for me to collect next morning also the hotel car park is across the road and is barrierd get the ticket from machine staff member to stamp this Will allow you leave when you need to and for free. Plenty of places to eat in braunton squires licenced fish shop next door to aggi famly restaurant a few minutes walk

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank yorke_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

made an evening visit to the Thai restaurant, the waitress was abrupt in her manner. the menu misleading if you go for a set meal. the food when it arrived was not what i class as thai food. surroundings dated, food poor.

Thank jsiddique1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

A very very tired place.
FACTS:
1. Bedside lamp did not work.
2.TV receiver balanced on a bracket.
3. TV remote not working.
4. Bed mattress looked and felt like a rack of ribs. Not comfortable.
5. The most disgusting mildewed shower head I have ever seen.
6. No soundproofing between bar downstairs and rooms upstairs. Do not consider sleep before 11:30.
7. They require a credit card swipe before you can order a meal (not breakfast). I refused as I only had cash. Asked for a drink with the meal and was asked to pay for it seperately! Staff then kept watch over me while i ate in case I ran off - even though I was staying there!

It's a shame that in this day when business needs to be competative to stay afloat - some places like The George hotel feel that they can just take your money and provide little service.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonparkstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just returned from two nights' stay at The George, Braunton. I was delighted with this hotel - very clean and comfortable room with all necessary facilities, helpful and courteous staff, lovely breakfast and superb Thai food in the restaurant. We also had a very tasty and filling English lunch here. The location is really good, in the centre of Braunton, near to beautiful beaches and coastal walks, close to the delightful town of Barnstaple. We shall certainly return, probably for an autumn or spring break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reebs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent if you want to be close to shops and restaurants. Our room was very nice -- not fancy, but clean and well-appointed -- and we did have an en suite bath. We noticed that some rooms did NOT have a bath, so be aware of this when you make your reservation. The restaurant and pub were very good with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEVSIMMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I recently stayed here with a group of girlfriends and we couldn't have been made more welcome. The Young gentleman who looked after us was incredibly polite and accommodating, and his knowledge of the local area was excellent. The rooms were clean, the only negative is that it was rather stuck in the 70's as far as décor is concerned, with some strange Thai influences thrown in, although this does have a somewhat charming feel! The breakfast was also of a reasonable size.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
2.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,835 reviews
5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,633 reviews
4 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holmsleigh Bed & Breakfast Braunton
3.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
0.5 mi away
Silver Cottage
Silver Cottage
#2 of 41 in Braunton
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George inn

Address: Exeter Road, Braunton EX33 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Braunton
Price Range: $107 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right in the heart of Braunton, The George Inn is an elegant destination that is perfectly placed for a weekend away exploring the North Devon coast. Featuring modern luxury decoration in our boutique style rooms, you can now experience luxury pub accommodation just minutes from Barnstaple, Bideford, Ilfracombe and Exmoor National Park. Take advantage of our frequent dining and mini-break offers to treat yourself to even better value! We are passionate about great food at OHH and The George Inn is no exception. We offer a wide range of delicious meals throughout the day (including vegetarian options), all created from the carefully sourced fresh local produce that is the cornerstone of our approach to great pub food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your The George inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing