We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue golfing weekend with the lads!”
Review of The George inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George inn
Ranked #11 of 40 Braunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Have just returned from a golfing stag weekend based at the George Hotel. Our party of 7 received excellent, friendly and warm hospitality from everyone at the George Hotel.
We only stayed one night, but arrived for breakfast on our first day unexpectedly and were accommodated immediately for a hearty breakfast. Highly recommended.
On the evening we booked a table in the Thai restaurant and sat down to a fabulous meal at a reasonable price.
The George appears to be the centre of life in Braunton, and does not suffer as a result. The bar areas were lively without being rowdy and we found all the locals very friendly and approachable.
The rooms are basic but clean and good value for it at £35 B&B.
Gavin provided superb banter with his brilliant service and ensured that our every wish was met during our stay.
I, for one, would happily return on my next golfing trip to Saunton Golf Club.
Thanks George Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_phillips10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for The George inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

Popped in to Braunton to get an evening meal after a seven hour drive followed by a meeting in Ilfracombe without food - I was ravenous.

Chose the George after a brief search of Braunton centre.

There was a fixed 'Special' menu where the only meal I fancied was a Sirloin Steak Dinner For Two with a bottle of wine thrown in.

I asked if the wine could be removed as I was in my car which they said yes to, so I ordered the meal for two for myself with a reduction in chips and onion rings etc and no wine for a 'special' price.

Apart from the odd chip and onion ring I cleared the lot and even ate all my peas (mum would have been proud!).

I could not fault anything at all with The George, food, service, price and people were all spot on.

Thank you! - I will be back for Desperate Dan's dinner later in the year!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CB_Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Had christmas party hereI Thai Banquit costing £24.50 each Table was booked for 8pm but not able to sit down till 8.30. We were the only customers.
Poor quality starter very greasy food and not very hot, then waited over a hour for main course All the food arived cold and not enough to go round.
Most discusting meal i have ever had.
Never go there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Very nice room, with good breakfast. Had a Thai evening meal which was also very nice. Only thing that spoilt the stay was the banging doors and loud voices late at night hence did not have a very good nights sleep. Also next to busy road so some traffic noise. Efficient and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was the best Thai meal ever at very reasonable prices - the waiter was quite a character too!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank johnbrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We enjoyed a great little dinner at the George Hotel earlier this month. Good food, reasonably priced, excellent service, and an unexpectedly warm welcome for our canine companion. Both orders which were served in the bar area were presented in quick time and were hot, plentiful and greatly appreciated. My compliments to both the Chef and the front of house staff. We were sorely tempted by the extensive and tasty looking Thai menu also on offer and look forward to sampling it on our next visit to North Devon. The friendly welcome we received coupled with a satisfying and delicious meal both in terms of price, quality, and customer service have ensured repeat custom from this reviewer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skribbleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

recentley stayed at the george hotel, my fifth midweek one night stay here over the past twelve months.great value for money .nice bar with excellent thai food in resturant.staff are very pleasent and helpful, location is great for exploring and there are plenty of places to have a nice eveving meal if thai is not your thing [try the aggi bar and restuurant only a couple of minutes stroll from the george] hope this helps.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorke_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
2.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
5.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
836 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
118 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George inn

Address: Exeter Road, Braunton EX33 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Braunton
Price Range: $123 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right in the heart of Braunton, The George Inn is an elegant destination that is perfectly placed for a weekend away exploring the North Devon coast. Featuring modern luxury decoration in our boutique style rooms, you can now experience luxury pub accommodation just minutes from Barnstaple, Bideford, Ilfracombe and Exmoor National Park. Take advantage of our frequent dining and mini-break offers to treat yourself to even better value! We are passionate about great food at OHH and The George Inn is no exception. We offer a wide range of delicious meals throughout the day (including vegetarian options), all created from the carefully sourced fresh local produce that is the cornerstone of our approach to great pub food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The George inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing