We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ask for the milkshake”
Review of Sands on the Beach - CLOSED

Sands on the Beach
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't ask for the milkshake”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely day with my family. We decided to go for a drink and perhaps food at this place because they have a wonderful view however when we asked for milkshakes we were presented with chocolate flavoured milk, a drink most appropriate for a child.When I asked if there was any chocolate ice cream in it and after a brief discussion about what a milkshake was with a snotty waiter, they said no.I then proceed to request a proper milkshake. The same snotty waiter that I saw coming out of the kitchen with food in his mouth gave us the same flavoured milk drinks but this time with crushed ice and still no icecream.Furthermore the food didn't look that good either.So if you want overpriced food served by snotty waiters but with an incredible view of the sea than this is the perfect place.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sonica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    20
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casual Meal”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Right on the beach - very popular. Friendly atmosphere and good food. Not expensive and very family friendly. Ovrelooks Saunton Sands beach so marvellours views of the tide coming in (or going out).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dog day out”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great view from the balcony, dogs welcome, nice friendly staff, service a little bit on the slow side, fish platter very nice, other 3 meals average.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5star199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food right next to beach”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Pros: decent food - great chips and fish choices were good. Very nice lunch.
Cons: a little pricey
Definitely recommend though

Helpful?
Thank dogsbody689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed...”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had early evening food here a few weeks ago and even though the food was ok (the mussels were really delicious) the service was well below standard which was such as shame. Our table wasn't cleared properly from the previous people, there were crisp bags stuffed in the gaps on the table & spilled drinks not wiped up......now I know this is a casual beach cafe but seriously...attention to detail by the waiters/waitresses is a must where any paying customer is eating & drinking!! I hate complaining about stuff, I'm a chef and I know how hard everyone in a restaurant works. We were given very dry, day old bread with our mixed fish platter starter so we asked for some fresh stuff, and were given some slices of white bloomer which were great, but unfortunately the waiter then told us the other dry bread was supposed to be like that as it was sourdough!!!! What a load of odd cobblers!These staff are clearly under trained as after we'd finished eating it took 20 mins for our table to be cleared , not because the place was busy but because the waiter was casually chit chatting with his friends on another table! This is a unique eating spot to north devon with stunning views & we don't mind paying that little bit more for that reason, but I want to recommend it to all our b&b customers in Braunton, however if the service isn't unique too, then the place is really let down. However I can recommend the mussels to anyone who wants to take a risk with the service!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sands on the Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing