We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,342)
Filter reviews
2,342 results
Traveler rating
1,257
614
258
138
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,257
614
258
138
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace lounge sea facing room sand dunes stunning location family suite main restaurant indoor pool lovely hotel short break scones north devon brend hotels cream tea relaxing break great facilities single room car park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 2,342 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017

The staff are very attentive (not sure how appropriate a top hat is in rural Devon by the beach). The room overlooked the beach & was a good size, good storage, lovely bathroom & with the towelling dressing gowns that are de rigeur. Pool & therapy rooms looked good, too.

The Art Deco feel, with mirrored furniture on the landing, superb floors etc gave a real feeling of luxury.

A relatively expensive treat, but we enjoyed it.

Food was excellent, will review restaurant separately but just to mention the sumptuous, serve yourself breakfast is one of the best I've ever encountered - continental, full English, fruit etc smoked salmon.

Room tip: Ask for sea view
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cornish_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

The restaurant team will be so pleased to hear your review of breakfast, I think it is wonderful too but I am biased! Please do come back to visit us again soon, everyone deserves a treat now and again - Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Impressed with the size of the swimming pool and the overall cleanliness of the hotel. The staff were, across the board, extremely friendly and accommodating. We got a good last minute deal for dinner, B&B and were put in a lovely sea-facing room. One of the best hotel views I have experienced in the UK.
A couple of things we were disappointed by: 1) The main course in the fine dining restaurant, given the reviews, we disappointing. Fillet steak (not covered in the all inclusive deal and a further £16) came out well done when asked for medium/rare, potatoes dry and chewy and cheesecake desert very rubbery/gelatinous. Could be a one-off on the cooking front, as the quality of ingredients were very high and the starters delicious.
Squash court isn't in the best state, but nice to have one available.
Gym - machines are a little worn out. Some don't work at all.
Massage - excellant.

Room tip: Ask for one that is facing the sea and rooms vary in whether they have just a shower or a shower over a bath, so if you do want a bath it is worth requesting in advance.
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sajlanfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

We do like to offer the best service possible so it is wonderful to hear from a happy guest. Your feedback on other areas of the hotel is genuinely appreciated and will be shared with the management team - Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Atmospheric and immaculate decor and generous public rooms. Great indoor pool. Helpful and capable staff. Room small but comfortable and well equipped. Can't fault it and sorry to have to go at the end of the conference I was attending.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank geoffg391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

The only solution is for you to come back and see us again very soon, we do have some rather good rates for the winter months! - Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Beautiful hotel, stunning views and superb food and all the staff were very friendly and proficient in their duties
We will definitely be back for more. We cannot think of a better place to be looked after. Total relaxation

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank rondclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

I am so pleased you enjoyed our food, views and service. It is our pleasure to look after you during your stay - Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

extremely welcoming and efficient check in - absolutely stunning view of the beach from my room
very comfortable bed, and a well laid out bathroom
the staff were always very friendly, and the check out was well-managed

Room tip: ask for beach view room
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WanderingGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

We are rather spoiled with stunning views and we do aim to make your stay as special as possible so it is fab to hear that you had a good stay - Anthony Kingdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews