We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent position on hillside overlooking a huge, long beach giving marvelous sea views. The massive sand dunes give an almost moonscape appearance that would be ideal for some exploration. Room was large, as was bed and nicely appointed. Windows were easily opened to ensure fresh air, though the pounding surf was loud enough to disturb sometimes. Bathroom had excellent, easily operated, shower in bath plus good toilet and large handbasin. Heated towel rail ensured the large and fluffy towels were always ready for use. The indoor Pool was well heated and clean with an excellent sauna. The therapy suite offers a variety of choices to relax. Food was good with a reasonable variety of choice at Dinner and a massive variety at the buffet Breakfast. Staff in all the food and bar areas are friendly and helpful to the best degree, ask and they'll accommodate. The hotel seems to have a fair number of young children as guests, some of whom are not well controlled by their parents, so holidays times may pose questions. An attempt to maintain a dress code at Dinner is not enforced in any way and leads to some strange attire on view! Good position for touring the North Devon coast. Overall a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: The 'sea view' rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoPensioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all of our facilities including the view from your room, which really is exceptional, though we say so ourselves. We do ask our guests to dress for dinner, although smart jeans can now be worn. I look forward to welcoming you again soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our second visit and definitely not our last, great location, excellent for kids and the staff couldn't be more helpful.
Dinner quality and variety make a great evening when the kids are asleep.
Beaches and golf courses very close and even managed to have a close squash match on the Hotel court.
Can't wait to go back and even the English February weather was manageable.

Room Tip: Srea facing and you will love the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikestrong1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I am so glad to hear that you had a great time and would like to visit us again very soon. This is lovely feedback. We can't do much about the weather, but we'll always keep you entertained. With this summer predicted to be a scorcher, perhaps if you return, a dip in our outdoor pool may be in order. I look forward to seeing you again soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay as usual. Staff extremely polite and helpful. Although stormy outside we relaxed and used the facilities and thanks for the spoiling on valentines day!!
ONLY COMPLAINT - vegetarian menu needs work - one night there was nothing different for me to have as a starter so I was given some lettuce leave with some blue cheese crumbled on top - not really what you expect from a four star hotel. I'm a vegetarian through choice but I do enjoy and look forward to good food - it is such a shame to be disappointed. The specials menu should have a vegetarian option - also Parmesan cheese is not vegetarian. Sorry to complain but it is the only thing that spoilt my stay BUT I would highly recommend Saunton Sands Hotel to anybody!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I am so glad you had a great time with us. The weather may have been stormy, but we always provide a warm welcome and great indoor facilities when its cold outside. With regard to our vegetarian menu, I shall pass your comments on to our chef and we will look at our vegetarian offering. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel, hopefully when the sun is shning! - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Visited this hotel a while ago but found the location and hotel first class they offer some very competitive deals. Food is exquisite as is the service. For a family this is a first class hotel, staff are only too willing to answer questions. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible but all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouch302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for a great review and for recommending us a first class hotel for families. We pride ourselves on being super family orientated and cater for every need. This is excellent feedback - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

As a mum taking three kids aged 11, 13 and 15 on a mini break for half term I felt we had an enjoyable stay and would return though felt we paid quite a lot considering we were only one adult so will look for deals next time. We shared a family room set up (two adjoining rooms with one bathroom) with a great sea view. The service was helpful and friendly and staff dealt with our slightly wonky camp-bed promptly. The rooms and facilities that we used like the pool and sauna otherwise were clean, warm and had all we needed. We had an excellent and good value steak meal one evening from the Grill menu and enjoyed the more fancy main evening menu the other night though felt maybe some of the dishes were 'trying too hard'. Breakfast was also slightly disappointing - the kitchen didn't seem to quite keep up replenishing the buffet with the busy half term demand and the bacon was far too salty, decaf coffee too awful to drink and our butter tasted of mint one morning. Some muesli or granola would have been good to see and maybe some dairy/wheat alternatives. The pool changing room could do with wrist bands for the locker keys please! Super location - enjoyed the beach walks in this mild February.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Many thanks for your review, I am glad you and your family had a great time this February half term. With regard to our food offering, I have passed on your comments re the breakfast selection to our kitchen. We will happily accommodate breakfast choices if you mention them to one our staff. I'm also pleased you enjoyed both of our restaurants. Our main restaurant's food is of the highest quality and is presented in an exquisite style in keeping with our AA Rosette award. I also hope you enjoyed the refurbished Art Deco restaurant surroundings, I would be pleased to hear what you thought. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a wonderful stay again at Saunton Sands this is our 4th year there and we will return next year. We have four children from 10yrs to 4yrs who love everything about it from the breakfast to evening entertainment and they especially love the playroom and Antonia who runs it she is truly amazing . The food is fantastic and the service is warm and friendly . We would highly recommend it to any family with children . This year we had a family reunion and it was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the luxury living apartments they are wonderful this is our forth year at Saunton Sands...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Faye k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I am so pleased that you and your family had a fantastic stay with us. We love to welcome you back year after year. We pride ourselves on providing the best family breaks and I am pleased to hear that your children love our entertainment. I shall pass on your comments to Antonia. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here many times before, very pleased with the deluxe double room and the wonderful sea view. To get the best out of your stay you need to choose a sea view room if possible. The service from staff as usual was excellent along with the overall comfort and cleanliness of the hotel. We were however disappointed with the decline in the quality of the dinner menu. On the daily menus there was little choice with some dishes repeated each day. Supplements had also been added since our last stay, with for example a £3.95 supplement payable for a prawn cocktail starter! and £9.95 for scallops. If you fancy a steak from the grill menu supplements of £20 to £30 would be payable even though you have paid for your dinner bed and breakfast package. Having said that the quality of the food was excellent even without the supplements.The varied choice of food at breakfast was also excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must for this hotel, rooms at the rear tend to overlook the car park or road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your review, I am glad you had a fabulous time. We do change the menu selection frequently and new dishes will be appearing in the next few weeks in the Terrace Lounge. I do hope that you will come back to visit us again soon and sample the new dishes and enjoy the newly renovated Terrace Lounge, (opening soon) - Pete Brend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
873 reviews
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,403 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
721 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,686 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: $208 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing