We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Yet another excellent stay at The Saunton Sands Hotel, meeting friends old and new. The staff are always very welcoming, and are very accommodating for all family needs. Our group of friends increases year on year, always holidaying at The Saunton Sands Hotel. The adults all have dinner together, and the children all enjoy dinner together, with the restaurant staff being very accommodating for all the children's needs. We then enjoy the after dinner entertainment, ranging from Race Night to Bingo (the children's favourite nights). Activities during the day can also be enjoyed, with tennis courts, Racquet Ball and Squash? The indoor swimming pool is an enormous plus, where the children all love to meet. We have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms whether sea facing or inland facing are excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    459
    207
    108
    61
See reviews for
564
659
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The last time I was at Saunton Sands I was with two friends, all three about 14 years of age, and we were in raptures at the impression Saunton Sands Hotel made on us. Perched on the side of a cliff, gleaming white in the sunshine. We weighed up the precious time we had available before our treck back to our digs in Braunton, We decided that playing in the sea and sand dunes was the order of the day but made a "blood brother" promise that one day we would come together and stay at this hotel, now a monument in our lives. Well, one buddy and I stayed there for two nights, 10-11th September 13, and it lived up to all we had desired 64 years ago, great sea views from quality bedrooms with balconies, excellent service and food, swimming pool that opened at 0600hours and all coupled with that wonderful sense of nostalgia, a boyhood dream come true in every respect. We will be back.

Room Tip: Sea and dunes view room with balcony, sun loungers, table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed in apartment for a weekend - was a bit shabby and needs refurbishment, so would agree with other comments that it is overpriced. Views from room were fantastic. Only an interconnecting door separating the apartments which meant it was quite noisy, especially as next door had a baby who cried a lot. Both swimming pools were great. Overall the hotel not as luxurious as you would think from the website - it could do with a bit of tlc

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AdamC510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your recent stay in our self catering accommodation.

I was sorry to read that you felt that the apartment fell short of your expectations in that it was over priced. The apartment rates are based upon the rating from the AA and Visit England quality assessments and by the amount of persons they can sleep.

The rates are per apartment per night and include use of all hotel facilities and entertainment during the holiday period.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you to Saunton again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from our latest weeks holiday and having been regular visitors with only a handful of absences over 30 years, we can say that the hotel is as excellent as ever.
The only slight disappointment was our room, which needed refurbishment and I understand a programme is in place to do this fairly soon, as some had already been renovated.
Service remains outstanding, particularly in the bar area and restaurant. The staff are friendly and ultra professional and the hotel has moved with the times, being able to cater for the needs of a modern family, as well as its more senior clients, like myself and my wife.
We hope to have the pleasure of returning as often as we can and have already got our provisional booking in for next year.

Room Tip: Just have a sea facing room, the view is simply outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed one night before meeting in Barnstaple. Hotel nicely refurbed, and food and service very good. Great view and very convenient for beach and run along coastal path. Gym disappointing, but indoor and outdoor pools. Great views from restaurant/ terrace.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hugh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in August and had great time. Service was exceptional - Dubai standard! Room not great for the price we paid but would not deter us from returning. The food was lovely and all in all is a very family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh_one2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here at very short notice to surprise our family who were staying nearby. The Internet booking was very efficient and simple and we arrived later that day. Reception and porterage was very professional and welcoming. In view of the short duration and purpose of our visit we had booked a room at the back of the hotel. It had no view but was comfortable and adequately sized. The bathroom, like so many hotels, lacked an adequate shelf on which to place our toiletries. Staff in the bar and restaurant were very friendly and efficient. Breakfast and dinner were very welcoming experiences and the food excellent. The view from the terrace is spectacular and the beach is easily accessible. We didn't try the pools or the spa but based on our two day visit, I would imagine that a longer stay would be a most relaxing and luxurious experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,170 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
560 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing