We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“well refurbished”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed one night before meeting in Barnstaple. Hotel nicely refurbed, and food and service very good. Great view and very convenient for beach and run along coastal path. Gym disappointing, but indoor and outdoor pools. Great views from restaurant/ terrace.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hugh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    459
    207
    108
    61
See reviews for
564
659
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in August and had great time. Service was exceptional - Dubai standard! Room not great for the price we paid but would not deter us from returning. The food was lovely and all in all is a very family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh_one2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here at very short notice to surprise our family who were staying nearby. The Internet booking was very efficient and simple and we arrived later that day. Reception and porterage was very professional and welcoming. In view of the short duration and purpose of our visit we had booked a room at the back of the hotel. It had no view but was comfortable and adequately sized. The bathroom, like so many hotels, lacked an adequate shelf on which to place our toiletries. Staff in the bar and restaurant were very friendly and efficient. Breakfast and dinner were very welcoming experiences and the food excellent. The view from the terrace is spectacular and the beach is easily accessible. We didn't try the pools or the spa but based on our two day visit, I would imagine that a longer stay would be a most relaxing and luxurious experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Myself and my family stayed a Saunton Sands in August, I was very disappointed with the overall experience. I found the rooms ok and the food the service was alittle slow and the whole hotel needs a revamp. As for the dinner dress code well there isn't one, not really bothered by this if they actually stated that you could wear whatever you like. I had a very annoyed teenager that he was wearing shirt and trousers when no one else was. If you want a dress code then stick to it. Very expensive for not a lot, but the beach is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in August.

I was disappointed to read that you felt that the Hotel was in need of a revamp. We do have an ongoing refurbishment programme and I was sorry to read that you did'nt find this evident.

We request that people dress for dinner as stated “Jacket and Tie preferred , however smart attire required” gentlemen are requested to wear trousers and a collared shirt. No sportswear, ripped jeans or trainers. I am sorry if you felt that this was not adhered to.

Once again thank you for taking the time review your stay and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Saunton in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed again recently and again absolutely superb! Food was absolutely to die for as was the service and general feel of the place.lovely comfy sun lounger cushions a great addition.Entertainment great fun as ever and Roger Lee the resident D.J. Is an absolute gem!
Very attentive staff and the management just cannot do enough for you.

Can't wait to return

Tom N

Room Tip: Sea facing are breathtaking if you can stretch to it,you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Several times previously including last December we have attended a Christmas party evening here with dinner and disco and special room rates for overnight stay including breakfast. That we are returning this December says it all. Watch this space!

Room Tip: We always choose a sea view panoramic covering about 10 miles or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night break at this wonderful hotel. Having stayed many years ago I am pleased to say that the hotel has retained not just its charm but its high levels of service,

From arrival we were made to feel welcome and at ease. We were shown to our room after a swift efficient check in and were in the pool within 20 minutes of arriving!

We were allocated a table for our stay in the restaurant and our waiter was excellent. The food was exceptional as was the service with a great range of wines on the list to choose from. I can recommend the Sands on the beach at Lunchtime. The kids particularly liked it down there especially the shakes! My wife is a vegan and we had contacted the management prior to our visit to discuss her requirements. Needless to say, everything was in hand and we even had a visit from the chef at Breakfast to ensure that she was happy with the food options available.

As the school holidays were still on-going, we were lucky enough to benefit from regular daytime and evening entertainment. We didn't expect this and it turned out to be such a plus!

This break proved to be so much more than we had hoped for and we will definitely go back again soon.

Well done Saunton Sands and thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,168 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
560 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing