We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having surfed for many years at Saunton Sands, day trips, camping, b and b etc, I've always fancied staying at the saunton sands hotel. As it was about as 'inexpensive' as i've seen, £300 for two nights b and b, we decided to go for it. We were not dissappointed, staff were brilliant, particularly at reception. They upgraded us to a sea view, which was wonderful enabling me to easily check the surf in the morning, on the second night we were encouraged to choose a room of our liking which was even more comfortable. The breakfast was fab, in a beautiful setting. As with other posts, I felt obliged to write a review as there had been some poor reviews. There are some tired looking aspects, and if you were paying £250 per night I can understand some criticism, but it would still get at least 4 out of 5 from us. Thanks again to all the staff, we will be trying to return asap!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask the very helpful reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1deegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful ten days at Saunton Sands hotel, the perfect venue for a family catch up and enjoyed by all people in our party with the youngest aged 24 and the oldest aged 87. Putting aside the wonderful location and plethora of activities on offer, it was the staff and service that really stood out for us all. Travelling with an 87 year old who knows what he likes and what he doesn't like, can be challenging at times and the staff dealt with every request with grace and friendliness. The hotel is large and during my stay, I did not come across one member of staff who was unhelpful or unfriendly. We have all travelled extensively and we all agreed on this point and found very little variability in service, which for a hotel with so many staff is a real achievement. Apart from a slight billing mix up, my only minor issue is the continual signing of slips for food/drink and the fact that the bill is not itemised to the extent that matching up the slips with actual items is a little difficult. Perhaps and automated handheld direct billing system may help solve this very minor issue. But overall had a lovely time and will hopefully be returning next year. Thanks to all the staff, and special commendation to your Italian and Polish (I think) restaurant managers. Bed in 310 also extremely comfortable, but rooms were on some nights quite warm! But overall, excellent.

Room Tip: Sea facing room on third floor on left hand side of hotel (looking out) as friend in room over to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Reading the reviews below has infuriated me so much that I feel I must write a review on this fantastic hotel! We had an amazing short break here last week and I have totally fallen in love with this hotel and it's staff. The location, staff, rooms, food, swimming pools are excellent. What also surprised me was the efforts that they go to for children. The hotel has a daily program of events and also has a separate children's tea time with amazing selection of food. The view was fantastic. Also they have THE best ever scones, try them! It's not cheap but you do get what you pay for. I could have stayed for ever!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've been coming to Saunton for 15 years, staying 2 to 3 times a year, for family holidays, and for me to chill-out following heavy work commitments. This particular visit was very much a last-minute decision. We've always enjoyed an excellent time, with great rooms, attentive staff, terrific food, and the true atmosphere of a very high-quality, family-run hotel. Aside from this, in terms of location, it is fantastic for its views, pathways and walking along the superb beach. We tend to stay out of peak season, when the Hotel (and the excellent indoor swimming pool) can feel quite crowded at times. In terms of investment, we've noticed that particularly In recent years, a great deal of money has been spent in revitalising the hotel's 'art deco' appearance, as well as improving the quality of decor, particularly in guest rooms. Saunton Sands somehow manages to balance its high quality with being extremely family-friendly in terms of its many facilities and functions. As a family, we are very critical of hotel accommodation generally, but we do not recognise the negative comments made in some TripAdvisor reviews. Peter Brend is about as hands-on with the management of Saunton Sands as it is possible to be, and he is backed by an excellent management team at all levels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We got married here 5years ago and so were very excited to return for our anniversary, on arrival we were stunned to be shown to amazing accommodation in one of the apartments having booked a double room. Overlooking the lack of pre-booked wine and chocolates which should have been present on arrival (chocs still not turned up!) we were really impressed with the sands on the beach restaurant, a mix of high class meets surf chic, but don't forget to book!!. The chef produced food to fall in love with and Ian the manager is absolutely brilliant, our thanks to him for a lovely evening. In total Saunton Sands still holds a very special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncarter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We rolled up in old jalopy to be welcomed by a very friendly frock coated doorman who handed me out of the car and set us on our way to a lovely lunch on this hotel's splendid terrace. All nicely done and not too pricey for the surroundings.
Great view of the beach.
Service was pleasant but a little muddled with our being offered other people's drinks and food orders on several occasions, but our own food and drink arrived promptly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SwordMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second stay in as many months - the location overcoming my concerns re service to give it a second chance.

But the place continues to mystify. You have this great building with amazing views, but staffed by individuals who seem to think that guests spoil the smooth running of the place. From check-in, where they notice you are waiting to but continue with their little chats, to a 30 minute wait for a cappuccino at breakfast (" it doesn't always take this long") to the classic " your 10 minutes early ( for dinner) - you may need to sit there without service or menus......" And why do they constantly ask you to sign for every separate drinks order in the middle of your meal - have they had a spate of dine and dash incidents?

The Food in the restaurant is very good, and the Sands on the beach restaurant is excellent - but on balance I will try somewhere else next time, not that I suspect this will cause them any concern.

Room Tip: At least choose the sea view to take your mind off the service .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barberousse888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.

I was very sorry to read that the level of service that you received was not to our normal high standards. I have addressed the points that you have raised with the food and beverage department to ascertain why these issues transpired.

Regarding the signing of tickets, I am sorry that you found this rather annoying, however if signatures are not supplied to complete a transaction, we are unable to charge to the individual room accounts.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment and hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Saunton in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
845 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,323 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
673 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: $207 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing