We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite sure what it's trying to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
nw3
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not quite sure what it's trying to be!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for 5 nights with our toddler after having seen good reviews for its children's club etc.... Room we were first shown to was a good size but absolutely nowhere near a 4 star so we
Moved to a much smaller room which which was more modern. Couldn't fault the views, absolutely stunning. The hotel itself is dated and you see where they've tried to update certain areas. The
Staff are bit of a mixed bag.... There are some that were very good such as the deputy hotel manager who was in the restaurant and also the girls from the kids club. A lot if the staff are very young and there doesn't seem to really be any proper knowledge of what's going on. Like I say, it's great for kids and therefore was able to overlook a lot of the issues but if it had just been myself and husband I don't think it would have been what was expected of 4 star hotel. I think there's a lot of potential to make it a really smart hotel if there was a proper refurb and perhaps a bit more staff training.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou9685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    457
    206
    107
    61
See reviews for
561
656
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This family run hotel now feels like a second home to me. It was recommended to me by one of my customers when i was complaining aboutv taking young children on holiday.The Saunton Sands Hotel has everything. Indoor pool, outdoor pool, the most beautiful views in the world, entertainment at peak times during the year, i just love it here. It could do with a bit more air con at hot times and the English weather could be more reliable of course. But i make a point of coming here at least once a year and call it my Saunton Sands fix. Heaven for me.

Room Tip: Must have sea view as it is so spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is in a glorious location overlooking the sands. The facilities are very old, including indoor and outdoor pools. We were the during the hot weather and spent most of our time on the beach kayaking and surfing. We had a package that included dinner which was very good. On the second night there was a BBQ which would not be my first choice of meal, but the hotel provided a magnificent spread of food which we really enjoyed. The hotel is not cheap and at the time we were there was full of families who had finished school ahead of the state sector. Our room had been up dated and faced out onto the road, but this is quiet at night. The windows had to be open as it was hit weather and there is no air conditioning, but for the few weeks per decade it is needed I didn't expect it. The breakfast is not up to the standard of many hotels in terms of the array of fruit and alternatives to a cooked breakfast but is perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoloresCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights. We had to make a last minute trip to the area and decided to stay in one of the apartments.
The decor could really do with updating - all looked rather dated.
Inside the apartment was mostly good, but 2 of the bathrooms desperately need changing. Avocado and peach bathroom suites are not modern, and not what people like to find in £415 a night accommodation!
The view was fine, but we didn't want to sit out on the balcony as it smelt of chip fat - we were right opposite the extractors. Not nice.
Woke up on the first morning looking forward to a shower to find there was no hot water. Phoned reception who asked if we had put on the immersion heater. Would have been really, really helpful if we had have been informed of this when we checked in.
It took so long to heat up, my partner had a cold shower and I had to wait - I couldn't stand under freezing water. And why should I have to?!
Ordered room service on the second night which was fine. Kids were in bed so it was the easy option. Although the chips were as good as they smelt coming out of the extractor - old and greasy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesGoodPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful weekend away - D0 NOT under any circumstances allow them to put you in room 127.

With three small kids in tow we tend to favour an early night and get up with them for a day of adventures, early doors.

However this particular bedroom is located immediately above the hotel's Terrace Bar which is the venue for post dinner entertainment and boasts the loudest PA System in North Devonshire.

On the Friday night we endured the local Wedding DJ laying down his Glam Rock vinyl collection till gone Midnight.

On Saturday a cheesy pub-style party band achieved impressive decibel levels that eclipsed the maximum volume range of our in-room TV. (Again till beyond Midnight.)

We should've been warned about this, but in their haste to sell us the room - we weren't.

We left the hotel a day early. We weren't offered a refund or a discount.

(P.S the view from the room is awesome)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamesLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Saunton Sands Hotel.

Firstly, may I sincerely apologise for the noise disturbance you incurred during your stay. We provide entertainment each weekend and nightly during our high season period for the enjoyment of our guests who wish to partake. I am sorry that you were not made aware of the exact location of the room upon booking, particular with a young family, and this has been addressed with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at Saunton Sands Hotel in July 2013 and it was lovely! We were greeted on our arrival and shown to a wonderful room overlooking the sands and it was also right opposite the indoor pool so we were able to walk across the corridor for a swim :-) Unfortunately the weather wasn't great so weren't able to swim outside. The food in the evening was fabulous and in a relaxing environment and the breakfast was ample too much in fact ! The only negative was it would have been nice to have a bit of entertainment in the l evening after dinner we are not the type to go to bed early! Altogether though a thoroughly enjoyable experience :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

myself and a friend went for a treat of a spa day, the pool was full of children with not many adults to look after them,the sauna had 2 women in with 3 children in it. there was a notice that said no one under 16 but these children where around 7,5, and 3 was awful they were really red and overheated. we went for lunch my order was taken my friends was taken but not written down hence the reason mine turned up and hers never she went to see where it was and was told would be there soon, I had finished mine and when hers did arrive it wasn't what she ordered, then to make matters worse the waiter came to explain but just got shirty, Thank goodness for the spa ladies they were lovely and brill at what they do. I did send an email to vent my opinion and supprise because brend hotels are usually very good but I have had NO reply what so ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sylv306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent spa day at the hotel.

Firstly, may I apologies for shortcoming in regards to the level of service that you received during your day at the hotel. The matters raised have been addressed with the appropriate departments.

During the summer, the hotel is predominately occupied by families, which at times does lead to the swimming pool becoming extremely busy during certain times of the day.

On a positive note, I was extremely pleased to read that our Therapy Suite staff looked after you so well.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your recent day at the Saunton Sands Hotel and very much hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing