We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saunton Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I only stayed at the Saunton Sands Hotel for one night last summer (luckily a day when afternoon tea was being served!), but really enjoyed the time I was there. The beach is wonderful and there are gorgeous views of it from the hotel.

Lots to do nearby, we went to Croyde which was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelrlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    434
    200
    105
    61
See reviews for
549
610
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel just before xmas for a xmas party, and we were looking forward to it as we stayed there for the same reason many years ago.
I would best describe it now as a average hotel with a premium price tag, its still a good hotel but not as good as it would lead you to believe it has fantastic views but in general a bit tired around the hotel.The biggest let down of was the food at the xmas evening meal and at breakfast.
We wont be going back any time soon!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view ( you might get one without paying extra if quiet time)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonTracman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a lovely place this was . Stayed whilst on film location work and from the initial greet at the door with uniform dressed doorman to the excelllent reception and bar staff what a place. Rooms nicely done and clean and restaurant a pleasure to eat in.
Stunning view of the beach

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplebearSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a very swift and friendly check in, I was shown to my sea view executive room (I believe my company had booked a standard double). The epitome of a room with a view. Beautifully decorated, fresh flowers, fabulous bathroom, exceptionally comfortable bed - just brilliant. Such a change from the usual soulless boxes that I normally stay in. Did I mention the fantastic view...?!

Having read other reviews, I was slightly concerned but all I can say is that I have no clue what they were on about. All throughout the hotel staff were courteous and went out of their way to be helpful, all with smiles on their faces. The afternoon tea was delicious. Dinner simply superb - yes, slightly more expensive than your normal hotel restaurants however I ordered a steak which was by far the tastiest I've ever had. It's important to note that there is also a bar/lounge menu if you do not fancy the full-on AA rosette restaurant experience... Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. I didn't need to eat again until the evening!

I also used the pool and aroma sauna. Both lovely and warm and clean with towels provided by the hotel. There are spa facilities which I didn't use plus a gift shop and hair salon. I am definitely coming again and I'd love to come for a proper long weekend away and I'm already trying to find another excuse to visit on business... :-)

Thank you to the team and to anyone considering booking, just do. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 324 has superb views from the bedroom and bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexxxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 nights in early January. Booked a deluxe sea facing room which should have included several items that you don't get in a normal sea facing rooom. Missing from our room were complimentary chocolates, newspapers and dvd player which should have been there as part of the deal that I paid extra for. This was quickly rectified in the morning by reception, however the embarrassment of having to mention this should have been avoided.
This is the 5th Brend hotel that we have visited and was the 2nd time that we did not get what was advertised as part of the deal booked ( the 1st time we weren't given the complimentary bottle of wine we should received at the Royal Duchy Hotel, Falmouth) is this deliberate company policy, I wonder?
Right, I have finished my whinging and would like to say that the room was fine with a fantastic view of the beach and sand dunes, and a very comfortable bed and pillows, the bathroom was ok if a little dated.
The staff were ok, best in reception in our experience and the food was excellent, as we have come to expect from Brend hotels, breakfast far better than similar hotels that we have visited.
So overall we had an enjoyable stay and may seek a Brend hotel for a short break in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you pay for in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very sorry to hear that on arrival the deluxe extras were not placed in your room and you had to mention this to Reception to rectify. I can assure you that it is not company policy to avoid the complimentary items but misfortune on both occasions, however thank you for bringing this to our attention which I will certainly address.

I am pleased to hear overall you enjoyed your stay, especially breakfast and the views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent two nights at the SSH in January. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. We had a deluxe sea facing room which was spacious with a seating area. Comfortable bed. En suite was long and narrow, not the best, but adequate.
The food was different and tasty, but could have been hotter at times. Portions were not very large, so it may not suite those with a hearty appetite.
We were very disappointed with the breakfast as we hate self service. Surely the point of going to stay in a hotel is to have someone waiting on you! We expected a freshly cooked breakfast served at the table not a fetch it yourself, make your own toast arrangement, especially at these high prices.
It is a nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay, but we would probably not go back to the SSH.
We like two of the other Brend Hotels, the Royal & Fortescue and the Park both in Barnstaple which is only a short drive to Saunton. These two hotels do not have the views or some of the facilities of the SSH but they are better value, and the last time we stayed at the Park in July 2012 the breakfast was much, much better than the SSH.

Room Tip: Have a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I am very pleased that you found the staff were friendly and helpful.

I was very sorry to read that you felt that the portions were insufficient and that you found the food to be tepid at times, to which I apologise.

Breakfast at Saunton Sands has been buffet style for a number of years, however I am aware this is not to everyone's liking, therefore tables service should have been offered, to which I apologise once again.

Thank you for taking time to review the Saunton Sands Hotel and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

New Year at Saunton Sands. Another triumph for this fantastic hotel. Food was excellent, staff more than attentive, accommodation first class and the party was out of this world. I cannot imagine being anywhere else where we would be made to feel part of a great big family and have such a wonderful time. We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Property: Saunton Sands Hotel
Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing