We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent thirties decor old style service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a lovely place this was . Stayed whilst on film location work and from the initial greet at the door with uniform dressed doorman to the excelllent reception and bar staff what a place. Rooms nicely done and clean and restaurant a pleasure to eat in.
Stunning view of the beach

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplebearSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
There are newer reviews for Saunton Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,444 - 1,450 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a very swift and friendly check in, I was shown to my sea view executive room (I believe my company had booked a standard double). The epitome of a room with a view. Beautifully decorated, fresh flowers, fabulous bathroom, exceptionally comfortable bed - just brilliant. Such a change from the usual soulless boxes that I normally stay in. Did I mention the fantastic view...?!

Having read other reviews, I was slightly concerned but all I can say is that I have no clue what they were on about. All throughout the hotel staff were courteous and went out of their way to be helpful, all with smiles on their faces. The afternoon tea was delicious. Dinner simply superb - yes, slightly more expensive than your normal hotel restaurants however I ordered a steak which was by far the tastiest I've ever had. It's important to note that there is also a bar/lounge menu if you do not fancy the full-on AA rosette restaurant experience... Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. I didn't need to eat again until the evening!

I also used the pool and aroma sauna. Both lovely and warm and clean with towels provided by the hotel. There are spa facilities which I didn't use plus a gift shop and hair salon. I am definitely coming again and I'd love to come for a proper long weekend away and I'm already trying to find another excuse to visit on business... :-)

Thank you to the team and to anyone considering booking, just do. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 324 has superb views from the bedroom and bathroom...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexxxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 nights in early January. Booked a deluxe sea facing room which should have included several items that you don't get in a normal sea facing rooom. Missing from our room were complimentary chocolates, newspapers and dvd player which should have been there as part of the deal that I paid extra for. This was quickly rectified in the morning by reception, however the embarrassment of having to mention this should have been avoided.
This is the 5th Brend hotel that we have visited and was the 2nd time that we did not get what was advertised as part of the deal booked ( the 1st time we weren't given the complimentary bottle of wine we should received at the Royal Duchy Hotel, Falmouth) is this deliberate company policy, I wonder?
Right, I have finished my whinging and would like to say that the room was fine with a fantastic view of the beach and sand dunes, and a very comfortable bed and pillows, the bathroom was ok if a little dated.
The staff were ok, best in reception in our experience and the food was excellent, as we have come to expect from Brend hotels, breakfast far better than similar hotels that we have visited.
So overall we had an enjoyable stay and may seek a Brend hotel for a short break in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you pay for in a room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very sorry to hear that on arrival the deluxe extras were not placed in your room and you had to mention this to Reception to rectify. I can assure you that it is not company policy to avoid the complimentary items but misfortune on both occasions, however thank you for bringing this to our attention which I will certainly address.

I am pleased to hear overall you enjoyed your stay, especially breakfast and the views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent two nights at the SSH in January. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. We had a deluxe sea facing room which was spacious with a seating area. Comfortable bed. En suite was long and narrow, not the best, but adequate.
The food was different and tasty, but could have been hotter at times. Portions were not very large, so it may not suite those with a hearty appetite.
We were very disappointed with the breakfast as we hate self service. Surely the point of going to stay in a hotel is to have someone waiting on you! We expected a freshly cooked breakfast served at the table not a fetch it yourself, make your own toast arrangement, especially at these high prices.
It is a nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay, but we would probably not go back to the SSH.
We like two of the other Brend Hotels, the Royal & Fortescue and the Park both in Barnstaple which is only a short drive to Saunton. These two hotels do not have the views or some of the facilities of the SSH but they are better value, and the last time we stayed at the Park in July 2012 the breakfast was much, much better than the SSH.

Room Tip: Have a sea facing room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and I am very pleased that you found the staff were friendly and helpful.

I was very sorry to read that you felt that the portions were insufficient and that you found the food to be tepid at times, to which I apologise.

Breakfast at Saunton Sands has been buffet style for a number of years, however I am aware this is not to everyone's liking, therefore tables service should have been offered, to which I apologise once again.

Thank you for taking time to review the Saunton Sands Hotel and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

New Year at Saunton Sands. Another triumph for this fantastic hotel. Food was excellent, staff more than attentive, accommodation first class and the party was out of this world. I cannot imagine being anywhere else where we would be made to feel part of a great big family and have such a wonderful time. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked the January offer for 1 night at £60 each. Enjoyed it so much that on checking out we booked it again for that night! Nothing was to much trouble, staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent, although dinner could of been served hotter (personal choice, I guess!). Ran out of mushrooms at breakfast. That was my only disappointment. Will certainly return, would like a deluxe room, with Balcony next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickoc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We are regular guests to SSH and I have been going for 60 years. I first took my wife in early 70's and we continued to go with our children into their late teens and early 20's and now with their children. We had never been for Christmas at SSH but this year we decided to go with the entire family grandchildren.

It was a truly amazing spectacle. The management in our view sacrificed profit and put guest enjoyment and value for money as a first priority. A unique gesture, thousands were spent on decorations that would not shame Bond Street. The Brends have the right balance and we had a fabulous time over 4 days. The food was exceptional and the best we ever had at this Hotel. Christmas Day lunch was just fantastic along with a atmosphere to match.

As always the staff bent over backwards, the kids had parties and presents paid for by the Hotel and there was always something going on that you could participate in if you felt like it. A wonderful welcome party for adults with as much champagne as you could drink and delightful canapes.

Evening entertainment mainly provided by the very likable and capable Roger Lee the resident DJ who gave a lovely party atmosphere to the quiz and dancing on Christmas day evening.
Our grandchildren said they wanted to live at SSH when we returned, not surprising as it is a heaven for kids, winter,spring ,summer and autumn.

Some of the rooms are in will need upgrading soon, but go with an open mind about that small aspect of what is in our family opinion is the finest family hotel in this country and our favorite hotel in the World. On top of this a truly wonderful location with great pools and leisure facilities on a beautiful beach in North Devon.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea Facing double/twin, west end of Hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
865 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,276 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
646 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: $215 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing