We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a firm favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed at Saunton Sands and Carlyon Bay, yes Brend does have a following, we enjoy exceptional food, excellent pools, attentive staff, and superb locations,
Every Hotel has to endure upgrade periods, and rooms prior to that happening will always look a little tired, but you are there to enjoy the location and surrounding countryside, not sit and snag your room, you can always ask to change if necessary.
My siblings are also fans, my sister and husband owned and ran their own Devon hotel, Our age group probably gives it away !! 60 to 65, we know a good thing when we see it !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,490 - 1,496 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

The accommodation is good, but as with most hotels, the rooms are too hot. Opening the windows just let in the traffic noise.
Likewise, the food in the restaurant is good, but the ambience was ruined by two things.
Firstly, after every order from the bar, extras from the menu etc, the staff demanded to know which room to charge it to (there were 4 separate parties sharing our table), and a signature was required for each item (I signed 7 bills during our meal). This was despite clear instructions from the outset to charge all extras to one room.
Secondly, the staff were too enthusiastic about clearing the dinner tables and preparing them (very noisily) for breakfast. At one point, I thought they might start putting the chairs on the tables and switch off the lights.
Pity, they could do so much better with a little more consideration.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamBozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wow what a wonderful experiance we had,with our long weekend spent at the Saunton Sands Hotel.From the moment we arrived,we were treated like royalty,All the staff,were really very obliging,and nothing seemed to much trouble for them,and everything was done with a lovely smile and very politely.The food was just amazing,and a excellent menu,to suit just about anybody,and also plenty of it,to fill the most hungry.And the surrounding area,was a real treat to explore,and in particular a place called 'Morthoe' this is a must for everybody to see,the scenary was just out of this world.So i have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the 'Saunton Sands Hotel'.

Room Tip: Select a sea facing room.!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TezzaCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It is extremely rewarding to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay at the hotel and also enjoyed the North Devon scenery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Saunton Sands hotel is not cheap but you do get great service and if you have a sea view room a view to die for.Good food but poor expensive wines.
Great for families ideal for small children.
This must be one of the best hotel locations in the UK on a fantastic beach.
Always chose a sea view room and you will not be disappointed.
Service was first class, friendly attentive staff.

Room Tip: Always go for a sea view you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We only managed a one night stay as the hotel was extremely busy the weekend we booked. Our balconied sea view room was modestly sized however the bathroom was disappointing. It had no shelf or usable surface space to store our toiletries. The bedroom, which caught the sun, was very warm and the absence of air conditioning window opening as the only breezy alternative. The hotel is otherwise well appointed and in a fantastic location. At £270 for a double room with a sea view it is overpriced by 4 star standards.

Room Tip: The sea views are marvellous but at a premium price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirkdaleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked one of the 2 bed apartments, ashford, on arrival every room smelt of smoke, when we complained there no alternative rooms in the hotel due to a wedding, so the manager offered to send the cleaners in. This wasn't taken up as we had a baby that was asleep but it should have been dealt with by the cleaners before we got there, it was obvious. The cleaner's comment the next day "we had golfers in last week" was bizarre given it is a no smoking room/hotel. Aside from this, the 4 star rating is simpy not accurate, the ashfield suite can't have been updated in 20+ years. I've read the comments about the rolling refurbishment programe but the hotel should have the decency to post photos and accurate descriptions of all rooms as we wouldn't have stayed here had we known the standard of the apartment - kitchen is tiny, bathrooms outdated, aged decor, artex walls and ceilings, carpets not particularly clean. When I said to the manager it wasn't fair to advertise that apartment as 4* he said he wasn't aware it had been - but it's a 4* hotel and the website showcases luxury family apartments, not sure why there could be any ambiguity. Breakfast was overly expensive given it was served cold. To their credit they knocked off 10% from the room rate - but it should have been more as that rate is still nowhere near 4* quality. overall extremely disappointed with the stay given the cost

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DH08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The Apartments in which you occupied are graded separately to the Hotel by both the Visit Britain and the AA. The Ashford apartment has been graded as three star, which is clearly stated on our apartment brochure.

Once again I am sorry that Saunton Sands did not meet your expectations on this occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night B&B at this fantastic hotel. Visited the area since childhood (now in my 50's) and always been impressed by this magnificent looking art deco hotel. Built in the 1930's, your could imagine Hercule Poirot sipping a Creme De Menthe on the Terrace! This hotel would normally be out of my price range but managed to get a great B&B deal including complimentary bottle of local wine (delicious) and a cream tea for two (enough for 4). The room was very large, lovely, great decor and huge bed - bathroom was a little tired but wasn't expecting the best room because of the great rate we found. I was very lucky with the weather and managed to enjoy the outdoor pool on 2 days and a spot of sunbathing. Also enjoyed the indoor pool and table tennis. Will have to try the putting green or tennis next time. Staff were very professional and polite - whole experience was great and tinged with nostalgia. One tiny exception - it is worth asking if a wedding is booked as our room was over the hotel entrance and close to the evening reception (this was only a problem because of one loud and unruly wedding guest). We ate on the terrace, food was excellent. Dress code for restaurant - which is refreshing. Waiting staff were charming but there didn't seem to be enough this morning (Saturday) - only saw 4. Bar staff are super attentive. The uniformed Porter is friendly and efficient and greeted me from the car and managed my luggage (impressed). Will definitely return.

Room Tip: If the front of the hotel is the entrance then the back of the hotel has the fantastic view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,319 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
672 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: $209 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing