We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough staff”
Review of Agricultural Inn

Agricultural Inn
Ranked #25 of 43 Restaurants in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not enough staff”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Booked as a mixed group of 7, teenager - grandparents. Table reserved up the back in the 'restaurant' area, which was fine. Menu varied; something for most to choose from. We ordered a mix from the menu i.e. cod & chips which was good, steak and ale pie which was nice, burger which was okay. The rest of the group went for the carvery, which was quite tasty - however badly laid out/organised and by 7.30pm on Sunday evening - they were running out of some items i.e. yorkshire puds.

We waited about 30 mins for food, however the waitress forgot to give us our carvery tickets which then meant that those eating from the menu, had nearly finished their meals before those with carvery started theirs.

The restaurant was busy, as was the bar - and the waitressing staff where seen to be serving behind the bar, leaving diners unattended. We didn't order desert, as there was no one to take our order, and we would have had a long wait.

I found someone to ask for the bill and had to take it to the bar when leaving, as there was no waitress to collect it.

The food was reasonably priced and pleasant - but the lack of staff let them down badly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliverSJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    17
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowton, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Self Inflicted problems!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This could have been an excellent meal, only it wasn't, due to our own fault. The Aggi was not to blame, and was very welcoming. Unfortunately, I was persuaded by the locals at the bar to go for pints of the local cider, flavoured with strawberries (for Kirsty and Olly) rather than the Koppaberg they both requested. Kirsty took one sip and said "no - don't like it" Olly manfully (for an 18 year old) didn't want to let it go, but got greener and greener as he got two thirds of the way through it before deciding he didn't want any more.

the food was great - a rump steak from the village butchers for me, with chips, mushrooms, oion rings and pepper sauce was very very good, and I would have no issues recommending it to anyone. Lucy's scampi, was, well, scampi, but she really enjoyed it. Olly's Lasagne was slightly dry but very nice, until the effects of the local cider brought it all back up again. Kirsty had the wild mushroom tagliatelli, but ddn't like it due to there being "too many mushrooms" (You couldn't make it up)

I don't think therefore we got the best of the Aggi. I for one would certainly go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A very welcoming and nice pub”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited the inn looking for a meal for a friends birthday as we were staying near Braunton. The menu was good and had something to satisfy all 6 of us. The food was lovely as was the beer. All of the staff were friendly. The pub quiz was good fun even if we did come towards the bottom. We had a great evening and I'll recommend it to anyone I know who is going to the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Basic Carvery”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in last minute and got seated right away. Hungry so went for the carvery. The meat was good roast beef as was the Yorkshire puddings and the roast potatoes. The veggies were a little bland and the gravy a little over seasoned. The atmosphere was nice the beer good. Service was good. The whole experience was what I expected from a pub carvery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank limeyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Local Pub”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

As a Local to the area I have to say that this is one of the best pub's in Braunton. The staff are always polite and attentive and although the decor was slightly tired it has just received a new lick of paint inside and is gradually receiving improvments in areas such as the toilets. It has a great pool table in the lower bar and a fantastic atmosphere during sporting events such as Rugby and Football with sky tv and a number of screens to view. Unlike some other comments on this site I have noted that holiday makers are always made to feel welcome and often come back for a repeat visit. On the subject of the decor people should bear in mind that this is a brewery owned venue and unless the landlord Julien dips into his own pocket to the tune of 100k + this will never be a spangly new Witherspoon or the like! However it does have a friendly atmosphere loved by many who visit on a regular basis and a good all round menu for those who are hungry. Fairly priced pub with a sin soaked beer garden with kids play equipment long into the summer evening's. Mr Davis

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandsEX33TAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agricultural Inn also viewed

 

Been to Agricultural Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing