We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous tapas”
Review of At One Dining Room

At One Dining Room
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Modern European dining using local produce & offering breakfast, lunch, & evening dining along with delicious Sunday lunch, freshly made desserts, cake & fantastic coffee.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Whilst visiting Braunton we were really surprised that we had to book for almost every restaurant last week (Aug 2014) but it was worth waiting a couple of days for our meal at At One as our meal was great. Once seated we were served by a lovely young waitress who talked us thru the menu, explaining that it was best to order 3 tapas dishes per person, which we did and this proved to be ideal giving lots of choice as we were a party of 4. The standard was excellent with lovely flavours and I would thoroughly recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 195 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

I ordered the Grilled halloumi & char-grilled Mediterranean salad (£9) and my partner ordered Sea Bass Fillets with new potatoes and a lemon butter sauce (£8). The restaurant says they recommend three dishes per person, but we didn’t notice this anywhere on their menu at the time and no one explained it to us, even when my partner only ordered one item.

When the food arrived we thought they had given us starters by mistake. My salad, which was not part of the recommended three dishes menu, was absolutely tiny. For £9, I was expecting a main meal sized portion but the food arrived on the tiniest plate, with only three slices of halloumi on top of a small bed of cucumber laces.

The presentation was great and the food was very tasty but it was not a main meal or even a salad and completely overpriced. I also ordered a glass of ordinary cranberry juice, which only when paying realised had cost £3! I’m from London and have never payed that for ordinary carton juice.

The service wasn’t great either; the owner is not very welcoming or smiley but the young waitress was friendly. We saw a couple come in with a pram, which the owner immediately told them would need to be put somewhere out of the way. After sitting down for only a few minutes, the couple decided to leave.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucy9056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at At One Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

We are so sorry that you had a bad experience at lunchtime. It sounds like there was a little confusion with our two menus. There is a lunch menu and a tapas menu and it seems that maybe you ordered a salad from the lunch menu but got the tapas halloumi instead. The Lundh salad is £9 and is a full salad main plate . You obviously did not receive this but I looked at our till record and it looks like you were charged only the tapas one however so I can only apologise again for any confusion. We will now make sure that we make it very obvious that one menu is tapas so hopefully this won't happen again. We are however glad that you thought the food tasty . Once again apologies for any confusion . On the subject of prams - we are a small restaurant and it is vital that all prams are put or folded away to avoid any trips and accidents and for the comfort of all our diners. This is purely a safety issue for all customer. They left not because of this but because we do not do simple children's food or sandwiches , this is not a problem unless someone makes it so. Rgds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were on our way to Croyde for the week and it is always good to stop off at Braunton for some lunch and a browse in the shops. We have never tried this Bistro before and this time there were spare tables.

It is clean and a good atmosphere, the young waitress was very helpful and we sat done to choose our lunch.

No children's menu, how odd, are there no kids in Braunton? We were advised the portions were small so it is OK for kids, our boy is 5 and only has a small meal. Or we could order Tapa's for them. They chose to share a bowl of mussels but sorry they had no delivery today.

Daisy who is 9 likes pasta but they only had Arrabbiata or meatballs, which was not really suitable. In the end they said they could add some cream to the Arrabbiata.

The meal came and it was good but my Bouillabaisse was lacking some flavours and seasoning but there was no salt on the tables.

Overall not bad just disappointed on them having no children's menu or not offering smaller suitable portions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at At One Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

We dont have a children s menu as our menu is vast . We feel that having over FIFTY small tapas dishes on our menu plus our lunchtime menu is probably enough for most people to be able to choose something for their children. The menu consisting of meat dishes, fish dishes , salads, vegetarian dishes and pasta dishes - i must add here that on our pasta section we have carbonara , pescatore, goats cheese and pesto as well as the two that you listed, they are in the same section so not sure how you missed those out?
You were aware that we had no childrens menu when you entered and you asked us before you sat down, so we are wondering why you stayed and now complain that you were disappointed - it doesnt make sense. There are plenty of restaurants in the village that have childrens menus so perhaps it would have been wise to choose one of these and have been happy.
We had no mussel delivery that morning as there is currently a shortage of them but it was the only day that we had none . We dont put salt out on the tables as we use maldon salt in small bowls and for hygienic reasons dont leave it out - you only have to ask !!!! as most of our customers do .
Thank you once again for your time to write about your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

My family went there for a Friday evening meal including 3 children (7, 10, 12) and a dog (not eating!) So we were asked to go for 5 so that we would be finished by 7pm. We were all made very welcome when we arrived and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. In my experience Tapas is often oily, spicy and actually rather dull, however straying from the Spanish classics the dishes here were just amazing. The wood pigeon breast and duck with pomegranate in the most delicious jus, topped with rocket and bacon was fantastic, as was the Sea Bass with chorizo, the tiger prawns in garlic and lemon, the pea and bean patty with mint yogurt.... In fact all of the dozen or so dishes we had. The wine was good, and the desert menu had a simple but very well chosen and equally delicious selection. It was certainly not the cheapest of meals, but given the quality of the individual dishes and the enjoyment we had trying all the different tastes, I did not feel unhappy about the bill when it arrived. We are all looking forward to our next visit - even if, on account of the distance, it may have to wait for our holiday next year......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at At One Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your time to write your review about our restaurant. It was a pleasure to have you all in that evening. We are happy that you enjoyed it so much and look forward to seeing you here again. kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We booked a table for lunch on Tuesday lunchtime. When we arrived we were welcomed and led to our table straight away. The food was great. I had the moules frites which were lovely. Two of us had the linguine pescatore. My daughter had the rabbit linguine and my mother in law the small fish and chips which was deep fried whitebait. Nothing was too uch trouble. My wife cannot eat chillies and there fore asked for these to be omitted from her linguine. My mother in law ahd the chunky chips instead of fries. Not the cheapest but well worht the money.

Thank edwyn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed At One Dining Room also viewed

 
Braunton, Devon
 

Been to At One Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing