We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely end to the Holiday”
Review of Silver Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Cottage
Ranked #1 of 40 Braunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely end to the Holiday”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I would highly recommend Silver Cottage when staying in Braunton.
We had walked 15 miles from Woolacombe and received a warm welcome and an excellent cream tea, which was just what was needed.
The cottage, has a sitting room (where we watched the Olympics opening ceremony) and small kichen area on the ground floor and two bedrooms on the first floor. The bed was very comfortable and the homemade breakfast was great. We had excellent fish and chips from Squires, though there was a long queue - a local said that the chippy in South Street was also very good and would have no queues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Speke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
44
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

stayed for a couple of nights and would loved to have stayed longer. Sophie, Matt & children are lovely & the perfect hosts. Breakfast with home made bread/marmalade& jam(bring some home with you) was superb start to the day.Accomodation fantastic, beds with beautiful fresh white linen,lovely sitting room, gardens. Try Squires fish & chips (fantastic). A lovely couple of days. We will be back. Thank you both for making it memorable, gold star to Sophie (trip to Squires!!!!!!) Yvonne, Edd & Ray

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Arrived after a hard days 15 mile walk from Woolacombe, soaking wet and tired. We were so warmly welcomed with a much needed tray of tea and cake our woes soon melted away. Our wet clothes were whisked away for drying as we settled in to what is a lovely set up. Beautiful bedroom & bathroom with separate lounge area and even a small kitchenette. We cannot fault it - one of the best B&B's we had ever stayed in. Breakfast was superb and set us up perfectly for the next stage of our walk. We love that part of N Devon and will definately stay at Silver Cottage when we visit again. Thank you Sophie and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Another brilliant stay last weekend at Silver Cottage! Despite the miserable weather and poor surfing, Sophie managed to keep us going with her welcoming manner and amazing breakfasts!! We were treated on this latest stay to eggs for breakfast freshly laid by the chickens in the garden and they were fantastic - real depth of flavour that you don't get from mass-marketed ones; and make sure you try the home made marmalades and preserves - I can never buy enough to bring home, they're just mouthwatering!!
We were stuck for something to do on Saturday night with the bad weather, so Sophie recommended the Thai takeaway available at The George Hotel in Braunton (Tip Top Thai Takeaway), and again it didn't fail - it was delicious and authentic and we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay if you are hiking or just looking for a few nights down on the Devonshire coast. Matt and Sophie are lovely and their kids are equally great. Secret tip! If you ask really nicely Sophie might make you some homemade sausage rolls. They are amazing!!!!!! The weather was pretty bad, but knowing I had a warm and cosy place to head back to made it all worth while. This place is a real gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvercottage84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here whilst doing the coast path over a week and it was by far the best place we stayed, and in fact one of our top five B&Bs of all time (and we've stayed in quite a few). I couldn't fault a thing - Sophie's warm welcome with home made cake and tea on the terrace was so lovely, the cottage is tastefully decorated and comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and we even got a tour of the vegetable garden from Sophie before we left. We'd highly recommend this place and I'm sure we'll go back and stay sometime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Booked Silver Cottage after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and so pleased we did! All i can say is that Sophie is a truly lovely lady who runs a lovely B&B. The room was spotless as was the rest of the cottage. Arrived late but Sophie still provided tea and cake while we got ready for our night out! The breakfast was amazing, home made bread and jam, eggs from their chickens and great conversation. Her family is lovely and we will remember little Esme and Albert for a long time! We left after 2 nights with some hand picked sweet peas from the garden and a dozen eggs :-). We are already wondering when we can go back, I feel like I have made a new friend! Thanks Sophie xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKFleet_Hamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
2.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,755 reviews
4.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,197 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holmsleigh Bed & Breakfast Braunton
0.5 mi away
The George inn
The George inn
#10 of 40 in Braunton
125 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Wayfarer Inn
The Wayfarer Inn
#3 of 3 in Instow
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cottage

Property: Silver Cottage
Address: 14 Silver Street, Braunton EX33 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is a terrace of two grade two listed cottages, one of which is the guests' accomodation. Guests have their own private terrace and use of the secluded gardens. The accomodation comprises two double bedrooms with shared shower room, sitting room and kitchenette. Breakfast is served in a private dining room. There is ample secure storage for surf boards, bicycles and other holiday kit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Silver Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cottage Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing