We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! Beautiful cottage with everything you need”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Barns Cottage

Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Relax outdoors Enjoy the mod cons in the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Relax outdoors
Enjoy the mod cons in the kitchen
Welcome to Barns Cottage
Master bedroom with Castello natural stone bath
Sink into the sumptuous sofa
Chill out in the hot tub
Luxurious four poster bed
Clever triple bunks
Wetroom
Vaulted ceilings on top floor
Suspended Ergofocus fire with slate hearth
Surf art
View from the garden
Stone wendy house
Local wildlife on a walk nearby
The beach awaits you
Surfs up at Saunton
Local sea air rescue helicopter
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beckymQ89...
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wow! Beautiful cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are just nearing the end of our stay at Barns Cottage, and we are so sad to be leaving! We have had a fabulous week. It started wonderfully with a card and hamper filled with treats from Barbara the owner, and thoughtfulness like milk in the fridge on arrival. The house is beautifully finished and the garden is a delight, with a little trail including a tiny climbing tunnel for the littlies. If you have children it's perfect. It is a very short and scenic walk into the village where there is a small selection of shops, and a fantastic bakery. Staunton sands beach is a 10 minute drive, there are cinemas and the larger town Barnstable with 20 minutes. We haven't had perfect weather so the jacuzzi has been very useful the boys have loved playing table tennis. The house also has a lovely selection of toys but my children a bit too old for them now.

We can't wait to come back again

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you so much for your glowing review :). So lovely to hear how much you and your family enjoyed the house and everything it has to offer! It was a shame you didn't have perfect weather but the fact that you still want to come back means you have got the 'Barns Cottage bug' and we'd be delighted to have you come and stay again. Next time hopefully the weather will be kinder and you'll be able to see more of the stunning beaches and coastal walks nearby!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a fab place”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just returned from this fantastic hide away.
Everything you could need. Outside area is fantastic.
Had an amazing time would recommend.
Thank you to the owner and housekeeper, everything spot on.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves so much, especially the fabulous outdoor facilities at the house. We will be happy to welcome you back for another visit in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture77...
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We went as 2 families, children's ages ranging from 2-8 and they loved it!
The hot tub was amazing to chill away those beach fun filled days and location is fab and near to everything.
We will definitely be going back, Barns cottage we love you :) x

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thanks for your super positive review. The hot tub really does compliment an amazing day at the beach. So glad you all enjoyed it and that you want to come back. We can't wait to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karenbaxb...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just got back from a week at barns cottage, an amazing place with lots of thought gone into everything! Lovely and clean with everything you could need. lovely treasure hunt for the kids on arrival, lots of toys to entertain them, an amazing garden to explore and the hot tub!
Really pleased we chose this place for our stay, great location for beaches, tarka trail, and loads of great places in and around the area.

Would recommend to anyone

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Your review is very much appreciated and we're so glad you got to experience so many fun things during your stay, both in and out of the property. As you say, the house really is in the perfect location close to everything. Delighted you loved it as much as we do and would love to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G
1 review
“A fantastic modern space”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A really cool cottage that has been totally modernised with an awesome spacious and private deck. It's a great base for the area with lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. There is plenty of room for a family and its very safe for small children.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very private and spacious
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thanks for your fantastic review. So glad you enjoyed the great outdoor space and appreciated how close the house is to everything. We love the fact that it is very much a family-friendly house and would be delighted to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadenayya...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

our second stay at this fantastic place. This time we stayed with friends and their children. The kids absolutely loved the table tennis and outside area. Great little treasure hunt set up for the kids on arrival and nice welcome package. Such friendly owners who are very good with communication before and during the stay if needed. Great location with shops and restaurant just a short walk away. We will certainly be visiting again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We love welcoming repeat guests back and so nice that you brought another family with you this time. Our wonderful housekeeper really enjoyed organising the treasure hunt so she'll be delighted to hear that the kids had fun with it. As you've mentioned, the house really is so well located close to the village and everything it has to offer, plus the Tarka cycle path right on the doorstep. You and your family are always most welcome at Barns Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X4974PMli...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Contemporary coziness”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Brilliant barn conversion with fabulous airy living area and well equipped kitchen. We enjoyed the hot tub while sipping champagne and the use of the outdoor fire in the evening was a delight. Bedrooms all very comfortable which made for a great nights sleep. Braunton centre a few minutes stroll away with some good restaurants. Would recommend SQ, Siam, Riverside and Williams Arms. Would definitely return to Barns Cottage as it was exactly what we needed as a break from uni and work. An incredibly relaxing space in a beautiful area.

Date of stay: March 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed staying at Barns Cottage and appreciated the hot tub and outdoor fire and the comfy bedrooms. Braunton and the surrounding areas really do have so much to offer, so there will be plenty for you to experience when you hopefully come back and visit in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing