We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning property!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Barns Cottage

Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Relax outdoors Enjoy the mod cons in the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Relax outdoors
Enjoy the mod cons in the kitchen
Welcome to Barns Cottage
Master bedroom with Castello natural stone bath
Sink into the sumptuous sofa
Chill out in the hot tub
Luxurious four poster bed
Clever triple bunks
Wetroom
Vaulted ceilings on top floor
Suspended Ergofocus fire with slate hearth
Surf art
View from the garden
Stone wendy house
Local wildlife on a walk nearby
The beach awaits you
Surfs up at Saunton
Local sea air rescue helicopter
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jadenayya...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning property!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Currently staying at this beautiful cottage. It really has the wow factor from the minute you walk in! Very well thought out garden with a hot tub and table tennis. Well equipped kitchen and plenty of toys to keep the children entertained. A few minutes walking distance to braunton shops and restaurants. Lovely welcome pack and card from owners left on arrival.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
We're glad you loved your stay at Barns Cottage and made good use of the hot tub and table tennis. It really is nice and central and a lovely walk as you mentioned to the shops and restaurants along the Tarka Trail. You can also hire bikes and cycle for miles practically from the door of the house :) We're delighted that you've already booked to come back again in 2016!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen1962...
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Day visit to friends at Barn Cottage”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful & smart contemporary barn conversion with imaginative garden, totally fantastic place for kids. Hot tub, table tennis, climbing wall, playhouse, great for hide & seek & 40/40! Interior expensively refurbished with high quality fittings & very relaxing. Parking more than 1 vehicle an issue, would need to park a street away if more than 1 car, but a pretty walk!
Fabulous rental, and I'm told the owners are very friendly & accommodating - lovely welcome basket too.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
Hi, thanks so much for your complimentary review of Barns Cottage. It certainly is a great fun house, sometimes we find it quite hard to leave to go to the beach or on walks! As you mention, the garage can only accommodate one car but any other cars can be parked at the top of the lane about one minute's walk away. We're glad you loved it and hope to welcome you back one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty S
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What an amazing house. The kids absolutely loved the garden with the secret tunnel and the little stone house. The house was clean, cosy and very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your enthusiastic comments about your stay at Barns Cottage. So glad your young children took full advantage of the garden and all it has to offer. We'd love to welcome you back one day and hopefully next time you'll be able to stay for longer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you could want”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Want a fantastic home in a great location. Arrived to find everything we could hope to wish for in a holiday home. Made my own house look second rate. Weather wasn't always the best but it didn't ruin the holiday in the slightest. Would love to be able to give a bad review just so I could make sure I was able to book this place whenever I liked but that wouldn't be fair to Barbara who through e-mails and a lovely welcome letter made us feel very much at home. I hope we will be back soon I'm missing the place even on the drive home.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the really lovely review of your stay at Barns Cottage. It always gives us such pleasure to find other families who seem to enjoy the house and what it has to offer as much as we do. I know what you mean about missing the place; we always feel a little sad when we leave Braunton - it's such an easy place to relax in - and we can't wait to go back there! Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you and your family back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsonsfa...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC STAY AT BARNES COTTAGE IN BEAUTIFUL DEVON”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a fantastic holiday!
We have visited North Devon many times as we love the local beaches. However this is without doubt the most amazing place that we have stayed.
We travelled as a family of 6. Elder daughters 18 & 16 with younger children, a son 10 and daughter 8.
We had seen the pictures on Tripadvisor and read the reviews and were really looking forward to possibly our last family holiday together before our eldest daughter left for Uni and then holidays with friends.
The day of our long awaited holiday was upon us. We received final details from Barbara, put the postcode in the sat nav and were on our way!
We arrived at our destination after navigating a narrow street fearing we were lost following the sat nav, however no, we were here.
We were notified that parking may be a problem for our larger people carrier and that there was a shared drive with adjacent property and to be mindful of this.
We collected the keys as detailed by Barbara ushered the children inside and unloaded our bags, left the youngest children under the watch of our eldest and parked the car in a nearby residential close where there was plenty of parking.
We returned to find all the children excitedly saying how wonderful the place was and that it was like something out of cribs.
The youngest children enthused about their bunk bed room, whilst our eldest girls loved the double room on the ground floor. We were then up the stairs to the living area and wow, yes the place was amazing. However the best was yet to come.
We then went outside to the garden. What a fantastically thought out space. Totally secluded almost hidden thanks to the careful planning of the planting, with it's pathways leading to a wonderful little play house for the smaller children. Then there was the hot tub! Wow! whatever the weather always 37C, we loved it ! Either in the rain or under a beautiful star light evening, it was one of the highlights of our holiday.
There was a lovely welcome pack with local produce and fruit pastels on the kids beds which was a nice touch!
It was also lovely to see Barbara's families art and pictures around the cottage. It felt to us that we were invited guests within the family home, so personal.
Everything that you could ever need was there and the attention to detail made Barns Cottage such a fantastic place to stay. After a wonderful summer in 2013 , we had some typical Devon weather, not extensively wet but not wall to wall sunshine. But when you are staying in such a beautiful part of the country with the changeable weather and such amazing beaches nearby you can almost see out the initial rain, have a relaxing time in the hot tub, watch the skies clear then head for the local beaches at Saunton Sands and Croyde where we all had so much fun either body boarding in the surf or exploring the rock pools.
We thought the neighbors may have been a bit frosty at first especially with young children, but they were very friendly and even invited us around to look at the slow worms in their garden and gave us a DVD to watch that he had made of wildlife in his garden. It was a good watch!
As soon as we came home we reflected on one of our favorite holidays and decided that we will return for 2014. Thank-you Barbara & Perry!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling that we were invited guests within such a beautiful home
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2014
Many thanks for the lovely review of your stay at Barns Cottage, it is truly appreciated. It sounds like your whole family found something special to enjoy at the house; I'm glad the more grown up girls found it equally as exciting as the younger kids. And it's great to hear that you made good use of the hot tub and the outdoor area when the weather permitted. We are thrilled that you're coming to stay again in August 2014 and hopefully this time the sun will shine even more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“We felt completely at home !”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Dear Barbara,
We would like to thank you for the most wonderful family holiday we enjoyed in August staying at barns cottage. The children were in the hot tub within five minutes of arriving and they absolutely loved the bunk beds! Everything was so well thought out for a family stay from the range of toys and games to the open plan layout upstairs which suited us perfectly. We had great fun teaching the girls table tennis and finding lots of secret places in the garden. We discovered a beach called Barracane beach which served Thai food in the evenings during the summer. It's just at the end of Woolacoombe esplanade. We went twice! If the tide is out you can walk all the way round the cove to another beach below Watersmeet hotel which was wonderful for rock pooling and crabbing. You could wade through the rock pools as they just nestled in between the rock formations. All in all, we had a fantastic family holiday and can't wait to go again next year. Thank you so very much Barbara x
Claire

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Barns Cottage and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Very happy to hear that the girls loved the bunk room and spent so much time in the hot tub! It is really rewarding to hear that our guests appreciate our house as much as we do. It's also fantastic to be given recommendations of new places to visit; we can't wait to check out Barricane Beach and its cafe next time we are in Woolacombe. Looking forward to welcoming you all again next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorthingL...
worthing
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“barns cottage, brilliant !!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

my husband and myself left the world behind and spent a fab anniversary weekend here.
the house is lovely and fully equipped with everything you need for a great holiday in a very pleasant area.
the highlight of my weekend was sitting in the hot tub late at night with a glass of fizz watching the outdoor open fire crackle and smelling the woodsmoke..perfect Autumn evening.
thanks again to Barbara for making everything so easy and enjoyable.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving (and the bed was too firm for me but thats just personal preference)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm delighted that Barns Cottage provided the perfect setting to enjoy a relaxing wedding anniversary weekend. Hopefully we can welcome you again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing