We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay and still can't fault it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stockwell Lodge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 40 Braunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Third stay and still can't fault it!”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stockwell Lodge is a real find - we've been there three times now and each time have been treated to a really warm welcome, service where nothing is too much trouble, great food and an immaculate & comfortable room. We went with 2 other families and Nicky made the children feel really grown up by doing a breakfast table especially for them, with adults banished to another table (thanks Nicky!).
Can't recommend this place highly enough :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimpseyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
47
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

One of the few B&B in Braunton that take children.Lovely family room with ensuite. Comfortable beds. Great food. Hosts helped with getting wetsuits dry. Hosts were very friendly and hospitable. Plenty of parking. It is on a quiet road within 5 mins walking distance of the high street. This is a very convenient location for access to he Tarka trail and for Saunton sands beach with excellent child safe surfing. A very enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Just a few minutes from the SW Coast path (phone for directions- you can't easily see the road name) and close to pubs etc for an evening meal. There is a local pub serving really nice Thai food. Our room was big and very comfortable. Quiet location. Excellent breakfast. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stockwell Lodge is a beautiful, clean, cosy, friendly B&B located within walking distance of Braunton town centre (just a few minutes to be precise) The rooms are excellent and of a high standard and the owner, Nicky, really makes you feel welcome.

Breakfast is one of the best we've had at a B&B, lots of choice, good portion size and cooked to perfection.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Braunton, look no further!! Stockwell Lodge is the place to go.

10/10!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Me and my friend stayed here June 10th/11th as we were in the area for a forces reunion. All I can say about Stockwell lodge is that it is a brilliant place to stay, the room we had was spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable. Nicky was fantastic with us.On arrival she brought tea and coffee to our room with a generous portion of cake, this was well recieved after a 5 hour drive. The breakfast was fantastic everything cooked to perfection with plenty of fruit juice and tea to help ease our hangovers.. Braunton had changed a bit since the last time we were down (8 years ago) but for the better, the place seems to be buzzing. We both agreed that when we come down next we would try and book Stockwell lodge again as it was simply first class. We might even pop down with our families before that, it was that good. Thanks again Nicky. Vinny and Carl

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vinno59er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This was our first UK experience with a B & B type property, which was booked well in advance via e-mails. On arrival we were cheerfully greeted by Nicki, one of the best hosts I’ve met. After a brief explanation that we now require another room, for myself, Nicki graciously showed me the only room left, explaining that it was only a small single style without a private en-suite (these facilities were conveniently located right next door). Albeit small, the room was sufficient for an overnight stay, very clean and modern / recently refurbished with a small, flatscreen TV (inc. DVD player), a small vanity area (inc. sink) and all the basic necessities. The other room for my brother and his son was the pre-booked one which had a double and single bed, a private en-suite and other basics / necessities etc. and they both reckon the room was on par to mine, and they were impressed too. Everything went smooth and apart from a climb up a small staircase, we settled in really quickly. It was a fast, really friendly and welcoming check-in that impressed us all.

The whole property, both inside and out was very presentable, neat and had the overall appearance of a recent refurbishment (and was easy to find). Such a wonderful change from the hotels I’ve been staying in recently, and the hospitality and friendliness was genuine – in comparison, only offered by hotel employees that have been paid to do so as it’s their job.

The only small fault I experienced was with the shared bathroom. The shower-in-bath (not my favourite type) was poor and extremely difficult to get a comfortable temperature – scalding hot and then freezing cold etc.... However, upon mentioning this, Nicki stated that this was due for a refurbishment within the very near future and these faults rectified. If this is done, then the property would be near faultless with only more recommendation; either a shared fridge for guests to use, or individual small ones in each of the rooms. Some of us like to have a cold drink during the night. (NB: The majority of accommodations I’ve experienced in the UK do not have private fridges?????? which may be OK for the local tourists but weird for us foreigners.)

Breakfast in the morning was very, well presented and situated in the dining room on the ground floor. Greeted by a bowl of really nice fruit salad, selections of cereals and yoghurts, followed by an accompaniment of toast, preserves, juice, tea and coffee and a full cooked breakfast (with eggs cooked to your liking and style). It was all very tasty and the service was prompt.

Overall, it was an excellent stay with comfortable, clean, modern and quiet surroundings and a terrific host in which other hosts should take lessons from. (Nicki was even kind enough to offer to do my laundry when I enquired about a local Laundromat.) It is doubtful that I will return to this part of the world soon, but if I did I wouldn’t look for accommodation anywhere else and I would be disappointed if I missed out. Therefore, if you’re heading near Braunton, North Devon and seeking accommodation, definitely stay here...even go out of your way as it’s worth it, both in comfort and value for money.

Thanks so very much Nicki!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJEargasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while touring around North Devon.
Nicky made us very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, the room was clean and bright and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good and plenty of it.
It is only a short walk to the centre of Braunton where there are a number of reasonably priced restaurants.
Would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogangbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
2.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,757 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
800 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,200 reviews
5.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holmsleigh Bed & Breakfast Braunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockwell Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockwell Lodge Guest House

Property: Stockwell Lodge Guest House
Address: 66 South Street, Braunton EX33 2AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockwell Lodge is located in Braunton, close to the beaches of Saunton, Croyde, Putsborough & Woolacombe. We are very close to the Tarka Trail & the beautiful Braunton Burrows. You are assured of a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation & a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stockwell Lodge Guest House Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing