We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent setting with excellent facilities.”
Review of Saunton Sands Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saunton Sands Farm
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed this summer with our 3 children and had a fabulous time with friends and family. The grounds are beautiful along with the well equiped cottages and excellent facilities for children.
However, I will not be coming again. It is very expensive for a holiday home, where one feels constantly overlooked. There is little privacy, especially from the owners. I would much prefer a place where one is able to feel at ease and is not constantly worried about the noise level of the children. This complex is perhaps too peaceful for a group of adults with children looking for fun and laughter (and wine). No raucous behaviour here I'm afraid.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonIronman, Owner at Saunton Sands Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Siobhan had decided without speaking to us to invite a large number of local family and friends to the cottage complex to use our facilities and to have a party on the Sunday morning following the arrival on the Saturday. We found a large number of people who were not staying here monopolising the facilities preventing our paying guests from using them and drinking alcohol in our grounds and around the cottages at 11am in the morning. We could have made ourselves invisible and let them take over the site for the day. We did not believe it was fair to our other guests here however. There are a large number of holiday sites locally which cater for the party set - we are not one of those sites. We found Siobhan and her husband and very politely but firmly said that we were happy for the party to continue but quietly and not for the party to continue all day with large amount of alcohol being drunk in front of young children and the other guests. We could tell from Siobhan's reaction that this did not go down well. Siobhan may have not enjoyed us speaking to her but she had not told us about this party and we did express our regret at having to act in this way and we did not do it in front of her family and friends. We realised at all times that this risked incurring here ire and a negative review later but we had a duty to protect the quality of the holiday our other guests would enjoy that week and would do exactly the same again if confronted with this situation. We did not stop her family and friends coming on site that week and the younger members of her local family continued to use our facilities without charge. The other 2 families who came with the Meyers said that they would come again as did Mr Meyer. Ellie in particular made great efforts to make sure that the Meyers had a good holiday and got on very well with Mr Meyer and is very disappointed about some of the comments in this review which are not true in particular about noisy children lack of privacy and expense.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent a fab week at Willowfield Lake Cottages in early September this year. Although the weather was not particularly kind to us we managed to have a really lovely week with our two small children, aged 3.5 and 1.5. Stephen and Ella could not have been more welcoming and the whole site was exceptionally well maintained. There really is so much to do in the surrounding areas and the pool and indoor play room at the cottages were a godsend. The best part however has to be the private hot tub we had at our cottage (Swallow). It was extremely well maintained and our twice daily dips (whatever the weather!) were enjoyed by all! Our little ones also loved the goats and pigs, and helped Stephen and Ella to feed them on several occasions. Would definitely return :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth stay at Willowfield and have once again loved every moment. Stephen and Ella were perfect hosts and surprised us this time with the most welcome added addition of a Devon cream tea on arrival. The cottage was immaculate as always and very well equipped. We chose to stay in Magpie as it is close to the fort play area and the new trampoline so our little ones could play outside our cottage. The grounds are immaculate and we were lucky enough to be able to spend lots of time in them as the weather was kind. If the weather is not so good there is a lovely pool to play - we had trouble getting the children out of as they loved it so much particularly with toys and swimming equipment to play with. Also there is a large playroom which is very well equipped and has WiFi. Stephen and Ella kindly let us borrow fishing nets, buckets and spades for the beaches, and there are several very close by which are really lovely and perfect for children. We are very much are looking forward to our fifth visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MrsMilesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Another week in Wagtail cottage in August - our fifth time - every time I search for other seaside holiday accommodation for families with young children I find no where that compares - if you find comparable facilities it is twice the price. If you find somewhere else in this price bracket the facilities are not so good - so why go anywhere else? We loved our summer week so much we have booked for Oct half term and next Summer already. We are a fanily of two adults and three children (now age 7,6 and 4) so can now use Wagtail cottage or Kingfisher cottage as the second bedroom for the children has bunk beds plus a single bed (or a cot if you require). Its the extras that makes it so relaxing - cream tea in your cottage on arrival, BBQs, fishing rods, boogie boards to borrow, loads of soft white towels, cosy and comfortable with lovely beach themed cushions, the TV with DVD, the coffee cafetiere and well equipped kitchen (I make a Sunday roast for the whole family). The open spaces are well tended and safe, and the indoor spaces have so many toys, books, games you can leave all your extras behind. If its wet the pool is open 8am to 7pm every day and if its glorious the beaches are within a five minute drive (and you don't have to go through Braunton and get stuck in the traffic , its just through the lanes). If you need food (or booze) Tesco is less than a mile away (again down the lanes not through Braunton traffic). And now you have the extras of the animals - the two goats, the coony coony pigs, the chickens....I don't normally write reviews but if you have never been here and you need a family hoiday spot this is the one to choose.

Room Tip: If you have three children and two adults both Wagtail and Kingfisher are big enough for you as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have not long got back from a week's stay in Kingfisher cottage. The standard of this site is excellent, very clean and well equipped. Our children 9 and 4 really enjoyed the playroom and pool. Stephen and Ella made us very welcome and there was a cream tea waiting for us on our arrival. We have already booked to return next year - can't wait.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurtFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in Kingfisher for a week and had a lovely time. Saunton beach and woolecoombe beaches were both v good. Ella and Stephen did everything to make our family welcome, they provided bbqs kids fishingnets and boogie boards which saved us buying them as we only wanted them whilst on hol's. also really nice pool with lots of inflatables for you to borrow. Kids play room an excellent facility with comfy sofas for adults whilst the kids play. Will def be going back. Also forgot to say the washer/dryer was a godsend as didn't come home with bags of washing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustWantGoodValue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from our second wonderful family holiday at Saunton Sands Cottages - we have two girls aged 6 and 3. We stayed in Mallard cottage, which was very comfortable, well equipped and has a fantastic hot tub. The facilities are second to none, with a great play room, swimming pool, adventure playground and toddlers play area. Our girls especially enjoyed feeding the chickens and pygmy goats in the morning. The surrounding area of Braunton Burrows is simply stunning, and is great for walking, cycling or just chilling out on the beach at Saunton Sands. There is so much to do in the local area - as well as trips to the beach, we visited Exmoor Zoo (excellent - some really unusual animals), Clovelly, Dartington Crystal and cycled the Tarka Trail from Braunton to Instow. There are some great restaurants close at hand - 'At One' and 'The Riverside' in Braunton, and 'The Rock Inn' in Georgeham, Stephen and Ella are great hosts as always, and make you feel very welcome. All in all, it makes for a perfect location for a family holiday. We're already planning our visit for 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h_j_gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
845 reviews
3.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
24.1 mi away
Broomhill Manor Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Farm

Address: Sandy Lane | Braunton Burrows, Braunton EX33 2NX, England (Formerly Willowfield Lake Cottages)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Braunton
Price Range: $251 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 cottages with warm indoor pool and large hot tub set in the beautiful naturally tranquil surrounds of Braunton Burrows Nature Reserve, with miles of stunning golden sands and surf close by at Saunton and Croyde. A wonderful place to enjoy the glorious countryside on bike along the famous Tarka Trail or in endless walks across the unspoilt burrows and dunes that lead down to the sea at Saunton Sands. Some cottages have hot tubs or whirlpool baths to help you relax and unwind after a long day on the beach. Open all year long for long or short breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Farm Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing