We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Comfort Farm
Reviewed September 2, 2011

this was our second visit to Little Comfort Farm with our children aged 7 and 11. As soon as we had arrived the children ran off to play in the stream and run around the gardens.
Every morning they were up ready to feed the animals and collect eggs with Roger who never seems to tire of explaining how things grow and animals thrive on the farm.
Within hours of arriving we were totally relaxed. every day after feeding we were off to the beach and on our return the children met up with friends they had met staying on the farm and played out untill dark, then moving into the play room and using it as their evening hang out. Jacki left little tasks in the playroom for the children to complete and they especially enjoyed the treasure hunt round the farm. My son also enjoyed his time fishing in the lake.
The hospitality from Jacki and Roger is wonderfull and nothing is too much trouble. None of us wanted to leave at the end of our stay.
Hope to visit again soon for another fab holiday with not a computor or games machine in sight!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Little Comfort Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 86 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

Had a fabulous stay here in June. It is absolutely fantastic for kids. Our daughter is 3 months short of her 3rd birthday and had the most amazing time. She still talks non-stop about Farmer Roger and Jedward the lamb! Jackie and Roger, your hosts, go out of their way to make you feel at home. They are always doing so much for their guests, you forget they have a busy farm to run.

The morning feeding of the lambs, chickens and pigs, plus collecting the eggs, and then the tractor ride were such good fun. It was fabulous to see our daughter grow in confidence every day until by the end of the week she was running off down the lane with Roger and Ruby the dog to feed the lambs. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with young kids.

We stayed in the Granary which was perfectly fine for the 3of us for a week. However, if you're after Egyptian cotton sheets, wifi and a mini bar this probably isn't the place for you. it didn't matter, we had such good fun anyway.

make sure you give Jackie's home made meals a go.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbsbBucks_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Just got back from a fabulous sunny Easter weekend at Little Comfort Farm!! Visiting for the third consecutive year with my friends and recommend it to all!! With the various activities available on the farm (animal feeding, fishing,egg collecting, easter treasure hunts) there is never a dull moment and you needn't leave the farm (especially with Jackie'sdelicious home cooked meals available form the farm office)! With fabulous beaches on the door step we were also able to go body boarding off Woolacombe Beach - just the break I needed. Thanks again Jackie and Roger :-) Look forward to coming again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I have just returned from another fantastic trip to little comfort farm. Having had such a lovely time last year when i visited with some friends, we thought where better than to spend the long Easter weekend break, made that extra bit special by the glorious sun that we awoke to each morning. With the promise of lambs and piglets, we were not disappointed, meeting Roger each morning to help feed the lambs, see the piglets, and collect eggs. Roger's passion for organic produce is evident through his thorough knowledge of all aspects of farm life, and even our constant questions didn't seem to be a problem. As always, jackie provided such a warm welcome that we all felt instantly relaxed and homemade meals meant that we didn't need to think about cooking all week! The chocolate brownies and apple juice were my particular favourites!!! Away from the farm we enjoyed the opportunity to kayak along different beaches, weaving in and out of the headlands and bays, marvelling the amazing scenery! An early morning trip to the beach saw us catch some rather large waves providing a very enjoyable body boarding session (boards provided free of charge from little comfort... An added bonus!!!) nothing at little comfort is too much trouble and every time I go back there is always something different to see, whether it be the flowers blooming by the lake, the extension of the shop, the easter egg trail and buttercup the newest addition to pig family! one thing that stays the same is the warm welcome and friendly, relaxed atmosphere which for a few days, or even weeks allows you to escape the hustle and bustle of day to day life.... Already planning my next visit!! 

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The whole family had a fantastically fun filled yet relaxing time. My 6 year old daughter and I were up to meet the farmer every morning at 9am(not too early at all!!! :)) to help him with the old horse, the very young piglets and to collect the chickens eggs - not work at all, just a great real farm experience.
We fished in their well-stocked lake and the kids loved catching the 8 fish they caught and put back.
We went crabbing at Femington Quay (6 miles away), and visted the lovely villages of Ilfracombe, Woolacombe and Croyde for (depending on the venue) to play on the beach, run in the sand dunes or go for walks around the headland.....all of them had stunning scenery to enjoy.
The farm is lovely and well placed for all of the above, made better by the friendliness and helpfulness of the two owners. The meals that Jackie lovingly cooks from their own produce and then freezes for you to buy adn heat up in your cottage or also great.
We bumped into a family that were there for their 6th time, and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SABA218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We had an idyllically happy holiday at Little Comfort Farm. Roger and Jackie are both unbelievably gracious hosts, Jackie's cooking is great and a lifesaver, preventing you from endless hours of cooking even when on holiday, if you don't feel like it.. The surroundings are very beautiful and it the farm is close to numerous gorgeous beaches.

Our 2 little children (1 & 4) could not have had more fun..they loved feeding the pigs with apples, walking amongst the chickens, seeing the cows, playing next to the stream and on the big lawn. They also had lovely days out at Broomhill Restaurant and sculpture gardens (which uses meat supplied by LCF), Arlington Court (NT) on a costume day, and on the railway at Lynmouth/Lynton.

We wouldn't be able to say enough about the brilliant Roger, how interesting and knowledgeable he is. Fascinating for anyone who's interested in food, free range or organic food, biology or of course farming. It's only a matter of time, we think, before he is snapped up by Channel 4 or similar to make a programme - but we hope not as we want to keep him for ourselves! He and Jackie are also really good with little children and ours warmed to them immediately.

We just can't recommend this place highly enough and we will definitely be returning!

The Mountains

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myndd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

A really brilliant stay, tranquil location, amazing service and good value for money, what more do you need? Also had a lot of opportunities to experience farming and country life on the working farm. wonderful meals made with local produce and spacious accommodation with traditional log burners for that homely atmosphere. Loved the dog and the pony. Highly recommend to anyone and for any equestrian types, the Outovercott riding stables are well worth a look. Always plenty to do in the local area, whatever the weather.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neriafraartum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Braunton hotels
4.4 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Gallery Lodges
The Gallery Lodges
#12 of 18 in Braunton
9 reviews
4.7 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Incledon Farm
Incledon Farm
#10 of 18 in Braunton
11 reviews
4.9 mi away
Freshwell Camping
Freshwell Camping
#6 of 10 in Croyde
5 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holmsleigh Bed & Breakfast Braunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Comfort Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Comfort Farm

Address: Little Comfort Farm North Devon, Braunton EX33 2NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Braunton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm family welcome awaits you on our traditional Organic farm close to North Devon’s golden, sandy beaches. Five spacious cottages sleeping 2 to 29 in a lovely location. Help collect the eggs & feed the animals. Well-stocked coarse fishing lake, idyllic nature trail through stream meadows & ancient woodland. Dogs always very welcome. This is where great holiday memories are made! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Comfort Farm Braunton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing