We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable house great location, would go back...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vacation3...
1 review
“Comfortable house great location, would go back again.”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful countryside and beaches.a well equipped and comfortable house, with
Stunning views and walks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LightPack...
1 review
“The Beacon”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great spot as it was only a short walk to the beaches.
Lovely big kitchen with distant views of the sea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house, well equipped”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at the Beacon, there was plenty of room for our family of four and a set of grandparents. The house was really well equipped and comfortable, we all liked that the bedrooms were downstairs so we could see the sea from the comfort of the tasteful lounge. Fantastic location with access to beautiful beaches and lovely countryside. We loved the fact that we could walk through the fields to the beach.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdabinett
Merriott, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location to explore South Devon”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great property in a fantastic location. 10 minute safe walk to a beautiful sandy dog friendly beech and a short drive to Kingsbridge, Salcombe, Dartmouth and Plymouth.
The property has a nice sized enclosed garden which is perfect for dogs.
Highly recommended, we will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Thanks Stuart. So glad you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth O
Loxwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, fantastic property”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We absolutely loved our week in the Beacon. The property is well appointed and was roomy enough for a family of 5 (children 5,7 & 8). We spent the days out and about and the evenings walking from the cottage. Down to the sea was easy, across the field for great sunsets. The house has everything you need for a week away to cook in if that is what you want and is cosy enough for everything to cuddle up and play boardgames etc. We would go back in the Winter too however have to say that the log burner really does need to be functioning and this would then make the Beacon an absolute winner all year round. Patsy dealt with our reservation and was very helpful. We will return to this property in the future.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie A
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really lovely comfortable clean cosy cottage in fabulous location”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
5
people found this review helpful

We had a brilliant long Easter weekend @ The Beacon.. The upside down house is lovely with the views of Burgh Island and the beach.. House was very well equipped for our stay and very comfortably furnished.. Would recommend it..

Great places to eat close by. We had super meal @ The Royal Oak in Bigbury

The property agent was very friendly & is readily available to help, if necessary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall presentation of property in fab location
Liked least: Nothing..wish we could have stayed longer
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing