We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find!”
Review of Henley Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bigbury-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigbury-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our first stay at The Henley Hotel and we will be back. This is a small hotel set up above the estuary of the river Avon with wonderful views from the lounge and restaurant. There is a sense of period in this hotel with the Lloyd Loom furniture. There are plenty of books, binoculars, tea & coffee making facilities in bedroom with fresh milk, nice toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobes provided. Martin is a very accomplished chef and Petra is delightful on front of house.

Room Tip: Room 6 has lovely views over estuary and also toward Burgh Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Once again Petra, and Martin, have delivered exceptional accommodation, food and atmosphere.
This was our forth stay and still remains the best in the area. All other guests had stayed on numerous occasions, this in itself speaks volumes. Such a peaceful Oasis rounded off each evening by wonderful food cooked by Martin. I will be staying again and again. Thanks to you both.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views with binoculars supplied. Book in advance to avoid disappointment, you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a place to stay near the "Peninsular apartments" and just happened to find this place on the Internet. I did not check it out on T.A. before booking my stay, had I done so I would probably have checked in with a fixed idea of what I was about to get. Instead I was totally ignorant, and didn't even know where it was. Wow what a delightful surprise, what a find!

The Henley is a small hotel with fantastic views over to the beach at Bantham and side views to Burgh Island. The owners are delightful people, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotlessly clean. The towels and bath robes were thick and face cloths were provided. The toiletries in the bathroom were "duck Island" - 'orange and bergamot', a notch above the usual and better than most four star hotels. The bed was comfortable and the linen like my own at home.

The guest lounges were spacious with ample room to sit and chill reading one's paper or a book. There was Wi Fi connectivity but only in the dining room and one table at the back entrance. It didn't connect my iPad in the room. There were a couple of tables in the garden. The view from the lounge and garden was truly spectacular.

Breakfast was individually cooked and served, excellent. The sort of breakfast that I cherish, unlike the Americanised self service jobs where you serve yourself and have to cook your own toast and where gluttony abounds. I've seen hotel guests in the USA, and sadly the UK, pile their plates high with cooked food, from a self service station, and then go back 2 or 3 times, for similar massive platefuls. The breakfasts here were what a reasonable healthy person should eat, continental or full English delicious.

I didn't eat here for dinner, but another guest told me that dinners were very good. Being a small hotel, the owners need a day or two's notice to provide dinner.

The decor was individual to the Henley. In particular, the reception which, doubles up as a bar, and had a Germanic feel with an amazing reception desk, which was a large, carved Bavarian sideboard, with old tapestries on the wall behind.

I would recommend The Henley to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay that has old fashioned hospitality, a smiling welcome and who simply want a retreat where peace and quiet prevails.

I'm not surprised that all of the 40+ reviews on T.A. praise the Henley and that all rate them 5/5 or 4/5. It is the highest T.A. rated establishment that I have frequented.....deservedly so. Fabulous. I could not fault it

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had three nights dinner, bed and breakfast in August and were charmed by this unique family run hotel. Martyn and Petra do their absolute utmost to make you feel welcome and cared for. The hotel has an amazing cliff top location - you can sit and watch the sea for hours! Food is very fresh, creative and delicious, great wine list and fantastic breakfasts. Lots of lovely walking nearby. We especially loved the little pathway down to the very private beach and had some great swims despite the chilly water!
The Henley is ideal if you don't like corporate, faceless hotels and prefer a really excellent standard of personal service.
WE will be back!

Room Tip: We had room 6 which is double aspect facing Burgh Island to the south and the lovely estuary and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited the Henley and found a real gem of a hotel. ,mine hosts Martin and Petra were a wonderful couple who go out of their way to make their guests welcome with a complimentary pot of tea and cake on arrival, and nothing too much trouble. Martin is an excellent cook and i would recommend his evening meals. The views from the hotel are stunning, overlooking the mouth of the river Avon and the estuary. Plenty of visual entertainment with the wind surfers, canoeists and sea surfers. Rooms are clean and well maintained, and the many steep garden steps wind their way down through a beautiful garden to the beach below. Martin and Petra were known well and well respected by the locals we came I to contact with, including those on the nearby Burgh Island. This was a 5 and half hour drive from our home, but well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a larger room with more space to move about, and feels more like a suite. The views from h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormaCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We returned at the end of May for two nights at the wonderful Henley, following an absence of eight years. It left us wondering why on earth it had taken us so long! The best way to describe it is like staying as a very welcome guest in the home of a friend but at the same time, Petra and Martyn are very unobtrusive. We have decided that we do not like faceless, pretentious establishments and could easily now return time and time again. Martyn's outstanding food is still 'to die for' and we really enjoyed the steak and fresh fish. He keeps the choices small so that it is perfection at all times. The view must be one of the most outstanding in the country and the bedrooms share this view. They have been beautifully updated. We had our dog with us and he was made very welcome and we loved meeting little Marika and Caspar the labrador.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandmhlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotels with fantastic views are often tempted to skimp on the rest. Not at the Henley Hotel! The attention to detail is superb, from the heated towel rack, comfy chairs that actually have a reading light next to them, thoughtfully chosen array of books in the room, binoculars to enjoy the views close up, small jug of cold milk for tea or coffee in the morning, magnifying mirror for make-up, I could go on. The food alone is worth the stay. Perfectly prepared delicious meals with a focus on local ingredients where possible. The common rooms are charmingly decorated with lots of nooks and crannies where you can enjoy a cup of tea or glass of wine while you enjoy the view or one of the many many books and recent magazines piled around. The hosts Petra and Martyn are lovely - charming and friendly without being intrusive. The bottle of wine that we ordered was not cold enough, and rather than leave us wine-less for the 10 mins or so that it would take to chill it, Petra insisted that we have a glass of another white wine on the house while we waited. Bliss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallory b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bigbury-on-Sea
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
5.1 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
6.2 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.1 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henley Hotel

Property: Henley Hotel
Address: Folly Hill, Bigbury-on-Sea TQ7 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bigbury-on-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigbury-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Henley Hotel Bigbury-On-Sea, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing