We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service in the most tranquil of settings”
Review of Henley Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bigbury-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigbury-on-Sea
Dorking
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Personal service in the most tranquil of settings”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We returned to stay in this delightful hotel after several years and couldn't think why we had waited so long. The ambience, service, food and comfort offered at the Henley is first class. If you are looking for a peaceful break in beautiful surroundings then this is the place to stay. The food is perfectly prepared and clearly of the highest quality. We definitely will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room number 2 is worth the extra cost, it's double aspect including a sea view, and very spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chestfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have been to The Henley Hotel at Bigbury-on-Sea many times and each time it gets better. Martyn is a fantastic chef and his lovely wife, Petra works hard at making guests enjoy their stay. The bedrooms are beautiful and clean and all have fantastic views over the sea and River Avon. Couldn't ask for a better place to relax (once you have walked down the steps to the private beach you need to relax!) Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

After a very hectic and stressful summer, it was wonderful to return to the Henley Hotel and be enveloped in the warm, friendly atmosphere. Everything was as wonderful as ever. The rooms are comfortable and always spotelessly clean. The food was excellent - breakfast, sat watching the kite surfers in the estuary below is a real treat. Despite this being the end of October, we were lucky with some fine weather and walking on Bigbury beach blew the cobwebs away and ensured that we will be back again and again to this special place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our first return for over 15 years to Bigbury on sea having stayed at Burgh Island previously & we could not understand why we had left it so long. The Henley is a real gem of a place.
Beautiful interior, superb views, great walking from the front door & super food! What more can we say...the bedrooms were great with everything you want & some lovely touches.
Martyn is a very good chef, his food was excellent & full of flavour & Petra is very welcoming, both making you feel at home.
They run a very good hotel and it's not to be missed if you want a relaxing and enjoyable break in a beautiful part of the country. Thank you both!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed in the Henley for one night in early October. They were lovely people and very helpful. The room was clean, pretty and had an amazing view, which unfortunately I couldn't see much of due to low lying cloud!
The area is beautiful, and the weather actually made it really atmospheric.

The only negative was the drive down to bigbury on sea. It's a single track lane with passing places. I was fine, but I can imagine a nervous driver would find it a complete nightmare.

Would I stay here again? Most definitely. And I would recommend it to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtennanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Amazing views, wonderful food, great service and extremely well equipped bedrooms. The public rooms are charming too. If that wasnt enough, steps lead down, to what is for a great part of the day, a private beach. We sat on an almost deserted beach, cut off by the tide, smugly looking across to Bantham beach which was jam packed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mitty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Beautiful, clean, homely, friendly place. Perfect food, brilliant views of hills and the sea, lovely rooms, pleasent owners.
I will be back again and again..... Private beach also a big bonus. Wouldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILLAR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bigbury-on-Sea
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
571 reviews
6.2 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
6.1 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
840 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henley Hotel

Property: Henley Hotel
Address: Folly Hill, Bigbury-on-Sea TQ7 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bigbury-on-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigbury-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Henley Hotel Bigbury-On-Sea, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing