We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fabulous location!”
Review of Henley Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bigbury-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigbury-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, fabulous location!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed the hotel, the location, the room and the views. Nothing disappointed us and the breakfast was wonderful. We know the area well andnhave often stayed atnthe much more pricey Burgh Island Hotel but the Henley is highly recommended as a very comfortable( and significantly cheaper) alternative. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahcc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Having read Trip Advisor reviews we took the plunge and booked this hotel....we weren't disappointed. It is fully deserving of the excellent reviews it has had.
On arrival we received a very friendly welcome and were delighted with our room which had phenomenal views of the beach and estuary. It was very well appointed and clean, and the en suite facilites were of an excellent standard.
Following a great night's sleep, each morning we enjoyed a delicious full english breakfast which was superb and kept us going until dinner!!
Overall a fantastic hotel, full of character and charm, in a great location made for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matteleanor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stunning views from our room, welcoming owners who kindly upgraded us, lovely room, thickest and fluffiest towels I've ever had in a hotel - in short a hotel I would liked to have stayed longer. My only regret was that we had not pre-booked dinner, judging by the breakfast we missed out on a very good meal.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of very good hotels in beautiful locations but this is right up there with the best. The location is stunning and I could have easily sat and watched the changing sea all day.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. I would definitely recommend staying in for dinner, we ate very well and enjoyed every mouthful. I would struggle to find anything negative to say.
Go and visit you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L1ttlest_h0b0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We booked the Henley Hotel on a recommendation and it more than lived up to the wonderful reviews here. The setting is fantastic with views across the sands to Burgh Island and is quite mesmeric. Martyn and Petra, the owners, were warm and welcoming - and remained so for the four days of our stay. In fact Petra was an absolute delight (we hardly saw Martyn as he seemed to barely leave the kitchen), together with little 3-year old Marika who came and chatted to us before dinner. And as for the food - absolutely wonderful. We would say MasterChef - eat your heart out - top-notch ingredients, beautifully cooked and presented. We were recommended to book half-board and didn't regret it - there is nowhere else to eat locally and apart from not having to travel we couldn't have bettered our four dinners (not to mention breakfasts) and were content to stay in, relax in the drawing room with its supply of books and magazines or in our room with its blissfully comfortable bed and amenities. It didn't rain all the time and we even managed to sit in the pretty gardens mesmerised, as usual, by the view. This is a real find and unless you want high-tec gloss, spas and entertainment it can't be bettered. Certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms, we had room 6 with double-aspect views but all face the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south of 65N
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and had a wonderful time the welcome was warm, the rooms are comfortable and the food superb. It is possible at low tide to descend from the hotel to the beach but beware the path is steep and those not fleet of foot are advised to avoid this route. We very much hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbcpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Fantastic location, right on the edge of the cliff with a private access climb to the beach. It is on the main road into Bigbury-on-Sea but there is virtually no traffic at night.

Excellent food! Great wine! Very nice ambience in the dining room (ocean view) and the "drawing room" with lots of books. Only quibble: some of the other guests thought it was appropriate to converse by whispering to each other during dinner - which is kind of weird, but can hardly be blamed on the hotel.

I did not meet the host - except through his excellent cooking - but his German wife Petra was very charming and extremely helpful with tips regarding the area.

The room was small, but absolutely ok if you do not intend to spend a lot of time there. Perfect as a base for walks. Very clean.

Anything that was not perfect? Well, getting out of the parking area can be a tight squeeze, especially if you are used to having a parking aid in your regular car. Otherwise...it seems I once got the same napkin for breakfast as for dinner the night before, but hey...

Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bigbury-on-Sea
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
571 reviews
6.2 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
6.1 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
840 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henley Hotel

Property: Henley Hotel
Address: Folly Hill, Bigbury-on-Sea TQ7 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bigbury-on-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigbury-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Henley Hotel Bigbury-On-Sea, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing