We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkdean Challaborough Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bigbury-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean Challaborough Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just got back from the worst family holiday experience. Definately not 4* park, and definately wont be going back! Entertainment lacking in entertainment and very bitty, probably more suitable if you have kids under the age of 7 and want to have early nights, although dont expect to sleep if you have a caravan on the right hand side of the park as road noise makes it impossible to get a full nights sleep!
Dont go here if you have been to good quality holiday parks before, as you will be disappointed.
The beach, sea and Friar Tuck takeaway are the only good things about the place sadly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    57
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
85
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire. United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great location, great caravan, great staff, great entertainment.
We've visited this site before (6 years ago), We love the fact that you don't need to drive anywhere (but Salcombe, Kingsbridge etc. are a nice trip out if you want to), the beach is on your doorstep, and the local shop sells fresh baked baguettes as well as all the essentials! There are also good eating out options close by too.
As we have a dog it is great for us, as although Challaborough beach is not dog friendly (seasonal), only a short (but steep) walk away is the beach at Bigbury-on-Sea which has a dog friendly side (from the causeway round towards Challaborough, not the estuary side).
We were very happy with our 'dog friendly' caravan, it was in good condition and very clean, and although you couldn't park beside your caravan, the parking areas were close by.
We loved listening to the sea as we went to sleep!
Very good recycling facilities, so we were able to recycle, just as we do at home.
Our girls 5 and 7 had a great time taking part in the childrens day and evening clubs.
We all loved the indoor pool which is 1.2m to 1.4m deep (with a separate small 0.75m deep toddler pool) and family friendly changing rooms (not male / female).
There is a good size soft play area for the under 5's and an outdoor 'pirate ship' play area for the under 12's. We couldn't see any area for older children to play in (i.e. football) but with the sea / beach and indoor pool it's probably not needed.
There is no mobile phone signal at Challaborough (although there are several payphones) but there is Wifi if you want to stay 'connected'. However, being 'cut off' suited us just fine.
A bit dissapointed that the 'Sea Tractor' didn't seem to be running that much (at Bigbury-on-sea i.e. no timetable etc.) so we didn't get to have a ride on it.
We all were very sad to leave, the girls asked if we could stay for another week! My husband also said that if we were ever going to buy/site a holiday caravan anywhere, this would be the place.

Room Tip: N/A as caravan site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

On booking our holiday to Challaborough bay we decided to book the cottage. It seemed to be booked every year but we got in early and took our chances as there were no pictures on the Parkdean website or any reviews anywhere. Boy did we make a mistake. The so called cottages are more like cramped chalets. No where near enough room for 6 people as advertised and only 2 x 2 seater sofas.One of the bedrooms had only a poxy tiny window in the roof and the blind had been screwed shut so there was no natural light. My son slept with us for the week as it was such a horrible dingy room. The toilet broke and the maintenance guys were great but did take 3 days to fix it. The water in the shower kept changing from hot to cold and when uve got a 3 yr old to get showered its not good. Overall accomodation wise we were really dissapointed. We paid £600 for a week which after seeing the accomodation thought was terrible. The only good thing about the "cottage" was the view of the sea but this could only be seen from the kitchen window when you stood at the sink.
I thought the location, staff, entertainment and the rest of the holiday were great but be warned about the cottage. If you want comfort, space and water that keeps its temperature...........stay in a caravan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Arrived at Challaborough on a miserable wet Monday. Be warned do not follow your sat nav, it will lead you down Tidal road and as the name suggests it is flooded at high tide. Best stay to the A roads and follow the signs to Bigbury on Sea as the lanes are very narrow. The approach to the park is a long winding lane and I am so glad it wasn't the summer holidays.
We were met by very welcoming staff and the service was very prompt and informative.
We were located a caravan at the very back of the park on top of the hill which over looked the park and towards the sea which was great. The caravan itself was spotless and well equipped but the water pressure could of been better. Although it wasnt a central heated caravan the heaters certainly made the van cosy to say the least. One thing I would suggest to the park is look at who you are putting in the caravans, we were sandwiched between caravans with barking dogs (our van was no pets allowed). Would it not be better to locate these vans together.
As day 2 was pouring down we were looking for somewhere to go that was inside and disabled friendly. The park staff were well knowledgeable and so helpful.
We visited the aquarium at Plymouth which was excellent but pre book it saves queuing. Another must is Buckfast Abbey. A beautiful Abbey set in a beautiful location.
I can't really comment on the parks entertainment as we did not use them but what we did see of them they looked adequate. People raved about Fryer Tucks chip shop by the beach but £11 for 2 lots of fish and chips that were very small portions did not impress.
Overall if you want a lovely relaxing holiday in a beautiful quiet location Challaborough is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynxy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights at Challaborough Bay Holiday Park, as part of the Sun promotion, and we had a lovely time!

A few tricky roads getting to the bay but from what we'd read before we left, we were expecting this. Unfortunately we decided to trust tomtom a little too much, only to find ourselves stuck on very narrow tracks on several occasions. Its funny now we are looking back on it, but pretty daunting at the time!

After a very quick check in, we pulled up at our lovely 3 bed caravan with lots of space which was ideal (there was only me, my husband and little girl yet its amazing how much 'stuff' you have with a little one!). It was very well equipped - I agree with another comment that some instructions for using the heating would have been handy, but we found out how to use it in the end.

The swimming pool was great - we used it everyday. Lovely and warm, very quiet due to the week we went which was a bonus. My husband also used the gym every day and said it had some good equipment. The onsite shop was suitable for picking up any odd bits you'd forgotten - nice and friendly staff, opportunity to order in fresh bread/croissants which was a nice touch.

Lovely coastal walks nearby (the walk up the hill towards Burgh Island was ok for a buggy, I wouldnt recommend the walk up the hills on the opposite side). The beach at the bay was nice too. The restaurant over looked the sea and we had a nice meal here for a decent price. The chipshop on site was also good.

Lots of things to do in the local (ish) area... We went to the Aquarium and Dartmoor Zoo which were good. We didnt make it to Pennywell Farm but heard great things about it. There were lots of other things nearby too, but only so much we could do in 4 days!!

All in all, a lovely short break for us all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just come back from a short break at Challaborough. Caravan was very clean with everything you could wish for, although instructions for TV and heating could have been a bit clearer, we managed to work it out. I did not go into the swimming pool area so cannot comment but the other areas were clean and up to the normal standards of caravan parks. There was entertainment on for most nights, I would suggest they turn down the music though you cannot talk at all and hear each other. There was bingo for those who want it and a nightly cabaret, some people were a bit annoyed that children had to sit down during the cabaret but I welcomed it as it can be very distracting for the artists and audience alike when a child is running across the floor, also very dangerous with people walking through with glasses in their hands.

There is a downside to this holiday park that I didn't like. The access is via a very winding and narrow road, all in all it goes on for about 3 miles.. The location itself is not very close to anything so to see other areas you HAVE to travel out for about 45 minutes which is a bit of a trek across country lanes. Beware if using Sat Nav, it will take you across all the country lanes which are very narrow and although it is trying to take you the quick route because you can only travel at about 15-20 miles an hour it ends up longer. My advice is to take the main roads, although longer in miles it's quicker in the long run.

Would I visit Challaborough again, probably not because of the location.

Room Tip: Most of the caravans are away from the entertainment centre, we was not bothered at all b noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fineshine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Booked through a Sun holiday offer and was our first static caravan experience. 'van was fully equipped with good central heating and all the facilities we required. Beautiful views of a lovely bay with staff who were friendly and professional on contact.

We did not avail ourselves of the entertainment or the pool, so cannot comment on these. The on-site shop had very limited stock. Thankfully the surrounding villages (not a long drive away) have all we needed.

Good location, good value and a great place to be sure you are really not going to have your holiday intruded upon by real life and mobile phones.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pobbypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bigbury-on-Sea
6.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
24.0 mi away
Devon Valley Holiday Village
4.0 mi away
The Ivy Barn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean Challaborough Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean Challaborough Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean Challaborough Bay Holiday Park
Address: Challaborough Beach, Bigbury-on-Sea TQ7 4HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bigbury-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bigbury-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean Challaborough Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Also Known As:
Challaborough Bay Holiday Park Hotel Bigbury-On-Sea
Parkdean Challaborough Bay Holiday Park Bigbury-On-Sea, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing