We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday had by all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park

Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Devon's Secret Bay...Keep this to yourself but there's a speaceful holiday park, in a quiet corner of Devon, set right on the edge of a glorious, sheltered beach. It's a perfect coastal retreat with blue seas to paddle in, rugged paths to explore, tiny villages to discover and wonderful views across to historic Burgh Island. Even the name's a delight... Challaborogh Bay.* A quiet, friendly park by a secluded beach * Golden sands and a great surf school * Rugged walks along the South West Coastal Path * An Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty * Perfect base for exploring the heritage coastline
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great holiday had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Booked last minute as was going abroad but could not go due to personal reasons. Checked trip adviser as always do and a lot of positive feedback on challaborough bay. So decided to book 10 nights.
The drive down the narrow lanes was a bit tricky just like some roads in Cornwall. But thats how it is and who cares when you get to a destination as beautiful as this.
I was a bit worried as taking two teenage girls,14,13 was not sure if they would have enough to do. but by the end of the ten days they did not want to come home. They had surfing lessons and loved it ,aqua fit, swimming, walking, as well as lazy days some on the beach .
If you want a Blackpool holiday this is not the site for you, but if you like relaxing in beautiful surroundings good beaches then I highly recommend this site
From the start of our holiday to the minute we left staff were excellent. A lot of people we spoke to go year after year, and a lot of people own their own caravan .we like it that much we are going back later in the year thank you parkdean for one of the best holidays we have had

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    101
    46
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cheapie Weekend Away is a Hit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had stayed here in 2011 & had a great time although in poor weather so decided to book with our local paper this year for their £9.50 holidays, which for a party of 6 was £160. We love this place, although if you need to be constantly on the phone, don't come here, as most networks have no signal here! The Park has a friendly atmosphere, we remembered a lot of staff from our time before, which bodes well. Facilities are excellant on site, with a site shop & the nearest supermarket some 8 miles away (NB. 8 miles in the South Hams can easily take 30 mins) We are .considering purchasing a caravan here, so we can highly recommend it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic beaches in glorious weather.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had a fab week in gloriously hot weather.
Sandy/shingley beach right on the doorstep. Take the coastal path round to the gorgeous beach at Bigbury with toilets, showers and a great café.
Yes the lanes are narrow but don't be put off.
Used the indoor swimming pool twice. Facilities were family friendly and clean. Had an issue regarding Health & Safety after my 9 year old cut herself on a box that was placed in the pool to help the children climb onto the inflatable.
Evening entertainment was good; the usual children's entertainment with Sid & Lizzie, Bingo and then cabaret.
Have stayed at other Parkdean parks and have to say this is a relatively quiet park as the brochure states; may have struggled to keep our 5 and 9 year old amused had the weather not been so good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caggy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great weekend break on 12th July, booked it through the sun holiday offer paid £105 for the weekend, weather was boiling hot!!!
Caravan was lovely everything you could ask for.
We stayed in 25 Hilltop away at the end of the park but was nice and quiet and had a lovely view.
We visited Burgh Island a small costal walk from camp over cliff top, you can walk across to island in low tide or catch the water tractor if the water is in.
Water was crystal clear great for snorkelling, would definitely go back.
We took a 2hr evening river/costal cruise from Kingsbridge paid £10.50 well worth it beautiful view of Salcombe and coast, the weather was still warm even at 9pm when we got back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank holirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“PARKDEAN CHALLABOROUGH BAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in Caravan 43 which was ideally located for the beach, swimming pool and entertainment. What a lovely site, well maintained and clean. The caravan was spotless. The area was beautiful, the weather helped! Went swimming in the sea and walked over to Burgh Island. Don't be put off by reviews about the narrow lanes, ok some are narrow but take it easy and it will be ok. Not a lot of mobile signal, but 02 ok on swimming pool & near NISA shop. T Mobile ok on walk over to Burgh Island. And don't forget the Free Wifi at Costa!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimbogalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park also viewed

Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon
 

Been to Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing