We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heaven on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park

Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Devon's Secret Bay...Keep this to yourself but there's a speaceful holiday park, in a quiet corner of Devon, set right on the edge of a glorious, sheltered beach. It's a perfect coastal retreat with blue seas to paddle in, rugged paths to explore, tiny villages to discover and wonderful views across to historic Burgh Island. Even the name's a delight... Challaborogh Bay.* A quiet, friendly park by a secluded beach * Golden sands and a great surf school * Rugged walks along the South West Coastal Path * An Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty * Perfect base for exploring the heritage coastline
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

my family and i have been going to Challaborough now for around 9 years and every time we go we love it a little bit more if it is possible, the park is fabulous always been clean and tidy, the caravan i would say you get what you pay for we have been in the cheapest to the most expensive the cheapest had everything you need, the only down side at all was i found the cheaper vans can be a little damp at certain times of the year, but still very comfortable, the beach is lovely my children love the rock pools, at night the sunsets are the most beautiful thing i have ever seen it is very romantic, we spend each evening on the beach rock pooling or metal detecting then go to the take out the pizzas are amazing ,
if you dont want to be contacted by anyone and want to get away from it all challaborough is perfect it is away from everything perfect is what i say a real family atmosphere.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank sarah393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    101
    46
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Every year the standards drop!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

my dad has owned a caravan on this site for over 20 years and I have shared lots of fantastic holidays here. But have to say in the last 3 years the standards have drop by miles! The All stars are talentless and can niether sing or dance! Every year i come back to see the same talentless freaks doing the same acts badly. If you are goin to spend over 800 pound for a week stay please dont bother wasting your money here. NO MONEY is spent on the site and everywhere is tired and shabby!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank JadeLilly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday in a Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from a lovely week at Challaborough Bay, Caravan Park was small, neat and tidy - well kept.

Our Caravan was new this season, spotlessly clean - great location - not ideal for everyone...If you have mobility problems ask for a caravan on the flat area. There are only a few on 'hill top' but the view is worth the extra altitude.

We planned to self cater but had our Dinner for 3 days of our stay in the 'Waterfront Bar' as the food was that good. Really would recommend it.

Pools is in good condition and a good size. Attendees are vigilant and friendly, kindly provided toys for our two year old when he decided to have a paddy.

Roads to get to the site are not the easiest but if you take your time and dont get pressured by the odd idiot who thinks he is a rally driver you will be fine. One tip I would give is not to follow your sat nav from the A38, it will take you down some ridiculous roads - turn off the A38 for Modbury, go through Modbury and go into Bigbury that way.

Would book again tomorrow but this time for longer!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Fishycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

although difficult to drive to well worth because everyone you meet are friendly and helpful. the views are out of this world. child friendly, great for surfers. and even better no phone signal so total peace!!! the chef at waterfront is amazing. x

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank marie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, laid back holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Fantastic holiday!! Just arrived back from a week at Challaborough Bay and loved it!! The caravan was very clean and all the mod-cons were in there - including iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, hair dryer. The beach is amazing and the sea is very clear. We loved spending a lazy day at the beach but if you can, try out the coastal walks which are signposted either side of the beach. The left takes you to Burgh Island - again fantastic beach, whilst the right takes you up the cliff to see some breathtaking scenery. There are plenty of places to eat on site and they are reasonably priced - Friar Tucks was delicious - however if you do wish to go off site then Journey's End Inn is highly recommended. It's only a couple of miles away and the food and hospitality is great. We visited lots of attractions while we stayed here and would definitely recommend the Otter and Butterfly Sanctuary in Buckfastleigh. It's three days out in one which includes the Sanctuary, South Devon Steam Railway and Totnes Rare Breeds Farm - well worth a visit. Also Paignton is great for keeping the kids amused - keep a look out from the pier for the jelly fish in the sea. The only downside to this holiday was coming home.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park also viewed

Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon
 

Been to Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing