We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful setting”
Review of Bickleigh Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bickleigh Castle
Ranked #2 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful setting”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

When we arrived, we were greeted by a lovely and helpful young lady who was very informative. The room was stunning as is the setting. The room was beautifully furnished and clean. It was warm and just one of the best I've been in.
There is a lounge with TV and wi-fi and so luxurious.
There were 2 downsides The first was the breakfast. We ordered the cooked breakfast at a £5.00 extra cost and it was served on a small plate and was minimal although cooked nicely and the following day it was smaller. The continental breakfast would have been toast, jams, some fruit and cereal with a croissant later.
The second downside that when we were sitting in the lounge after breakfast, we could overhear staff quite clearly (mainly I believe a cook/chef) complaining about the owners/managers, which I thought was unprofessional and I would suggest putting a door instead of a curtain into the kitchen
But it was a lovely stay and we had a nice evening meal at the Trout

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lymetreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    79
    40
    20
    13
See reviews for
55
198
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived in darkness after a nightmare drive to be welcomed warmly and shown to a lovely room, warm and clean.The morning dawned bright with an amazing view of the castle and it's grounds. Breakfast was served in the conservatory on a nicely set table already occupied by another couple who recommended the Trout Inn for dinner and we were not disappointed great food friendly service good value. Even though we were the only people at breakfast the second morning the table was still beautifully laid and the staff attentive. A wonderful break in stunning surroundings yes we would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAREHAM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived to a plague of flies and after a "tailor of Gloucester" interlude I managed to get rid of them, but this was a disappointing start. The room was clean-ish but the sheets were absolutely pristine and the beds were really comfy. The next morning we were given a tour of the castle by the owner, whose passion and enthusiasm were evident. Breakfast would have benefited from using local produce rather than generic supermarket food. Evening meals - the Trout inn in Bickleigh was nice, the Fisherman's Cot less so. Tiverton is a culinary desert.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dongle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for two days in July (apologies for late review - been a hectic few months). When we booked we assumed that we would have a cottage to ourselves.....we were stunned on arrival to be shown to the second floor of a cottage with three bedrooms and one bathroom.....meaning that we could be walking out of our room in the morning and bumping into a complete stranger also on route to the shared bathroom. Not what you expect on a romantic getaway with your husband.This was not advertised at all and I was very disappointed. Luckily there were no other guests so we did, in the end, have the floor to ourselves.
The room itself was quite small and in need of a spring clean. The views were lovely however and the grounds very well kept. For breakfast you share one long table with all the other guests - not ideal - again, I like my privacy when going away with my husband. I had the continental breakfast which was ok and my other half had the cooked breakfast which was also ok - nothing to write home about. All in all it was a very average experience that could have been better. I do agree though that it would make a beautiful wedding venue which it is probably better suited to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bickleigh C, General Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thankyou for posting your review. The Castle accommodation is currently under renovation and we are including the addition of new en-suite bathrooms. Until they are completed we always try to give our guests their own bathroom so they do not have to share which is why you were given the top floor. I take on board your comments about the room being in need of a spring clean but we have endeavoured to keep the rooms up to standard during the building work. I am pleased you at least enjoyed the Castle which is what we are working hard to achieve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkella
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ve just had a lovely stay at Bickleigh Castle and I can't really fault it. It was our anniversary and what a romantic setting to have it in. From the moment you drive over the gated bridge the whole setting is idyllic to when the sun rises outside your window and you capture the view of the beautiful rolling landscape. We had a lovely stay, Bickleigh itself is a very pretty village with a choice of restaurants and pubs which we also made good use out of. All in all a very special stay at a very special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed Bickleigh as an anniversary treat and were thrilled. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the en suite shower bathroom obviously newly fitted, everything was very tastefully done. John gave us the tour which was interesting and informative and made our stay very special. We felt most welcome. I was inspired to draw the Castle and Chapel; - everywhere you look is a fresh delight and has all year around charm that goes beyond sunny weather. We could enjoy Bickleigh any time!

Room Tip: Room ten in the cottage is brilliant. (Being nosy we had a good look around and they all seemed ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

sarah dosnt seem to listen to visitors comments,the rooms are grubby ,even the bridle suite the mirrors and sink were dirty,there are mixups over ensuite bathrooms,when booking in you are told breakfast is £5 extra for cooked because they dont make a profit on voucher deals.The staff are very helpful.Staying here is a very different experence and it could be lovely if they could get ther act together

Room Tip: ask for ensuite but dosnt always work out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.1 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#1 of 4 in Bickleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Trout Inn
The Trout Inn
#3 of 4 in Bickleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
6.6 mi away
Muddifords Court Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bickleigh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bickleigh Castle

Property: Bickleigh Castle
Address: Bickleigh, Bickleigh EX16 8RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bickleigh Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bickleigh Castle Romance and History in Union.Situated on the Devon and Somerset border, in rolling countryside within its 30 acre Estate, it’s hard to believe it is just minutes away from Junction 27 and Tiverton Parkway train station.Bickleigh Castle is not only a gorgeous Devon wedding venue, it also caters for conferences and seminars and offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation throughout the year in its romantic buildings and traditional, thatched cottages.This fabulous wedding Castle also offers exclusive use for a get together with friends and family, birthday parties, private dining, anniversaries, retirement parties or reunions. Bickleigh Castle offers you the unique and magical experience of living with your guests in a 11th Century castle.Enter through the 17th Century, Italian wrought Iron Gates to discover the romantic and fascinating history that abounds in this magnificent 11th Century Castle and it's Estate, through which the River Exe also winds its way.Within the moated grounds, Bickleighs’ 6th Century Chapel stands today as it did all those years ago, probably the oldest building in the County and where, our married couples receive their blessing.This listed Grade One Castle exudes a rich and intimate atmosphere with its history echoed in its wonderful romantic heritage, regal Great Hall and elegant Tudor Bridal Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Bickleigh Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickleigh Castle Hotel Bickleigh
Bickleigh Castle Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing