We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than Worth its Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fisherman's Cot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherman's Cot
Ranked #2 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
Derby, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than Worth its Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fishermans cot for 3 nights on a short break offer for £53 a night and we were not disappointed!!! The location of the inn was superb-right on the rivers edge which although noisy was relaxing and provided a lovely view from our room window. The thatched inn itself was charming looking although some of the rooms in the extended buildings looked a tired externally.

We stayed in room 11 in the main inn which was a large, clean, modern room with a comfy bed and an equally as nice en-suite, however the nicest thing about the room for us were the original beams and sloping ceilings which are not so practical for tall people, but added charm that you just can't get in a standard city centre hotel/BB. The room had a flat screen TV with the usual channels, good hot drinks selection and free Wi-Fi , which was a welcome bonus. The breakfast was great-buffet style continental and freshly cooked to order hot breakfast-you just can't beat coffee and a croissant on the rivers edge on a sunny morning!!! The food at the pub was nice, but quite expensive so we tried the Trout pub up the road which was just as nice but cheaper!

The location of the inn is off the beaten track in a small village so a car is a must, but if you are after a relaxing base to explore from away from the hustle and bustle of town then this is the perfect place - Exeter, Tiverton and Exmoor etc are all within easy reach from the inn, so the best of both worlds!!! The craft centre across the river is also well worth a visit if only for coffee and homemade cake!!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and thought the price we paid for the accommodation, location and service was a real bargain - we will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grey_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    121
    53
    33
    20
See reviews for
72
155
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

What else is there to say, food good, free wifi yes free, fantastic location, go there you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

Having only eaten at the Fisherman's Cot once before (3 years ago) we decided to stay for a weekend, as Marston's Inns had advertised a special January deal of two nights for the price of one. What we got for £40 per night was great value.

We stayed in one of the lodges (#12) beside the pub building. Obviously recently redecorated internally, to a high standard. Comfotable and clean. Externally a bit tired but we loved the fact that we had our own patio area immediately outside, which led to the river behind. Perhaps the only down side to our room was that it was next to an air conditioning unit, so there was a continual low "humming" sound. However, this didn't prevent a restful sleep.

We ate in the pub. Evening meal menu had wide selection, with a few specials on the board, Good food but perhaps a little pricy compared to the the nearby Trout Inn 50 yards down the road. Breakfast (Buffet and/or full English) at the Fisherman's Cot was excellent and really set us up for the day.

The Fisherman's Cot is situated just outside the village of Bickleigh, beside the River Exe. Exeter is approximately 7 miles away (beware the high parking charges - we paid almost £7 and didn't even spend all day there!). Closer by is Bickleigh Mill - a craft centre/gift shop with bar and brasserie - and a pleasant walk to the village of Bickleigh itself.

Overall, a pleasant experience and we would stay again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The aircon unit next door!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

A very warm and comfortable night considering the december weather (cold), very good meals ,the breakfast was huge with a wide variety of tasty fare,the room was exellent with everything you could need for a comfortable stay ,i did not want to leave in the morning ,thanks.

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank spinnerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

My wife and I were on a "no reservations" car tour through England and happened upon the Fisherman's Cot by accident (or should I say almost an accident) as we crossed the 13th century (one lane) bridge mentioned in an earlier review. My wife thought the Fisherman's cot looked like a great place to stay (or at least to eat) so we turned around and went back. The front desk person was very friendly and set us up with a very nice corner room for around $90 US with a view of the bridge and the large brook/small river it crossed. With the window cracked open the sound of the water babbling over the rocks was very soothing at night. Everything in the room functioned properly. We planned on staying only one night but found the accomodations and restaurant so pleasant we ended staying over an additional night. There is really not a lot around the hotel, but if you just want to relax for a couple of days it is a great spot.

  • Liked — View, Restaurant
  • Disliked — Crossing the bridge!
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twatherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.6 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
9.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Cross
Waterloo Cross
#1 of 1 in Uffculme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trout Inn
The Trout Inn
#1 of 4 in Bickleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bickleigh Castle
Bickleigh Castle
#3 of 4 in Bickleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherman's Cot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherman's Cot

Property: The Fisherman's Cot
Address: Bickleigh EX16 8RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Fisherman's Cot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherman`s Cot Hotel Bickleigh
The Fisherman's Cot Bickleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing