We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lost brownie point for the sloop”
Review of The Sloop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sloop Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Bantham B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We have visited the Sloop Inn many times when in South Devon, Bantham beach being one of our favourite and our dogs! A Cold Monday in early November we were looking forward to Fish and Chips at the Sloop. We were very very disappointed. To our surprise it was cold, a blazing fire had met us on our previous visits. All four of us ordered fish and chips which took some time to arrive although we were not too bothered by this, thinking it gave us more time for our appetite to swell. All four meals were very disappointing. The fish was overcooked, the batter was infact burnt in places, two in our party ate the chips, two did not as they were not enticing to the palate to say the least. We asked for tartare sauce which didn't arrive, we asked the barman and he eventually brought it. We will try it once more, not on a Monday as we wonder if this was the problem, staff off etc. but we are sorry we have this bad experience in what was our favourite pub in South hams.

Stayed: October 2008
4  Thank Derbyshirepeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for The Sloop Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 225 of 225 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2008

Ok, I accept that the Sloop is essentially an Inn, a very old one at that, so I wasn't expecting amazing facilities. I did however pay £88 for a night's Bed and Breakfast so I expected something reasonably decent.

I stayed here for a wedding at a nearby hotel and this accommodation was suggested by the groom. Initially they refused to allow a booking for one night at the weekend, but gave in, as by the time it got to Friday they had not filled the room.

We arrived early in the morning and they were good about checking in before we should have done. The reception however was rather frosty on arrival. A lady serving breakfast gave us a rather displeased look and didn't say a word when we said we wanted to check in. Eventually a very friendly young lad showed us to our room.

The rooms are accessed through an unlocked door at the side of the building which has a door to what must be the owner's living accommodation. This area has a rather unpleasant scent of dog!

The room was exceptionally small and had been last decorated in about 1970. The bathroom was ok, but facilities limited. There was a TV mounted on the wall. The first problem was there seemed to be about 15 mosquitoes flying round! We got ourselves ready for the wedding but the hotel had no iron. Slightly infuriating as we'd been on the road for a couple of days. The shower was good but there was no phone (and no hope of mobile reception in the area). The room was also noisy, you could here other guest's TVs and such. It all felt a bit crammed in.

The hotel booked us a taxi to the wedding venue. The taxi arrived 25mins late and cost £15 for a journey of about a mile and a half.

We didn't spend any time from that point on other than a night's sleep and then breakfast. This was served by the rather rude woman from the morning before. She lived up to her previous performance offering only grunts to the guests. The most annoying thing was the total lack of acknowledgment on sitting down! She seemed like she really didn't want to be there and spoke as little as possible, avoiding eye contact. The breakfast was ok, usual fried English.

All in all I would say it was a bit disappointing. The location is fantastic and it could have been a great place to stay with a bit of an update and some friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank panholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We have just returned from a weekend at the excellent Sloop Inn at Bantham and it turned out to be everything we wanted: tranquility, wonderful food, friendly and charming staff. Yes, the room was small, with a tendency to leaning and creaking floors normal for a building that age, but that's part of the charm. It was however clean, comfortably furnished, with freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Our tiny bathrooms was clean and functional, with a view to the sea and there was always plenty of hot water.
What really made this place was the high standard of the food. A broad selection of fish dishes, plus a fair sprinkling of others so that there would be something you like, whatever mood you're in. Everything was delicious, but I would particularly recommend the scallops starter, the John Dory and the lemon sole. All of it with bowls of beautifully cooked vegetables and chips. And all very reasonably priced. Breakfast was pretty much whatever you liked - from cold to full cooked. True, they state that breakfast is from 9 - 9:30 (which sound a trifle rushed) but in reality, it was a lot more relaxed than that and we never felt rushed or under any pressure to finish.
A stone's throw from the beach and coastal paths, within easy reach of Salcombe and Dartmoor - I would recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank k4rin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

This was my most enjoyable holiday. It is set in beautiful rural surrounds just a stones throw from the beach. The services was immactulate all of the waitresses were beautiful, charming, friendly and welcoming. I would recommened it to my mother in law (and we all know how hard they are to please). Hope you all book and enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank timo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
630
Reviewed September 26, 2005

Accept the Sloop for what it is - a very old public house, serving excellent food in a great location. The drive down the single track road brings you to the Sloop Inn, check in at the bar and with luck your billet will be in the old Inn as opposed to the more recent accomodation block to the rear. The room is comfortable, decorated in the late 1970's , a comfy bed , a clean bathroom which could do with updating - do not expect a power shower! In fairness the room ( & I assume ours was the norm) although clean & functional could do with bringing into at least the 90's. But you don't come to the sloop for the room - down stairs in the bar you pitch up early with a decent bottle of reasonably priced wine & choose from the good menue of local food - a meal for two with a bottle of wine, coffee & sweet for around £40 is not bad - the bar could do with some 'softening' - no candles here bright lights ensure you see what you are eating. The beach is a minute walk away - & what a beach - this is what the sloop is about & although the place could dop with some TLC I would guess that you will book up again - the Sloop is something special - look beyond the decoration.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaktuskaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantham
0.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
628 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
166 reviews
5.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
404 reviews
4.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
790 reviews
5.2 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloop Inn

Address: Bantham TQ7 3AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bantham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bantham
Price Range: $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Sloop Hotel Bantham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing