We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab food”
Review of The Sloop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sloop Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Bantham B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2013

had a family meal good food cosy atmosphere lovely will return would recommend but make sure you book a table in the bar area would recommend this to any one and it is quite near the beach so nice for a meal after a walk on the beach

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 243 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We paid a £50 deposit during the winter for a sea view room on Saturday 4th May 2013. We were attending the wedding of my nephew at Modbury and Thurlstone. We had a confirming e-mail. When we arrived we were shown to a room in which it was hard to walk round the bed as it was so small and had views of the rooves of the rest of the property. The lady who showed us the room said that the bathroom was big. Hmmmm. When we queried her she said that none of the rooms had a sea view. Interesting as it had been a feature of their web site. We discussed trip advisor while having a cup of coffeee in the bar (knowing that they might hear us) and were offered the winter rate; £6 less. Later while we were having lunch they asked us to look at a different room and were shown a family room which was large and airy. While not having a sea view it was a huge improvement on the original cupboard and we were able to change for the wedding in comfort. The following mornig we realised that several other wedding guests were staying and asked them if they had a sea view and when they had booked. They did indeed have a sea view but had been told when they booked in March/April that they would have to stay for 2 nights. While I appreciate that money must be made when it can be, a contract is a contract and if we have taken a single room booking and subsequently get one for 4 people for the same day we would not dream of letting the original people down. It would have been very easy to contact us and discuss the situation when they realised that they had a combination of wedding and bank holiday and thus a chance to have a very good weekend. The thing that mostly upset us was the duplicity with which giving us a very substandard room was attempted. They had after all secured our booking with what we believe was a non-refundable deposit. So my fellow travellers watch out if you book here in advance for a deposit seems to mean different things to different people. I was surprised at the lengths they went to for £82. Having said that the room was clean and well decorated and the food was excellent. There was another oddity, breakfast was served during a half hour slot. I've never experienced this sort of herding in a BnB before. After all the agro we were then asked to pay the full rate again which, after the duplicity we felt was unreasonable and with very poor grace they deducted £6. It rather spoilt the weekend for us which was disappointing as we had had to give up £500 of business in our own BnB to attend the wedding and rarely get away.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get the room you booked they are not all the same. One is a very definitely a las...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyMcbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay, excellent accommodation and a big breakfast!
The food was superb and all the staff were excellent.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean.
Nothing seemed too much trouble
Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a very warm and friendly welcome when we arrivied and the room was very clean and comfortable.

The breakfast was very good, as was the evening meal!

The staff were very helpful especially with our 2 year old.

I would recommend it to anyone and will be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sion2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were recommended to stay here by friends and we were very glad that we did. Great pub food, friendly helpful staff in a wonderful location. The rooms we stayed in had a lovely view over the estuary. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb1977_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Here we go. Where do I start I ask myself? I have never had any reason to write a bad review before as I am usually pleased with the service I get from places I have stayed. But We have a few complaints about this one! Its small complaints and they would normally be forgotten but they all seem to add up to not recommending this beautiful pub in such a fantastic place.
It started when we booked it, we were told to ring back in 15 mins because they were busy. Maybe we should have taken that as a warning but gave them the benefit of the doubt.
Firstly we ate there on all 3 nights we stayed and the food was good (a bit expensive for pub prices) the staff need training in customer services skills and how to smile. Brown sauce was asked for a few times but didn't arrive. Peas were forgotten with the scampi and chips.
We were forgotten at breakfast one day and the table was laid out as we went through breakfast, we had to keep asking for things eg: cups and sugar. We asked for shredded wheat which was on the menu on the first morning. And by the third morning Weetabix as well as shredded wheat had run out.
The room was lovely with 3 windows on the top floor with fantastic views but there was a dreadful smell in the bathroom, the shower leaked on the floor in the bathroom we had to keep mopping it up. We were given some blue roll to do this with. The toilet brush was disgusting we discovered this when mopping the floor . Three light bulbs were not working. The welcome pack was found in the bottom drawer underneath the spare towels when leaving and checking we had not forgotten anything. We had to ask for more tea and coffee and even a toilet roll because the room is only serviced if the paper hanger is left on the door which we were not aware of until we read the hidden welcome pack.
As we waited to order our food at the bar we noticed another customer being charged for food that was served to another customer. Which when he complained it caused much huffing and puffing by staff. And much confusion a further indication of the complete ineptitude of the staff. It comes as no surprise therefore to find that the kitchen has only scored 1 out of 5 on the national food hygiene rating scheme. Check it out on the food standards agency's web site if you wish.

Room Tip: Room 5 has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place would be unacceptable for most travellers, especially at the cost. Not particulariy friendly, could have been cleaner, difficult one-way lane to get to, only show in town, average restaurant. However the breakfast was good. No reason to return.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms over the bar, they are so noisy you had better plan on staying awake until clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloop Inn

Address: Bantham TQ7 3AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bantham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bantham
Price Range: $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Sloop Hotel Bantham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing