We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Le Chene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband & l have stayed in various hotel's in guernsey and Le Chene is by far one of the best we have stayed in. On arrival you are greeted with a warm welcome, the room is large and comfortable. The food is excellent with a very good choice for breakfast and evening meals.
The hotel also has a swimming pool and has recently introduced a Sauna and hot tub.
The staff are also very friendly.
We have already booked our return visit later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerlechene, General Manager at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
thanks for your very kind review, it was a pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to welcome you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
74
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife found le Chene through the inttrnet on places that took dogs. Also a hotel that had a lounge and bar area. Le Chene came up trumps. We (2 adults in their 50's) booked a weeks holiday for mid July 2013. Upon arriving and being meet at reception by the owner who instantanly made us welcome our weeks stay has been perfect. We had a ground room bedroom that was spaious with a good ensuite. We eat in every evening for 2 very good reasons. One the food and menu provides a different choice every evening, and added to this the food was pleantiful and well prepared and tasty. Add to this the staff really made you feel welcome. The hotel has a well maintained pool , a good bar and lounge and a good restaurant. The location is good with the local bus right outside and then only 15 mins into St Peter Port. Also close to the airport but you would never know.

In all thanks to the staff etc, you made the break all the worth while. Well recommended. Ps they the staff made out goldern retriever very welcome.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked the Le Chene Hotel as the place that we stayed at in the centre of St Peter Port's last year prices had gone crazy, we read the reviews and figured this was a good place to stay.

We had an early flight and contacted the hotel to see if we could drop our cases in to them, we walked to the hotel from the airport and it only took about 10 mins, just turn left out of the airport and keep walking, it's on the main road, your find it in the end, we dropped our cases in and were asked if we'd like a breakfast, we said no and having the amazing breakfast the following day regretted saying no, as it's amazing.

We had a day in St Peter Port and then booked into the hotel, first impressions walking to the room were not good, the corridor to the room smelt very musty, but on arriving at the room we found a good sized room with a well kitted out bathroom, the room was cleaned well and the bed comfortable, with the window looking out on the swimming pool.

We popped out for a meal and wish we hadn't as the Deerhound Inn up the road was poor, on returning the hotel bar our mouths were watering at the meals that were being served, we eat at the Le Chene the following night, the service was outstanding and the meal was amazing, the chef even came out and had a chat with us.

We would stay here again, the rooms could do with a bit of modernising and the musty smell could do with sorting, other than that the hotel is a gem, good old fashioned customer service, great food and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tondoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business. Bed, bathroom and TV all shoe-horned into what could have been the broom cupboard in a previous life. Adequate for my needs but not if I was on holiday and expected a bit more from the hotel. Excellent food, great breakfast and good range on the evening menus at reasonable prices. So good for the money, no real complaints.

Room Tip: Spend the money on a double even if you are on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentheprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerlechene, Manager at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review and thank you for both your positive feedback and more critical feedback with regards the room size.
Our hotel has 2 single rooms and 2 economy double rooms which are marketed at a considerably lower rate than then the other 24 rooms. These rooms are indeed
quite compact which the price reflects. A single room in high season for instance is £ 57.50 per night whereby many hotels don't start offering accommodation for sole use below £ 90 in the summer months in Guernsey.
The majority of our rooms are more spacious which are the standard and superior rooms but are also priced accordingly.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while waiting to move into our self catering apartment. Our room we were told was slightly smaller than others and had a restricted view but this was reflected in the price. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room although small had everything we needed. The dinning room and bar were down stairs. The bar area was a bit old fashioned, however the dinning room was lovely. You could access the outdoor pool area through the conservatory. The pool area did not make an impact on me. Where this hotel excels is in the friendly welcome and service given by all staff. The food was terrific and varied, the set diner menu of four courses at £ 17.50 was the star buy and I would certainly recommend it. We actually returned just to have dinner there the following week. The table linen was perfectly white and crisp, and the food was presented beautifully. The temperature in the dinning room was a bit on the cool side so a shawl or cardigan would be a good idea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isobelm113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I travel to Guernsey regularly for business but this was my first stay at Le Chene Hotel. The hotel was the perfect location for my needs and my room was very tidy, clean and a good size. The staff were all very friendly and more than happy to give me advise on where to visit when i wanted to explore the island. I normally tend to eat out when traveling but this time i found myself eating in the hotel every night and the food was excellent. Will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelsOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerlechene, Manager at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, will tell the chef you've enjoyed his food.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future and are glad you appreciate the convenient location within walking distance of the airport and only 10 minutes from st. peter port
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay at Le Chene hotel. It was our first visit to the island and this hotel was within easy reach of the airport and the ferry terminal. We had a large bedroom which was comfortable, clean, and well decorated. The staff were all friendly and efficient, the dinners and breakfasts were excellent. These factors made our stay very pleasant and we would be happy to return. It was also great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaydeeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerlechene, Manager at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review we are glad you have enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you once again to Le Chene in the near future.
I will pass on the message with regards the friendly service to our staff team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#5 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Hotel

Property: Le Chene Hotel
Address: Forest Road, Torteval GY8 0AH
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Chene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chene Guernsey
Le Chene Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing