We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet short break”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our room was at the front of the hotel over looking the bay, the room was a good size and furnished well. We were there on a bed and breakfast board, and the breakfast was excellent and promptly served. The only negative about our stay was that the drinks were a bit pricey, after saying that we will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Any room over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 197 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

The problem with all these reviews is it is our personal perspective. I wanted to stay in an hotel and searched various hotels on Guernsey, before deciding on the Imperial mainly because of the view, but actually as far as I see it, the Imperial is a pub, serving the local community and I didn't want to stay in a pub and wouldn't have paid the price we did to do so.

I wouldn't go quite so far as the person who gave the July review, but I did agree with a lot of his comments. The room was large and clean, but that was basically it. We were given soaps on the bed each day, but for some reason the shower gels were piled up down the side of the toilet, may be in the hope we wouldn't use them?

I think the owners, who other people refer to as wonderful, were there, but they certainly never exchanged pleasantries with us, no 'have a nice stay', 'are you enjoying your stay?' or even 'we hope you had a nice time, do come again'! There was no conversation with the staff in the restaurant either. They were polite, but no warmth. Any variation of 'English Breakfast' caused confusion and there was no alternative.

The saving grace was the fillet steak, it was lovely, although the second time we asked for it, there wasn't any. It would have been really nice to move on to linen napkins in the evening, rather than paper ones! Also, luckily, we couldn't hear the karaoke in the bar!

We love Guernsey and hope to return, but sadly not to the Imperial.

Room Tip: I would only consider staying here with a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tussell2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I had a really enjoyable short break at the Imperial. The hotel location was ideal from our point of view - just about as far as you can get from St Peter Port. The bus stop was just across the road which meant for a pound each we could travel all over the island. Actually our travel was free because the hotel gave us a travel card with 18 journeys already prepaid. They also said that if it ran out, buy another £25 credit and they would refund us.

Our room (No. 4) was right at the front of the hotel overlooking Roquaine Bay and had been recently completely renovated as had the bathroom. It had a walk in shower with plenty of room to swing the proverbial cat. There was no bath but that didn't cause us any problems. One big difference from most of the chain hotels - we got clean towels every day.

Breakfast was always freshly cooked and offered a wide range. We had a half-board deal and the evening meals were excellent. Service was superb and left us with the feeling that all the staff had been well trained in the art of restaurant service.

If you are looking for a quiet time with excellent opportunities for walking, this is the hotel for you.

Although nothing to do with the hotel, be aware that taxi companies aren't too happy coming out from town as it means an unpaid journey of around 8 miles for them. We needed a taxi to get us to the airport on Sunday morning as the buses don't start until later. The hotel advised us to book one at least a week in advance (we did) but it was clear the driver wasn't too happy!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel give the best view of Roquaine Bay. Although we didn't see them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

3 nights in aug., superb position on the edge of the bay overlooking the beach,paid £240 excelent room,reception staff very friendly and helpful only gripe poor breakfast selection,no menus and miserable staff

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ja27swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This may be a 2 star Hotel, but what it lacks in style is more than made up for by the owners of the Hotel, who are fantastic hosts and accommodated our every need (including our dogs). The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and we will definetly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McConnell_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Island may only be 10 miles long but it takes half an hour to get here from town and its well worth it. I am not reviewing the hotel as I have not stayed here but what I have seen it looks nice enough. The location is superb overlooking the beautful bay from this stunning Victorian property which you can spot a distance off driving along the coast, however you could sample a few ales as the infamous 7a an 7 buses (just a quid anywhere) stop right outside, furthermore the other stunning west coast bays are just a short hop away, a great escape from the bustle of town.
The restaurant area overlooks the bay and I can say its probably the finest Sunday lunch in the Bailiwick, a choice of soup or generous cold buffet starter and a super carvery with a choice of meats cooked to all tastes, topped off with a super Yorkshire pud. If this is not enough then there are a range of tempting desserts. Make sure you book as the secret is out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel thanks to Sabrina and Gavin.
The food was excellent and the staff could not be more efficient.
We stayed in room 9 which was recently refurbished. It had a fantastic sea view and was luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerPCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
5.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
223 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
4.4 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Imperial Hotel Pleinmont, Torteval GY8 0PS
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range: $69 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivalled panoramic sea views ,safe sandy beaches with crystal clear waters , adjoining twenty miles of south coast cliff paths have made the Imperial Hotel a popular choice for over a 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torteval
Imperial Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing