We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Only, this time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food Only, this time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed at the Imperial in 1974. My parents and grandparents booked this hotel becuase of its reputation for good food. I went back with my family tonight on a nostalgia trip and 37 years on we were not disappointed. The quality of food was excellent, the value just the same and the service was good if a little slow, but then who's rushing we're on holiday! My only negative comment is about the decour. The hotel really needs a makeover, in fact it deserves one. It is in the best position on the Island, with the best view. The neon lights in the restaurant windows wold give anybody a headache and the mix of theme pub mast and sails made it feel like a poor copy of the Piractes of the Caribbean film set. Loose the tat and replace with a contempory design and you will take this good hotel and turn it into a great one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie70582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
28
84
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

On Friday evening the hotel restaurant was fairly busy and the food and menu looked promising, but unfortunately the food was poor. The mussels were overcooked and so salty I couldn't finish them. My husband's fish and chips were also not very good. To make it worse, the food was priced like Loch Fyne or somewhere upmarket so not budget food at budget prices. The staff (almost all workers from Eastern Europe) were very pleasant though and helped us arrange a taxi back to where we were staying.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torteval hotels

Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We did not stay at the Hotel, but lunched there twice in one week.
The food was delicious, the portions very generous , at a reasonable price and the view could not be beaten.
Word of warning you better be hungry, or you will not finish your meal, which would be a shame

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Old-Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Excellent value Guernsey dining destination: During our six nights on the island we stayed with friends who recommended the Imperial's 3 course, £12.50 dinner menu - and the views across the bay. We dined there twice betweeen 16 and 22 June 2011. Food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandkathbiscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

I took my wife and her sister for a week and we certainly enjoyed the food, too much really for us geriatrics but quality and presentation was great. The view from the dining table was outstanding. Bar meals shared the same menu. The public bar was lively and that's where the locals gathered. Our rooms were newly decorated - my sister in law had the sea view and enjoyed a wonderful sunset which we missed as our room faced inland. I would ask for a room on the first floor next time - we felt our age after a day out exploring and climbing back to our 2nd floor rooms.
Location is great for walkers or for the kids on the beach. A short walk at sunset was rewarded with glorious sunsets most nights. We hired a car and 'did' the sights, including Herm - no ditsnces involved of course, just narrow roads and lanes. I have left a short video on youtube to give a flavour of this lovely island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolverhamptonVideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were made to feel so welcome by Sabrina and the hotel staff. The Imperial is in a great spot if you like good old-fashioned peace and relaxation, with views and service you can't fault. It was a perfect base for us and the dogs, who loved running on the beach right outside. The bus stops right outside and goes direct to town and the airport. OK, the place is a bit tired, but you get past that very quickly with the friendliness and helpfulness of the front of house staff. Oh, and great food too! What lovely people!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manaboutadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

Excellent location and room 9 is the place to stay. Very welcoming staff and superb food especially the evening meal - almost 5 star food and service. Would definitely return and very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
4.9 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Chene Hotel
Le Chene Hotel
#1 of 2 in Torteval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
5.7 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#5 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Imperial Hotel Pleinmont, Torteval GY8 0PS
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torteval
Imperial Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing