We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a top spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Ranked #10 of 123 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Always a top spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a relaxed but very efficient restaurant overlooking the harbour. Seafood is a speciality and is always good. Service is smart and the food is tasty and well presented. The menu is wide, from simple but good sandwiches to fresh crab and lobster and there is a good range of drinks including decent wine by the glass and draught beers. In winter there is a log-buring stove on the go and in summer the doors are opened with additional tables on the terrace. Very good value indeed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    327
    103
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good harbour location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This appears to be one of the more relaxed restaurants in Saint Peter Port, but its location on the harbour quay makes it one of the most scenic too. We visited as part of a "Tasty Walks" tour so we were in a large group of 20; the food seemed slightly simpler than we'd tasted elsewhere in St Peter Port, but it was still very good. Desert range is rather limited though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

to have a coffee or dine out alone or with friends. I like that they also open for special orders. Relaxed atmosphere. The quality is good. They have mostly young people serving who try to do their best and you can partly watch what kitchen is preparing.
In summer you can sit outside and smell the harbor, in winter the decorate the place as a ski lodge with an open fire place and you can watch stunning videos of extreme winter sport actions too.
If you travel alone you will feel home.
Mixed audience from young to old.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADAM J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Night Out Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went the above restaurant Saturday 23rd March, have been before food great as usual I had the scallops with cauliflower puree and curry infused oil it was delicious although a little over seasoned. For my main I had the pork dish of slow braised belly of pork with delicious crackling and a jus the only thing lacking was some additional veg to break up the overall porkiness. But all in all a great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JLC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“the crab was nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

we enjoyed our fresh crab in this place and we thought it was very good (although it was our first and so far last try). The place was packed with people and to us it was an indication of it's popularity at the island.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DenisD600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing