We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fermain Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent Christmas at the Fermain. Fantastic. Nice atmosphere. Very comfortable and cosy.

Great hotel in Beautiful surroundings. Great views from our sea facing room. Food was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and Robert the Manager is an absolute character.

Hotel is a walk away from St. Peter Port so very convenient.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Peter G
Thank you so much for your review
I am always pleased to read reiews from guests who like yourself return for more than 1 visit.
I am pleased to read that the atmosphere was good and that we are so well placed!
look forward to catching up next time you are over in Guernsey
Best wishes for 2014

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    142
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
109
415
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Our second Christmas here and even better than last year. Robert and his staff could not have done more to help us relax. On arrival we were picked up from the airport by the hotel minibus and we were returned to the airport in the same vehicle at the end of the holiday. Our whole experience was hassle free we were treated as valued guests and all our requests were dealt with promptly and with a smile. We know from other visits that the service we received is the same high standard throughout the year. This hotel should be high on your list of places to stay in Guernsey. Last year we were in a gold room, this year it was platinum really worth the extra for the more spacious room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Hampshire 166

how lovely that you enjoyed this Christmas even more that last year!
I was pleased with the way the whole event came together and the weather helped us too !
you are valued guests and I do look forward to seeing you over again at any time of the year and I agree the platinum rooms are really lovely
best regards for 2014

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at Fermain Valley over the Christmas period and have nothing but praise. The rooms are excellent and spacious with lots of little touches - decanter of sherry, fresh fruit, bath robes and slippers and tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts are substantial with a wide choice. The public rooms are tastefully furnished. Games and free computer access are provided. The view from the hotel are stunning. Hotels are often made or broken by the staff and the Fermain is very lucky in having an excellent staff whose one aim seems to be to make sure that guests are well looked after and treated as friends. If visiting Guernsey this hotel should be your No 1 choice.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the front - they have a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Keith M

Thank you for posting your review I am pleased to read that you have nothing but praise for your stay
all the little extras we provide are well accepted and enjoyed. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfasts and all teh facilities we offer.
I was even more delighted to read that you found my staff to be excellent and our aim is certainly to make our guests fee comfortable and well looked after.
Please do come and visit us again and we shall remain your no 1 choice

best wishes for a happy 2014

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was only here over night and only saw it in the dark but it was a great hotel with nice staff. its location was on a hillside and again, bearing in mind it was dark, it looked to be a great location with great views.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear neil R

You must come back and see us in the day time we are even nicer than at night when the sunshines and my guests can enjoy the views over the valley and sea beyond it is just lovely!
nezt time you are in Guernsey do please come and see us again.
with very best wishes for 2014


Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I regularly visit Guernsey and have stayed in a range of different hotels. I found the Fermain Valley Hotel gold room very comfortable, clean with good facilities. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was very good. The hotel is in a great spot just out of town with wonderful views from the rooms at the front.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Adam B
I seem to have sent the wrong response to the previous review!
I was pleased to read that you are a regular visitor to Guernsey and that we are now on your list of places to stay. I was pleased that you found my staff helpful and enjoyed a good breakfast
The great thing about being out of town is that our guests can really relax after a busy day at work and sit on teh balcony to enjoy a glass of chilled wine!
come and see us again soon,

Best wishes for 2014

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at the Fermain Valley for a long weekend to celebrate a friends wedding. The hotel and its staff made us very welcome indeed. The room was lovely and very spacious, with everything we could have wanted in terms of little luxuries, etc. the breakfasts were brilliant and very well cooked no matter what you wanted from the hot menu. We ate one evening in the 'Rock Bar' and had a super Chateaubriand which was beautifully cooked and presented. The front desk were very helpful and organised transportation in their minibus to drop us off and pick us up in town at no cost. They also ran us up to the airport as well in time for our plane back to the UK.

Room Tip: Always go for the Platinum Rooms they are much bigger for only a slight increase in cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Adam B
Thank you for your recent trip Adviser
I am pleased that you found our gold rooms of a good standard and that you like the fact that we are out of town.. When you finish work, you can really relax with us
Come back soon, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a lovely hotel!!
I am local to the island but had never stayed over night before (just eaten at the Restaurants, which had always been good!)
On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and told us all about the hotel before personally showing us to our room.
The room itself was lovely, with beautiful decor and a balcony that over looked the woods and out to sea. It was a very clear day so we could see the neighbouring island of Jersey.
The room was clean and well equipped and even had complimentary Sherry, water, and a great selections of teas and coffees along with free Wifi which you don't often find in hotels these days!!
We used the swimming pool and ate in the main restaurant before having cocktails in The Rock Garden which is another place to eat in the hotel.
I would highly recommend the Fermain whether is a short break or holiday - great staff, great food - great place to stay.

Room Tip: We went for the Silver Room in the main hotel. Lovely room and perfect size for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirlinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Islandgirlinlondon,
Thank you very much for your kind words. I have passed your comments on to our staff who were all most pleased, especially our reception team.
I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the little extras we provided in your room, it is always our aim to ensure all of our guests have the most enjoyable and comfortable stay possible.
It is lovely to hear that you qwould recommend us to family and friends, we would love to welcome them or indeed welcome you back for another stay in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing