We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fermain Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bella Luce(St Martin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pandora Hotel(St Peter Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel(St Martin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jerbourg(St Martin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ziggurat(St Peter Port)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveler rating
526
157
60
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
157
60
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock gardenocean restaurantgold roomdecanter of sherryflight pathprivate cinemathe main hotelbeach cafetea roomthe clifflovely hotelcourtesy busfresh fruitsea viewfour star hotellovely touchlovely view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 771 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a family room with our 3 year old son. The room was very large and clean and the hotel made lots of effort with little extras in the room. The staff were extremely friendly even with our over excited noisy 3 year old son. The price was expensive but I feel it was worth the price we paid. My only criticism is the room we stayed in was over the venue where a family wedding took place and when I took my son to bed early you could hear the music. This did not seem to disturb him though. The pool was brilliant and very warm which was ideal for our family. We will definitely come back to guernsay again amd when we do we will stay at this hotel again,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Jo H,
Thank you for leaving your feedback. It was great to have you with us and my staff enjoyed looking after our young guest. The Venue is often used for wedding celebrations and though we try to keep the noise from the celebrations to a minimum, I am glad that at least your son was not disturbed. I’m very pleased to hear that you all enjoyed the pool and the little extras we included in your room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fermain Valley Hotel.
Best regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, staff went out of their way to make us welcome, they were friendly & very professional. The room was ideal and well appointed, lovely view over the trees to the sea. Food was plentiful and excellent quality. We had a great time & if we ever revisit Guernsey we will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFGM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear KFGM2013,
How rewarding and lovely to read your recent review on Trip adviser, thank you. I was so pleased that my staff went out of their way for you, were friendly and professional and that you found you room well appointed. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed the food on offer and that you will return to the Fermain Valley Hotel, it will be a pleasure to have you back with us.
With thanks
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just spent four nights at this hotel and having read other reviews we find it hard to believe we were staying at the same place!! We booked through an agent on a "special deal" and can only assume that this was why, in a hotel known for its wonderful location and views, we found ourselves overlooking the car park and the dustbins and the terrace of a very noisy bar! To be fair to the hotel it wasn't their fault that the agent had given us no clue as to the type of room we would be getting, but it was a very disappointing start especially as we had wanted to go to this hotel for years and had booked it for a special occasion (both our birthdays). Our visit coincided with a heatwave which was unfortunate because our room faced due west and was incredibly hot by the time we went to bed and we weren't able to open our windows properly. As they opened inwards the curtains prevented them opening properly, and we couldn't draw back the curtains because anybody in the car park had a wonderful view straight into our room! We asked if we could pay for an upgrade, but were told the hotel was fully booked, so we had no choice but to put up with it. Our helpful chambermaid managed to get hold of a couple of fans for us which helped a bit, and also suggested replacing the duvet with a sheet. Quite apart from this we really do query the 4 star rating of this hotel. OK, we were obviously in one of the worst rooms, but surely 4 stars should extend to all the rooms, not just the highest category ones. We had a number of stains on the carpet, a very unpleasant stain on the fabric of the headboard right where your head would be and a nasty stain on the mattress cover which could be seen through the sheet. We complained to reception and did get the mattress cover changed, but there was nothing that could be done about the headboard so we improvised by pinning a towel over it! Why do hotels have fabric headboards? Surely it makes much more sense to have a surface that can be cleaned easily or is that too obvious? In spite of other reviews, we have to say we were less than impressed with the breakfast buffet. We've had more choice at Premier Inns!!! The toast mostly came faintly browned on one side and "raw" on the other and when we asked for better toast it came so burnt it was inedible. We rather gave up at this point so failed to complain about the tablecloth covered in crumbs and tea stains from the previous occupant at that table! This is not what we would expect from a 4 star rating. We were also less than impressed that when discussing with the hotel receptionist the best way to travel into St Peters Port no mention was made of the hotel's courtesy bus - we only found out about it by reading earlier reviews! Admittedly it is mentioned in the folder in the room, but how many people read right through that when they arrive? Having discovered this service was available we found it very useful and on the occasion when having gone into the town the courtesy bus was not available to take us back one of the hotel staff (the manager?) came down in his own car to collect us for which we were very grateful. Also credit where credit's due - we had a lovely bathroom with a super shower and nice toiletries (if you don't mind your shower gel smelling like toothpaste!). Unfortunately the few good points are not enough to compensate for the bad points and we certainly would not go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: This is not a cheap hotel, but if you really don't mind paying then make sure you get one of the top category rooms with a nice view because there really isn't any point in staying at this hotel unless you've got the view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Gay B

I read with interest your recent review on Trip Adviser and note that the travel company with whom you booked had not fully informed you of the type of room you were staying in. I can only apologise for this issue, however we are currently working with the agency in question and will ensure that their descriptions of our rooms are clearer.

There are issues which concern me about the cleanliness of the room, please let me assure you that I have taken a personal interest in this and the issues have now been resolved.
We have regular inspections to ensure that all the rooms fit the 4 star category and I am sorry that you felt we did not. We have also taken on board your comments about breakfast and are reviewing our current practises. I was surprised to read that you were not advised about our courtesy bus and yes it was I who came to pick you up at a moments notice when the bus was being used to take guests to the airport, so that you did not have to wait. Should you wish to revisit Guernsey I am sure that we can provide you with a super few days and I will take a personal interest in your stay at Fermain Valley Hotel. Please contact me directly.

Best regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

we are regular tourists we found this hotel not to a standard expected although the room was clean,size of room small. the menu was limited and over priced. we asked for sea view but the trees stopped the sea view . breakfast was plentyful BUT table linen was dirty. some staff were not very organized

Room Tip: if you are looking for a beach holiday i not recommend this hotel. all looks very nice one the web page But the camera can lie
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Jackie T
Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser. I was sorry to read that you did not find the standard of the hotel to your expectations. We are very proud to offer all guests exceptional service through our friendly staff, personal touches and overall hotel experience and it is disappointing to hear that you did not find this.
I hope that this experience will not deter you from staying at our hotel again and if you wish to contact me directly the next time you are thinking of travelling to Guernsey, I will be happy to arrange your stay at the Fermain Valley Hotel.
With best regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel has a wonderful situation with outstanding views; it is handy for St Peter Port while quite apart from the hustle and bustle. Overall appreciated the attention to detail of the establishment. The bedroom was well appointed, had lovely decor and a great outlook. The breakfast menu had a good variety to choose from. Dinner had a compact menu which revolved around central ingredients that were enlivened by the accompanying ingredients - very tasty. The gardens are an item in themselves and demand to be appreciated. The pool was enjoyed; an excellent alternative to bathing off Fermain beach which is stony and the water is cold!! The staff were friendly and efficient.
Anyone with concerns about their mobility should be aware of the setting on a steep gradient so would be confined to the hotel.
Minor negatives were: the confined range of tv channels with the BBC regional news from London which undermines the Channel Island experience; the lack of free wifi; coffee at breakfast not being serve yourself - unlike the fruit juice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60Alan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear 60Alan21,
Thank you for feedback on your stay at Fermain Valley Hotel. I am pleased that you like our wonderful location, breakfast and dinner menus, the pool and that you appreciate the attention to detail we always try to offer. Thank you for your comments about our award-winning garden, it is in excellent condition this year.
We do provide free WiFi, I will ask our maintenance team to look into this issue to ensure that we have good coverage throughout the hotel. Thank you for your feedback regarding coffee at breakfast, we do consider all suggestions given on Trip Advisor and implement them where possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fermain Valley Hotel in the near future.
With best regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews