We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just returned from a short three day stay.
The hotel was just as we expected, the rooms were lovely, with free water, fruit and sherry in the room.
The food was excellent and presented lovely.
Both female receptionists were very polite and helpful, however, when I mentioned to the male receptionist that we had been awake since 5.45am due to the noise from the people in the room above us banging and moving furniture around, his reply was, it was normal to be active at that time as there was always a hive of activity in the hotel at this hour of the day.
I was very surprised by his response and this would prevent us from returning to this hotel in the
future, this is not a reflection of the quality of the hotel, just the noise that prevented us from waking at a normal time in the morning.
I would have loved to have returned to this hotel, but we will look at another venue next time we stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room, if you want to have a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Ann b
Thank you for your welcomed comments about The Fermain Valley. In our hotel we treat each guest with individual care as you are individual, making your stay unique and as special as possible. We continuously invest in our hotel to ensure that it is of first class nature and rooms are always beautifully appointed.

We welcome you back to visits us at the Fermain Valley soon.

Kind regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 739 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just back from our first ever stay in Guernsey. We booked 4 days at Fermain, 3 days at the sister hotel in Alderney (Braye Beach) and then back to Guernsey at a different hotel. We had a totally wonderful stay, and have no complaints at all.

The piece de resistance is where the Fermain Valley Hotel is situated, at the top of a very steep hill, but with beautiful views down to the Fermain Bay. We had a Gold Room, with a balcony with table & chairs where we sat and enjoyed this wonderful view. The room itself was very clean, tastefully decorated, with the complimentary fruit & sherry as advertised. There was also a fridge, with complimentary bottled water, and ample supplies of tea, coffee and biscuits. The bathroom was beautiful, with loads of Elemis toiletries. We felt very spoilt. All the staff, without fail, were polite. A lot of Eastern Europeans in the restaurant, who were all very helpful and hard working. On checking out, there was a minor issue with our bill, however this was dealt with appropriately and as we do not "sweat the small stuff", we do not feel the need to berate the hotel for this minor error.

The food was lovely, breakfast in particular. My request for soya milk was fulfilled straight away. We ate dinner every evening in the restaurant, it's a little bit fancy for us, we're not that used to fine dining, however we were adventurous and in any case, the husband eats everything and anything!

Overall, very pleased with the hotel and I would have liked to have given a 4.5, as it was better than a 4, but not quite the perfect 5!

Room Tip: We had a Gold Room with a sea view. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racheyroo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Racheyroo67

Thank you so much for posting your lovely comments about the wonderful Fermain Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed both Guernsey and Alderney and that you felt spoilt here at Fermain with our little extra special touches.
I am proud of my staff whom revel in hospitality and providing service excellence, and therefore delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience. All our ingredients are locally sought and made with care and passion. We look forward to your return visit at the Fermain Valley.
Best regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we were recommended this hotel to have a peaceful stay in Guernsey in early June. It is reasonably expensive but high quality.,,, on the whole good but a few negative points which I always find most helpful when reading other reviews.

I have to say most of the front line staff (reception and waiting) were a BIG let down. We were staying at the hotel and the waitress refused to give us some crisps or nuts with our glasses of wine we were drinking (she said they had nothing like that we could only order from the menu) so my husband went in to ask the barman and he handed over some crisps amazing that??!!??... THANK YOU :)

The reception staff on the whole were appauling... did not know anything about the new bus time table and despite not being busy was not keen to help us navigate it..... I believe he would have preferred us to get a taxi! When we did request a taxi we were told there were none available and we would have to wait indefinatly it seemed...so we logged on to wifi ourselves and surprise surprise managed to arrange our own for collection within 10 mins. I can't even recall what else we went down to ask for help for but nothing out of the norm that you would expect reception staff to be able to help with or at the very least offer to ask someone else..... They are pretty rude and need better customer service skills.

Also ....Why is there no condiments on the breakfast bar, twice we had to ask for tomato sauce multiple times at which point our food was almost cold!!!

Last thing... NO extractor fans work....our bathroom had no window so after a hot shower there is water everywhere.... we thought our fan must be broken as there are switches on the wall.... we checked at reception... but NO apparently when hotel was refurbished they were not plugged in... so none work..... Whole room gets wet and in the winter opening the balcony doors to air room (at other end) may be quite cold!

Room Tip: First floor balcony rooms are lovely. We stayed in a room with the sea to our left and not facing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ems1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear EMS 1981,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Adviser, I was pleased that you found the hotel high quality, but sorry to read that there were some negative points on your stay. We do strive to offer the very best in service and hospitality and it is disappointing to read that during your stay, you did not experience this.
I am sorry that you had issues with the extractor system in the bathroom; we are currently working with our maintenance team to rectify this issue and will make improvements where necessary.
Thank you for all your feedback in this review, it is vital that we are made aware of issues both positive and negative, so that we can improve our guest’s experience and continue to offer excellent standards.
I hope that we can welcome you back to Fermain Valley Hotel in the future.

With best regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were prepared to be underwhelmed by a chintzy experience, but it was actually very nice and not remotely stuffy. We may have been fortunate with the weather, but irrespective, the staff were superb (friendly, accommodating, professional) and the breakfast was very good. A short stroll down the hill is rewarded with Fermain Bay and a lovely beach cafe. I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrnMrsBales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear MrnMrsBales,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is lovely to share with the staff your experience at the hotel and that they acted superbly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fermain Valley Hotel at some point in the near future.

Best regards,

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We only stayed at this hotel overnight on our way to Sark but it was a very enjoyable if short experience.
All the staff are friendly and efficient and the room was well appointed and comfortable.
The hotel offered a well cooked and tasty dinner and an excellent breakfast.
We must stay for a few days in Guernsey in this hotel next time, rather than rushing off to the neighbouring island of Sark.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uptheshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear uptheshots,

I was thrilled to read your review and pleased that you enjoyed the overnight experience on your way to Sark. Should you ever find the time to enjoy a few days here on Guernsey before going to the lovely Sark, please call me and I will be delighted to make the arrangements for your next stay at Fermain Valley Hotel.
Best regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a Silver room in The Venue section of the hotel. These rooms are in a separate block from the main part of the hotel, connected by a steep garden path.

The main part of the hotel is beautifully laid out and furnished, with lovely lounges, restaurant, and terrace overlooking the steep garden towards the bay. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and organised our (complimentary) collection from the airport and return to the airport at the end of our stay. The walk down to Fermain Bay takes a few minutes but is very steep in parts and coming back is a hard slog, takes longer, and is not for those with mobility problems.

Breakfast comprised a wide ranging good quality buffet plus a choice of hot dishes to order. A minor irritation was that, although the Channel islands are famous for their premium dairy products, the hotel chooses to offer only watery fully skimmed milk for breakfast! In my view, this is horrible on cereals and next to useless in coffee. Didn't really understand this aberration as the butter at breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed a couple of simple evening meals from the "lounge" menu, although full table d'hote and a la carte menus are also available in the main restaurant.

We found the repeated trekking to and from our Venue room a bit of a slog, especially the uphill return. Our Silver room was very nicely furnished, including a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. A complimentary decanter of sherry, fresh fruit and local fudge was also a nice touch. However, the room was a bit cramped and cluttered (about 15 sqm excluding the bathroom) with inadequate wardrobe storage. The small in room fridge made a gurgling sound but didn't work despite reporting this to Reception after the first day. The room was very clean except for the exterior of the bedroom window, which was very dirty and obviously had not been cleaned for weeks/months. The rooms do not have air conditioning and therefore it was necessary to have the bedroom window open for much of our stay. This meant a lot of traffic noise early morning and evening from the busy narrow main road running in front of the Venue building, although this did not disturb our sleep unduly.

We enjoyed our break in Guernsey but would not return to a Silver room in the Venue, which we feel are a bit overpriced and overall did not meet our 4 star expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main part of the hotel are more convenient and probably queiter than in the Venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Margeretandgraham,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Fermain Valley Hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed many of the facilities we have on offer including the décor, food and benefited from the courtesy bus.
I am sorry that you found your room rather small, I have asked our reservations team to add a note to your guest profile, so that should you decide to return to the hotel, we are able to find you a more suitable room.
We do advise at time of booking that the Venue rooms are in a separate building located a short walk through our award-winning gardens and it is appreciated that it is rather steep; therefore I recommend booking a Gold room in the main hotel which I believe will meet your expectations.
I hope that we have another opportunity in the future to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

It is very difficult to find any fault with this hotel. We had a gold room 31 with a balcony facing down the valley to the sea. It had the noise of a boiler outside but after an initial complaint, it was obviously part of the infrastructure of the building, so nothing could be done to resolve it. However, like a railway at the bottom of your garden, you don't notice it after a while ! That said, the weeks stay was faultless. The breakfasts are some of the best we have ever had; the rooms are spotless and cleaned and renewed every day; the beds are very comfortable and the staff are all efficient an d welcoming. Gavin and Sara at reception dealt with our every need, including organising the hotel shuttle bus to St Peter Port. No real need to hire a car. The bus stop is at the top of the road. Lunch and Dinners are superb at the hotel and the serving staff are super efficient. There is a superb indoor pool and small sun terrace. All in all a very pleasant surprise. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnpetersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear John Petersfield,
How very kind of you to make such lovely comments on Trip Adviser, thank you.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the balcony room looking down the Valley; we do try to keep all of our machinery in good condition so that the noises are not too disruptive. I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and that Gavin and Sara were able to deal with your every need. I have also passed on your comments to the serving staff who were delighted to hear of your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fermain Valley Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
567 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $122 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing