We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes this is a good one!”
Review of L'Eree Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Peter Port
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Eree Bay Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Reading previous reviews about this hotel needing a bit of TLC to bring it up to date, I agree with. BUT everything else was very good. Location - Brilliant just across the road from the beach. Room with a lovely view of L'Eree Bay. Staff - very friendly and helpful. Food - Very good with generous portions. 2 bars serving good local beer open till very late at night! We were there for 4 nights and the weather (which was great) did help. The hotel was peaceful and quiet. Which is just what we're looking for. On a main bus route which made it easy to get around the island and back. If you want a quiet hotel and maybe of the older generation, I recommend it.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel, good views of L'Eree Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JMWGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in July 13. The hotel is in a very pleasant position only moments from the beach and scenic walks. Food was very good, worth taking the dinner option. The building looks rather out of place and the rooms are dated but all was clean, comfortable and quiet with ample hot water. What more does one need. Very good value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chalky_Bexley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Originally booked 7 nights - but return ferry cancelled due to bad weather - hotel offered us free accommodation (in association with travel agents) for 8th night. Meals excellent, we had originally only booked bed & breakfast, but after enjoying an evening meal there on our first night, we couldn't resist eating there every evening for the remainder of our holiday! A three course meal, plus coffee, for £12.00 each struck me as exceptionally good value.
Good views from room 9 (2nd floor) over bay, but the room itself resulted in a very good overall rating, rather than excellent - the radiator wouldn't work (OK, a portable electric one had been supplied as a substitute), the bathroom didn't have a shower curtain over the bath and, rather surprisingly, there wasn't a wash handbasin in the bathroom - it was in the room itself.

Room Tip: Room 9 is good for views over L'Eree Bay - but remember that this is on the 2nd floor and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Some of my family stayed for 2 nights whilst travelling to the island for a wedding and found the hotel to be nice and comfortable and the staff were very helpful when asked for help/directions. They would normally stay in the town area but found the area and scenery lovely so will return!

PS
The Sunday roast was top notch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garethdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Horrible, horrible, horrible. The whole place is extremely dated, I don't think they've done anything since the 70s! The bathroom is so small the sink is in the bedroom. My Mother-in-Law didn't even have a shower - not that she was missing much, it kept changing temperature as I was using it - I was almost scalded!

Everything closes before it should. Breakfast seems to end at 9, despite being told it was 9.30. I was told I'd be able to get a drink until 10.30pm, but at 10.15 everything was closed and the unhelpful person on the phone refused to even get me a glass of milk. It should be noted that on the booking letter it states that the bar is open until midnight.

The food at dinner on the one night we ate there was ok, nothing special but nice enough. The same cannot be said of the breakfast cook, who seemed incapable of cooking a well-done fried egg. (Hint - if the yolk is still runny, it's not well done!)

I was also frustrated by staff who spoke no English. On our first morning I asked a question about seating and she just ran off! I have no problem with foreign workers, but if someone is in a position where they need to interact, they should have a working knowledge of the native language.

Overall, I am highly unimpressed, we will be complaining on check out and will certainly not be coming back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been to the LEree hotel many times so we Know what to expect even the pictures on the wall are a blast from the past .Mark the owner is like the silent man always in his chef whites in the background making sure everyone is happy, I have never seen that receptionist before she is so out of place in this friendly hotel .The value for money enable's us to return to this wonderful island every year and revisit all our memories .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank contentedKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely hotel - yes as everyone says bedrooms are tired but after talking to the owner we understand why. Communal areas are lovely and clean and staff really nice and friendly. beautiful views of the bay. In all excellent value for money.We had the best weather ever in October.

Room Tip: Room 28 good view but no balcony and up loads of stairs. Room 17 had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Eree Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Eree Bay Hotel

Address: L'Eree, St Peter Port GY7 9LG
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $24 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Eree Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
L'Eree Bay Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing