We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a return visit? - Absolutely”
Review of Dunchoille

Dunchoille
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunchoille
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit? - Absolutely”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

It isn't until you visit Guernsey and peruse property prices you appreciate why accommodation is so expensive. Property prices on Guernsey are simply extortionate even by London standards. Why do I begin my review making this point? Don't complain you are not getting value for money unless you have compared either similar accommodation or weighed up the pro's and con's against more expensive hotels. Accommodation on Guernsey is not cheap.
What do you want in a hotel? Clean, tidy, good breakfast, friendly staff, room to shower in privacy and a comfortable bed. If you want hotels with extras expect to pay approx £200 per night.
I was a little reserved having read some of the reviews prior to our short break. I need not have worried. We are not youngsters but we are mobile and unless you are going to taxi into town you need to be mobile. Dunchoille is located about 25 minutes walk (uphill from the town and quite steep) into the centre of St Peter Port. The walk is lovely with sea views 80% of the way - it is steep in places so be prepared. For us it was chance to walk off some of the amazing meals we consumed as well as get a great feel for the area. Oh yes and people actually smile and say hello as you walk down the street.
Our room had a double bed, spacious wardrobes and a hand wash basin in the same room. The shower and toilet made best use of the space but was a little tight. Shower itself was fine with good pressure and space to move.
Full English breakfast available and the staff are happy to do variations on a theme - in fact Maggie and her team cannot do enough for you. I drink decaf coffee so Maggie gave me her own as they had none available during our stay. There is a bar and swimming pool but we didn't use them due to our hectic schedule - as I say we walk everywhere and for long periods.
Everything was clean, tidy and comfortable with a very warm welcome. We will be visiting Guernsey again as it is a wonderful place, maybe our new found love, we'll see. Plenty to do, great walking and wonderful restaurants and we will be staying in Dunchoille again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubawolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
12
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
397 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is located outskirts of St Peter Port, if we take the harbour as centre location. Basically it is behind a hill, so uphill and then downhill.
Room was very basic facing behind. Rooster greeted early in the morning. Show curtain looked new, positively no mould, which is often found in bathrooms. This was first British bathroom, where I have seen Eco friendly toilet flushing, all points for that. Often you see this sign, please use towels several days to save water, but same time toilet flushes huge amounts of water unnecessarily.
Breakfast was good, nothing special. English part of the breakfast, e.g. bacon, eggs etc are made on order, making them fresh, so very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yapton, West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I recently stayed at the Dunchoille Hotel & thoroughly enjoyed our stay there & will return again next time we are in Guernsey.
Maggie, Mark & the team couldn't have made us more welcome, or done more to help us with local information. Nothing was too much trouble & we found it incredibly refreshing to stay in a hotel & be known by name, rather than just your room number.
Great breakfasts, very reasonable rates, clean room, wonderful staff, lovely garden & swimming pool & a bar. Just a few mins walk into St Peter Port, not sure what else you could ask for?. We will definitely return!.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked this hotel online. On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very dated, although it is clean and tidy it is in desperate need of refurbishment. There was no light in the corridor to our room and no windows so without the use of our mobile phone to light the way we couldn't have got the key in the lock! The toilet seat was almost falling off and we had to sit lop sided on it, the door to the bathroom stuck and I couldn't get out, my husband had to push the door from the other side. The curtains were thread bare and let so much light in it was not worth shutting them and when we did try to shut them we almost pulled the curtain rail down they were so stiff to move. We had a double bed which had a single headboard on it which was one of those old velour types and was dirty. The wardrobes were seriously old MFI types. There was a huge iron mark in the carpet next to the bed. We were very disappointed for the money we paid and we asked for a refund for the following night and booked into a 4 star hotel for only £30 more. I would not stay here again and sadly would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Peter Port hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have been travelling back and forth from Guernsey recently for work and have stayed in a few hotels but keep returning to the Dunchoille when its available. The staff are very friendly, which makes a big difference for a young female travelling alone. The rooms are always clean and tidy and Maggie, the owner I believe is always around and happy to help. The décor is a bit outdated but it is part of the charm of the place. I would recommend it to anyone....Breakfast is awesome too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

As in previous reviews the hotel is dated, but cosy! I have just returned after staying for three nights as a single traveller. I was given room 25, which had a double and single bed. Few minor things, bath had to be filled via showerhead, no plug in sink and have to put kettle on floor to plug it in. Breakfast was lovely, the real asset to this hotel is the staff. Maggie, the manager is wonderful and welcoming. She is a true hostess!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very nice landlady and staff - they welcomed me so warm and friendly. I got also an other room because with the first room there was a little problem. The second room was MUCH nicer than the first. As a single traveller you should book a double room - the single room is quite dated and really small.
They have a bar in the hotel and quite a lot of workers who stay at the hotel and like a drink in the evening. So as a single woman you shouldn't go near the bar, they can get a bit nasty after a drink or two too much...
Some renovation should be done with the bathroom - it is very dated.
But overall it was a pleasant stay - after switiching the room.

Room Tip: Don't choose a single room - better to have a double room even as a single traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanaTicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grange Lodge Hotel
Grange Lodge Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunchoille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunchoille

Property: Dunchoille
Address: Dunchoille Hotel Guelles Road, St Peter Port GY1 2DE
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunchoille 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Dunchoille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunchoille Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing