We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quaint”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My daughter and I flew in to Guernsey on the smallest airplane ever from Brittany. We stayed at the a Duke of Normandy. We arrived on a Sunday...not a good idea as everything is closed. At the hotel bar we got to have a nice dinner served by our bartender...not sure that he did not cook our meal too. The next morning we missed our breakfast time but they very kindly served us coffee, tea, toast and jams.
The bedroom and bathroom were comfortable, clean and just what we needed.
The only thing that I could say that might be a problem...is the spiral stairs to the bedrooms.
The staff was absolutely charming, helpful and kind...if you are looking for a hotel in Guernsey, the Duke of Normandy would be perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms face the courtyard, and think they are all the same. We enjoyed the comfort of our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    216
    44
    13
    6
See reviews for
59
315
47
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

right in the centre of town - 5 mins walk to port and less than 1 min to high street !
great location
the hotel was lovely - large rooms king sized beds and very clean
can not fault it for the 89 per night price
even car park spaces for the car hire which seems to be unique in this town
overall great stay and well worth the money

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I read previous reviews and deceided to stay whilst on business in Guernsey.
I had a room on the top floor and with no lift the only way up was a narrow staircase which was having the handrail painted. Very difficult with luggage.
The room was of a decent size with DVD player and TFT LCD TV.
The bed was reasonable if a little firm.
The bathroom and had a bath with shower attachment.
A friend joined me for a drink and a bar snack. We had the "specials", mine was a pork chop with mashed potatoes, a small ammount of peas and six brussel sprouts. Not really good value for the £9.00 charged.
The breakfast table felt sticky, the full English breakfast had a sausage that was cold in the middle.
The staff were helpful other than when I checked in with my walking cane (Osteoarthritis of the knee) no one offered to help me with my luggage even though they must have known my room was on the top floor. Checking out the same but the painter did offer assistance by carrying my case down the stairs.
Overall not impressed and will not stay again.

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the top, No lift and only narrow stairs which are a trouble if you have any lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Goold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We went for a short break for valentines/bday and had a nightmare flight that couldn't land so we we're worried about losing a night in St. Peter port, when we arrived the staff couldn't have been more helpful by shuffling our reservation along a day. The executive room was of a high standard and suited us down to the ground, quiet, and a great nights sleep. We would definitely stay again. Here's to the next time!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank monsta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boldre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

An excellent and totally unexpected hotel situated just a minutes walk away from the High Street in St. Peter Port. The check in process was simple, all had been done before we had arrived. Managed to check in early due to the room being turned round quickly. The room itself was large, comfortable and very well equipped. Bathroom was a little on the small side but the shower was very powerful! One downside is the thickness of the walls, conversations travel easily through the wall but it didn't go on late. Nightlife at the weekend is a little boisterous but doesn't make it up the road to the hotel. The parking right outside the door was also very useful. The bed was one of the comfortable I have ever found in a hotel, crisp sheets and good pillows. Breakfast in the morning was of very good quality, plenty of juices, teas, coffees and a good cooked meal.

All in all a very pleasant stay and will highly recommend the Normandie for people wanting a central hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNOOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed here recently for 4 nights whilst on business in Guernsey. I was allocated a 'cosy' room in the main building.

The check in was efficient and my room although describes as cosy was a good size. The room is well decorated and had almost everything that I would need for a comfortable stay. However, there are a few little issues where the room I stayed in showed signs of needing a but if TLC. The plug in the sink was quite rusty and the mattress in the bad was quite sunken on one side where people clearly preferred that side to the other. The room I had was quiet and I dint hear anyone from other rooms although it can get noisy outside.

The room had a full size flat screen TV, safe and mini bar etc. however I use an electric razor and there wasn't a shaver point nor was there an adaptor plug. I asked at reception who confirmed this to be the case. The staff on reception though were very helpful and went to their accommodation and kent me an adaptor that they had so I didn't have to grow a beard!

Most of the staff are friendly although one or two could be a bit distant and that way appeared uninterested in helping.

The breakfast was very good. The ingredients were clearly fresh and of a very high quality which made the breakfast very enjoyable.

The location is great and it's within walking distance of everywhere I needed to be in St Peter Port.

Overall a good hotel but I'd be interested to see how it would be in another year or so.

Room Tip: Room 30 is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 68AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The executive bedroom was a good size with a king size bed & had everything you needed ,good size bathroom only thing I would say is the walls very thin so could hear next door put his kettle on in the morning ,breakfast was very good with good service . Great location but a bit tricky to find in the dark but would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Property: Duke of Normandie Hotel
Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing