We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor and weren't disappointed. Our room was modern and spacious, although a little dark. The staff were all friendly and very helpful with our enquiries. Breakfast was great with plenty to choose from, we also took advantage of eating here in the evening as the tennerfest was on at the time. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aud333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    229
    47
    13
    7
See reviews for
60
332
48
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I regularly stay in hotels for work and this is by far the nicest I've stayed in - especially given the price. On my first night I arrived after the kitchen had closed but because the chef was still there they offered to cook a meal, without me having to ask. The meal was superb and had obviously had care taken over it - it was greatly appreciated after a long trip. Everyone was friendly and helpful, the room was immaculately furnished. I was surprised to hear the desk wasnt big enough in an other review as I had no problems.

I plan to visit again in summer, but next time for pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skibunny_197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at the Duke of Normandie for one night for a recent business trip. The hotel was recommended to me by a business contact, and, given the reasonable price tag, I booked a stay without much other research. I was happy enough with the hotel - my room was very smart, clean, and well-equipped, but wasn't overly spacious. I spent one night working from the desk in my room, and this was a little cramped and uncomfortable - a large desk and proper chair would have made life easier. Furthermore, the WIFI was free, but the connection was erratic and I had to keep logging back in via the web browser - a little frustrating. The hotel is very centrally-located, so useful for getting around St. Peter Port. Breakfast was included in the price, which included lots of choice and which was tasty, and the breakfast staff were good. My meetings over-ran on the morning that I was due to check out, so I checked out a couple of hours late - thankfully, the hotel didn't bill me for the extra time, which I appreciated. The staff were efficient and attentive but not overly warm (maybe they were annoyed with me about the late check out, oops - I did apologise!). My impression was that the hotel is perfect for the casual traveller, and it's fairly good value, but I probably wouldn't go back there for a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgers1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I found the Duke of Normandy on the Internet, after not having much luck with travel agents finding a hotel for our family of 5 (3 kids aged 16 to 19). Right from the first point of contact via email with the hotel I found them extremely helpful with both emailing myself and posting material to booking. This hotel met most expectations. It was very clean, huge rooms, comfortable beds, handy to the town - only a 2 minute walk, very friendly staff and value for money. The only drawback to the hotel was no lift, but this is to be expected for the period in which the hotel was built (I think). We were also placed next door to each other, as we needed two rooms. No other hotel on our trip managed to be so accommodating. They have a great bar, restaurants on site and a very satisfying breakfast.

We also managed to leave some items behind which the hotel was very obliging and posted back to our home for us.

I would be more than happy to stay at the Duke of Normandie again and happily recommend to others. Big thumbs up to Paul in the dining room and bar and also to the staff in reception for their patience while the kids were indecisive on which movie to hire. Great movie library :).

Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We had a room that had a bath and not a shower. Lucky for us our kids had a shower in their bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakynthos, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at The Duke of Normandie for 4 nights recently for our 31st wedding anniversary and can only say is that the hotel was fantastic. The welcome when we arrived was really warm and friendly and the room was amazing. The breakfast was brilliant and lots of choice very well presented on the cold buffet and the cooked selection was amazing. The food in the patisserie is excellently cooked and served,nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is in the centre of St Peter's Port and is brilliant. We can't wait to return. We couldn't find anything negative at all. The atmosphere is really good too and everybody is really friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Thanks again for a brilliant stay,can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room, it had a fantastic bathroom and lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were pleased with our stay at St. Peter Port in the Duke of Normandie Hotel. The room was small but very well equipped and comfortable. Decorated and furnished in a contemporary design the room had been given much thought when refurbished. Breakfasts offered a selection of food to satisfy most tastes which was well prepared and served. All the hotel staff were very attentive.
We would certainly stay here again but try to get a larger room next time

We used the hotel as a base to sample Trip Advisor restaurants and we have submitted reviews on

Old Quarter Restaurant

Pier 17

Le Nautique

Da Nello

Room Tip: Go for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirfieldOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here whilst in transit from England to Jersey, with a stopover in Sark, so we booked 2 non consecutive nights here as it was within walking distance of the ferry.
They kindly allowed us to leave our car in their very limited parking area, at no charge, and were helpful, friendly and cheerful.
We enjoyed the Tennerfest on both evenings, which was an amazing 3 courses for only £10, one of the very few places that has kept to the £10 price, the food was excellent value and beautifully presented. We heartily recommend them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rectorine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Property: Duke of Normandie Hotel
Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing